We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware room with "sea view"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maltese Estate Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maltese Estate Villa
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
London
Level Contributor
370 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Beware room with "sea view"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We booked a week stay at this hotel through a well known travel company and paid just short of £1000 EXTRA for a sea view. When we were shown to the room we had to ask where the sea view was. "Over there" was the answer so you can guess it wasn't very obvious! It turned out that we had to position ourselves in front of a small window, look past parked cars/water tankers/vans in the lane outside, around a tree, across a monument, over buildings, across more roads, across to the other side of the island and finally there was a patch of blue. When sitting on our terrace the only view we had was of the car park. The only glimpse of this 'sea view' was through a three inch gap in the wall and that was only when you bent down. See photos attached.

We have asked and paid for sea view rooms before and our interpretation is that you should be able to see the sea when relaxing on your balcony/terrace or in your room. You couldn't see this view at all under those circumstances and therefore someone has totally misrepresented the situation.

The terrace was shared with another room and had 2 tables and 4 chairs - no lounger (but then who wants to sunbathe next to a car park).

Our other major problem was the shower. The cleaner told us off because it leaked and gave us extra towels to put on the floor. It would have been better if the hotel could have used some of their profits and installed a shower screen rather than the ill-ftting curtain. We had to push it behind the soap tray at one end, close it as tight as possible the other end and then push the surplus length of curtain that was puddled on the floor away from the drain. Once done you could turn on the water but could not move becuase if your arm stuck to the curtain the water leaked out. I can accept a lot of things in different countries but this would be such a simple thing to rectify.

I don't want to be totally negative. The position of the hotel is good due to its high spot and the available parking. The breakfasts are, as other reviewers have said, impressive and the staff very polite. Also Santorini itself is amazing. I expect if you were given one of the Caldera view rooms you would have thought life was pretty good, but not us!

We were so grossly overcharged for this virtually non-existent view of the sea that we didn't use the restaurant and cannot comment on that. If the difference in cost had not been so great we may have felt more inclined to accept things and give the hotel a reasonable review for some of its better qualities.

Room Tip: Ask for caldera view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    51
    26
    11
    31
See reviews for
44
154
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Our experience at La Maltese did not start off well. I had a confirmation from the hotel to coordinate a transfer from the port and they did not pick us up. Once we got to the hotel the staff was very friendly and extermely apologetic. They said that 'they will make it up to us'...and make it up they did. We were upgraded to a hotel overlooking the caldera. It was AMAZING! The hotel is unique and charming from the moment you walk in. The lobby is decorated well and right through the doors you can see the views from the hotel. The breakfast was by far the best I have ever had in a hotel and this was included as part of the price! The service is fantastic, the staff is extremely helpful and was able to help us with our car rental, day tours and general advice.
The room we were upgraded to was beyond anything we could have expected. It was two floors, two bedroom, two bathroom suite. Right outside was the shared patio overlooking the breathtaking view. And note that the word 'shared' is only with 3 other rooms. The entire hotel has 9 rooms so at no point did we feel crowded.
The pool is small as noted by others but we never intended on using it so it didnt matter to us. The hotel is expensive but they make up for it in service, views, great food, privacy, cleanliness, space, location, and friendliness!

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yodaman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Yes, it was a good experience but is a little bit expensive. Anyway is not suggested for families but better for couples.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

In our time at La Maltese, the following things occurred:

- My wife and I were deprived of the oceanview room that we had booked for the duration of our stay, save for the final night. It was a pre-paid booking through a third party website (in our case, a "luxury" - which I would not describe this hotel - flash sale site).
- Another couple staying at the hotel on our final day was likewise denied the oceanview room that they had booked. Likewise, it was a pre-paid booking through a third party.

I think you can see a trend here.

Clearly this hotel does not intend to honor the reservations you have made if you have already paid up front, so be wary of doing so.

A third item of note would be yet another couple who had a problem, which complained of the smell of mold and mildew in one of the ocean view rooms. We gathered that this was the room we were given on our final night, and fortunately a member of the cleaning staff helped us deal with this problem, and it was mostly ventilation issue. It was OK in the end.

As for the other room we stayed in, it was just above average - the room was huge, which was a plus, but the bathroom was a bit outdated.

The views from the common area of the hotel are rather spectacular, especially at sunset. I found them to be just as impressive as the sunsets in Oia. But the grounds itself are a little bit small, and when a wedding occurred on the final day of our stay, we were essentially denied access to any of the common areas.

The breakfast is really, really good. I imagine the rest of the food is good, too, but it was quite expensive and we went to Oia or elsewhere for dinner most nights.

We had booked this through a luxury sale site and received the room on quite a discount - and had we not, I would've described the experience as disastrous. As it is, the stay at La Maltese was a small hiccup in an otherwise good trip. We tried not to let the sketchiness of the hotel's management and treatment of its guests interfere with our enjoyment of Santorini.

It is quite possible that someone could come to this hotel and have a wonderful time, receive a better room than we did, not be interrupted by a wedding, not have problems with feeling like you were scammed by the hotel, etc., etc. However, I can only describe our experience and give a warning of caution to those who are looking to book this hotel, especially if you are doing it through a third party site (such as booking.com, expedia, etc.)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We loved our room and the beautiful views but what really set this property apart from the rest was the staff. Bridgett was amazing and informative. She took the time to show us around the property, to show us everything on the map and to take care of any arrangements for outside excursions. While Bridget might be the most visible employee, all of them really put forth that extra effort. Also, the breakfast was very good.

What we didn't like about the property was the tiny pool (even compared to other caldera properties), the empty jacuzzi, the extremely limited range of the wifi (lobby only) and probably the most annoying of all... their selection of modern euro background music that you'll hear played at the sofitel and etc. Nothing about this property says modern from the cave rooms to the classical french decor in the lobby so the music choice was baffling. It screamed for Maria Callas not modern euro.

We loved it there and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOriginalZorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The hotel location is exceptional. It is on the top of the Imerovigli Mountain peak, with an incredible view of the Caldera. The hotel is very exquisite and has large common spaces – not usual for Caldera view hotel. The two pools are relatively small but covered our needs. The master suite was extremely large, extraordinarily beautiful and with an exceptional view from the balcony sunbeds. The room was cleaned twice (!!) a day, and always in the hours we were out of our room. The hotel personnel was highly discreet, but always there if we needed it. The hotel restaurant was an extraordinary experience (especially as we combined it with a sunset), and again the service was remarkable. In total it was an outstanding experience, which we will surely repeat in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anafpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Visiting Santorini with small children is not an easy task. In fact, there are only a couple of places that we found that were open to having children at all, including La Maltese. Indeed, there are lots of adult activities, but with narrow cobblestone alleys, black sand beaches, great food, friendly people and other cool things, the island is heaven for adults and kids alike. And La Maltese is perfect as the base for your adventure. The two main employees, Samson and Emma, were fantastic in every regard. They treated our family (grandparents, children, grandchildren) with great respect, enthusiasm and kindness. I can't even begin to capture all of the small touches (the sudden smoothie that appeared at 4pm as we swam in the pool, the glass of ouzo at 11pm when I was sitting at the bar checking my email, etc.). They really add up. The place is not inexpensive, but if you feel like being pampered by excellent service with the added perk of a very authentic Santorini accomodation (essentially a luxury cavern with huge window overlooking the caldera). Oh yes, we're still talking about the chocolate croissants in the morning on the patio with the awesome view. Finally, the place seems to self-select nice people as your fellow guests -- typically people were in and out in 3 or 4 days, so we had a chance to meet nice people from all over Europe for our week-long stay. Everyone was friendly and kind to our children (who fortunately were well behaved) and it generally has a very warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmdMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Csky Hotel
Csky Hotel
#35 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#23 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tholos Resort
Tholos Resort
#31 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kallisto
Hotel Kallisto
#45 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maltese Estate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maltese Estate Villa

Property: La Maltese Estate Villa
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#29 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maltese Estate Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the highest point of the Caldera, 250m above the sea on the top of the traditional village of Imerovigli, with spectacular views of the village, the cliff, the volcano, the famous sunset and the Caldera rim 10 km from Santorini International Airport and 10 km from Athinios Port 3 km from the capital of the island, Fira located La Maltese Estate, a neoclassic mansion-captain’s house, a true sample of luxury and culture have been renovated and converted to a luxury exclusive Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your La Maltese Estate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maltese Hotel And Restaurant
La Maltese Estate Villa Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing