We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience in an incredibly special island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prekas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prekas Apartments
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great experience in an incredibly special island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Do not expect luxury at the Prekas apartments! The furniture is simple and the tap water has no pressure and it has a strange taste (because of the scarce water sources in Santorini). But that's the only things that one (certainly not me) can be criticise during a stay in this place.

The owners, Captain Prekas and his son Nektarios, are masters of human relations :) and that is very important in Greece. They greet every vacationer with drinks and chat upon the arrival and they are also very helpful during all the stay. According to the comments, this was the main reason for me to choose this place in Santorini.

The property itself is superb. It offers one of the best views possible in the island (because the view is uninterrupted from any other building or rock for about 170 degrees). Everything is white, blue and gray, which is very Santorinian (there are also the typical curtains on the windows and balcony). This is very helpful for the people aiming to shot a lot of pictures and videos. The apartments are located in a very strategic place, because by foot you can arrive to Firostefani and Fira, while a couple of hundred meters you can find the bus station to travel to Oia or to the beaches in Kamari, Perivolos or Akrotirion.

The breakfast is super if compared to the other hotels I have visited in the Greek islands. There is also a very kind and helpful staff assisting for everything you need.

I had overall a great experience. I have also decided that I want to stay at the Prekas each time that I will visit Santorini in the future.

Room Tip: The best view can be seen in the rooms 5-9, which are under the road. The upper rooms have no direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    31
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vitre, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

How to say it shortly ? We loved that authentic place !

PREKAS apartments is The Place to be at Santorini Island if you are looking for :

- Breathtaking view
- Authentic and sincere contacts for reliable services : NEKTARIOS and his Father, Mr PREKAS from the island
- Nice swimming pool over the sea
- Quiet place with local furnishing
- Excellent quality/price ratio

Let's go to spend time there and you will feel that this place has a soul !

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank regis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed at Prekas apartments for three nights and enjoyed every minute. The apartments are surprisingly big, and they all have a terrace or balcony facing the beautiful caldera. The sunset from here is just amazing!. The bath and kitchen might not be top quality, but we couldn't have asked for a better location or better service. Imerovigli is a very quiet and very beautiful town, and still it's only half an hour walk from the more touristy Fira. The owner, Nikos, gave us a very warm welcome and both he and his son offered us a unique service. We couldn't have asked for more and will recommend this place to anyone going to Santorini, looking for a quiet and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tns798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Even though the walls are a little damp and musty, we are greatly enjoying our 5 nights here....2nd last night tonight, in fact. The staff are characters and very polite and helpful. I read reviews before I stayed here, complaining about the pool being cold and too deep for kids, but who in their right mind would travel to the edge of a cliff with young children, anyway?? Cold is very refreshing in the heat, and the pool is no colder than the ocean! Don't come expecting 5 star luxury, especially in the bathroom, but the whole experience has been just what I expected and more....; beds are firm, as usual in Europe but the pillows are fabulous and the sunsets on the balcony after cooking a simple dinner for yourself are just perfect....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My girlfriend and I went to Ios and Santorini last week. We booked our stay at Prekas directly over the internet the day before we arrived. We had the premium studio, which is great as it overlooks the pool and has a remarkable caldera view. It was great to have a mini kitchen as we made lots of breakfasts and lunches ourselves while enjoying the view. In fact, we liked the sunset experience from our little balcony even better than the one we saw in Oia as it was more relaxing and the view was comparable. We fell in love with Nescafe Frappe, and the housekeeper taught us how to make it and even made it for us. The owner gave us a bottle of wine to enjoy the sunset. One downside was the shower -- no curtain and you had to hold the faucet above you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SN_415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

This is truly the best holiday my fiance and I have been on. The weather, the island, the food and the people are all so welcoming. The friendly owner and his son at Prekas Apartments ensure everything goes like a dream. These lovely rooms overlook the best view you can ever hope to experience. For me there is nothing to dislike about the accommodation or the Island of Santorini. I highly recommend the local Visanto, Fava and stuffed vine leaves. We love this location and accommodation so much we have been twice and are booking already to go next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie6872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Really good location for sunset views. Rooms very traditional. No water pressure in shower. Pool area fantastic. Service good - a load of washing done and folded complimentary.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilConSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.3 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#40 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Veranda View
Veranda View
#41 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katerina's Castle
Hotel Katerina's Castle
#46 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merovigliosso Apartments
Merovigliosso Apartments
#33 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#38 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilioperato Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prekas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prekas Apartments

Property: Prekas Apartments
Address: PO Box 740, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Prekas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prekas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prekas Apartments Hotel Imerovigli
Prekas Apartments Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing