We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunset views on a budget”
Review of Prekas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prekas Apartments
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The apartments are located on the caldera side of the cliff, and afford excellent views from all terraces. The apartments are very small, but contain all of the necessary equipment you need. Furnishings are tired although bed was comfy. We paid the extra for breakfast , and generous continental breakfast is served on your own terrace, which is very nice The main problem with apartments are that they are located considerably further from the car park than the 80m stated on their website. The walkway is traditional cobbled stones with steep steps, and make things more difficult when arriving and departing the apartment. The apartments are definately not suited to anyone with walking difficulties. I would also mention that car parking is very limited. To conclude the views are spectacular on the cliff, and these apartments represent good value for money if you want a sunset view.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brightonglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

Excellent view from the balcony, Just above a swimming poor. Fantastic spot to enjoy the volcano and the see, and the sunset as well. Nice people, clean rooms, convenient transportations (both with busses and cars). Absolutely recommended to all! Plus, the price is quite reasonable, compared to some other "big names". See pictures below.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. You can also choose triditional greek house or normal apartment. Most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hao Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel is located in a fantastic place in Imerovigli, with the most beautiful sea view. it's so quiet there that you can hear only your breath and sound of the sea, not as so crowed and noisy in Fifa or Oia. It's the best place to spend your vacation.
We stayed in a lovely suite, just feel that we are staying in home. The kitchen is well equipped and we cooked several meals there and enjoyed the beautiful sea view as well as tasty food in our big balcony.
The owners of the hotel are father and son, they are so kind and warm-hearted, gave us so many help!
The hotel is so clean and cozy, with a nice swimming pool, reletively cheap, worthy of the value!

Room Tip: The suite on the top is with a big balcony and the best view, suitable for 4-5 people to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xuan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The view is absolutely stunning and the town is so quiet and peaceful--the one I dreamed for before I came. The room was cozy and everything's handy. It's really a treat to have breakfast, lunch and dinner on the room's balcony--especaiily with the sunset! Owner offered free welcome drink and each room is directly facing the sea and enjoys the volcano view. The owner are very nice and give us late checkout till 3pm. I will definitely choose Prekas for my next stay at Santorini. Can't say enough good words for it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I am lost for words to describe how absolutely beautiful this place is. All I can say is this place is UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!! If a true Greek Islands experience is what your after then this is it without a doubt! We originally booked our stay for 5 nights but loved it so much we extended it another 4 nights, totaling 9 nights.   The views are to die for and the accommodation itself is superb.  Everything about this place is amazing, especially the people who run Prekas, no one has ever made us feel so welcome and they were extremely accommodating in organizing for us to be able to stay on an extra 4 nights.

The apartments themselves are so lovely and really feel like your in Greece, our room was huge and we loved it.   No matter which room you get you have the most magnificent view you will ever see from your private balcony. The sun sets right in front of your very eyes and it's the most beautiful thing I've ever seen.  It's very VERY quiet there which we loved, the peace and the serenity is like no other, while watching the sun set you hear absolutely nothing it's that quiet and peaceful.

The apartments are on a cliff top and not within decent walking distance to the closest main town (Fira - about a 7 minute drive from Prekas Apartments) but there are mini supermarkets and things that you can walk to within minutes.  We hired a 4 wheel quad bike for the duration of our stay which was extremely worthwhile as we got to see all of this beautiful island and then come back to our most beautiful accommodation and watch the sun set. The pool is on the cliffs edge and looks over the calmest of oceans, it's perfect for swimming in after a hot day in Santorini .

We have been traveling around Europe for 3 months and this is our last stop and staying here was the most perfect end to a long holiday.  Of all the places we have seen and stayed in all over Europe nothing compares to how beautiful it is here and the people who run it.  I can not recommend this place enough! As I mentioned we had a quad bike and drove all over the island and saw some pretty nice places and some awesome views, but NONE of which compared to the views you get from Prekas, by far the best views on the island that you get to see from your very own room anytime you like. Anyone would be the craziest person on earth to give this a miss.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puppiespaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed 4 nights and loved every night! The views are just amazing. The greet on arrival was great and we quickly settled in. The rooms are "authentic" but all the basics are there. The owners are real characters and very sweet, the recomendation for the fireworks display was a good one! The plunge pool is great and refreshing on a hot day. It's pretty quiet in this part of Santorini, at night you can hear a pin drop! There's a shop at the top of the stairs to pick up your water supply, a few euro for 6 big bottles. The free wireless on our balconey was good so we could sent photos back to make our friends jealous! We hired a quad bike in Imerrovigli which was great for getting around (35E) the views from the roads were excellent. I really loved Prekas, it's a good base with fantastic uninterrupted views. Now that I've seen Santorini, I think next time I would stay in Imerovigili again but at a place with a bigger lounging around pool area so I could do more relaxing and reading. The value for money at Prekas was wonderful and were felt blessed to have stayed there. Thanks for the bottle of Rose too, that was a very nice gesture. Excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Do not expect luxury at the Prekas apartments! The furniture is simple and the tap water has no pressure and it has a strange taste (because of the scarce water sources in Santorini). But that's the only things that one (certainly not me) can be criticise during a stay in this place.

The owners, Captain Prekas and his son Nektarios, are masters of human relations :) and that is very important in Greece. They greet every vacationer with drinks and chat upon the arrival and they are also very helpful during all the stay. According to the comments, this was the main reason for me to choose this place in Santorini.

The property itself is superb. It offers one of the best views possible in the island (because the view is uninterrupted from any other building or rock for about 170 degrees). Everything is white, blue and gray, which is very Santorinian (there are also the typical curtains on the windows and balcony). This is very helpful for the people aiming to shot a lot of pictures and videos. The apartments are located in a very strategic place, because by foot you can arrive to Firostefani and Fira, while a couple of hundred meters you can find the bus station to travel to Oia or to the beaches in Kamari, Perivolos or Akrotirion.

The breakfast is super if compared to the other hotels I have visited in the Greek islands. There is also a very kind and helpful staff assisting for everything you need.

I had overall a great experience. I have also decided that I want to stay at the Prekas each time that I will visit Santorini in the future.

Room Tip: The best view can be seen in the rooms 5-9, which are under the road. The upper rooms have no direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#8 of 51 in Imerovigli
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#36 of 51 in Imerovigli
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#16 of 51 in Imerovigli
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mylos
Hotel Mylos
#13 of 21 in Firostefani
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xenones Filotera
Xenones Filotera
#22 of 51 in Imerovigli
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merovigliosso Apartments
Merovigliosso Apartments
#37 of 51 in Imerovigli
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prekas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prekas Apartments

Address: PO Box 740, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £84 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prekas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prekas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prekas Apartments Hotel Imerovigli
Prekas Apartments Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing