We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maltese Estate Villa
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING PLACE”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Santorini is an amazing island and La Maltese is the best place to stay.
We visited early this season and even though it was windy and cold the staff did anything possible to make us feel like home.
Anything we asked we had it delivered within seconds with a big smile.
Breakfast is unbelievable, fresh and tasty.
We had a room with no caldera view but we used the room just to sleep and rest after exploring the island.
We would definitely stay in La Maltese next time we visit Santorini.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    52
    30
    13
    35
See reviews for
48
169
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We booked a room through the Vacationist website and I must say that La Maltese in Santorini was the highlight of our trip. Three things to give kudos to:

1) Staff - very helpful and accommodating
2) Caldera view - as I said, our senior suite faced the Caldera, which definitely made our trip worth it.
3) Food - the unlimited breakfast was one of the best i've ever had. Smoked salmon and eggs 500 different ways definitely made my trip.

The spa was mediocre as the hammam and jacuzzi were luke-warm. They didn't provide the invigorating heat sensation we were looking for. However, one member of our group took advantage of the holistic massage, which he raved about.

One recommendation that I would make is to provide Wi-Fi throughout the resort, not just in the lobby area. We wanted to relax in our fabulous room with internet access, but ended up just spending 3 hours at breakfast instead because we didn't have internet access.

Overall, fantastic experience at the hotel. Not sure I can relate to the other reviews since we did have a water-facing room, but this hotel was amazing. I forgot the name of the hostess who helped us most of the time, but she was amazing as well. VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 769ScottL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were diverted to La Maltese after our booked hotel, On the Rocks, was unavailable. The only reason our stay was acceptable was because we didn't pay the full rate. If you are going in high season and paying full price, make sure you get a caldera view room. The water view rooms are unacceptable primarily because, as others have mentioned, the hideous, leaking shower with filthy curtain. I've seen better maid's bathrooms. The hotel did say they were getting ready to renovate, but who know when? Our room was one of two off the parking lot. There was a private pool (for the two rooms) but small and uninviting. Also the wall between the two rooms is thin. We listened to the occupant of the next room snore for two nights! Turned on air con for white noise. Next time we'll stay in Oia.

On the plus side the hotel, has a lovely terrace with amazing views of the caldera. The chef is good and the included, made-to-order breakfast one of the best we've ever had. Lunch and dinner menus are simple but good. The staff is also very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Only stay at this only if you get a caldera view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Santorini is an amazing island with breathtaking views and La Maltese Estate is the place to stay.This 9 rooms resort has direct views of the Sunset and it's located a breath away from the capital of the island Fira.We stayed there last June and we had a great experience.We will definitely stay there next time we visit this unique part of the world.

Room Tip: We booked a junior suite and were more than satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked a junior suite on our honeymoon and paid extra for it but we were cheated into a mouldy,small, dingy, dirty room (also the smallest of the hotels 9 bedrooms). The bathroom looked like it was in a dungeon and the shower leaked so when you got out of the shower, you walked into a flood of dirty water.

When we told the lady at the reception that she misplaced us, she said we were given exactly what we paid for. When I showed her pictures of the junior room from the website (which happened to be right next door to the room they gave us), she said that they post their best pictures there and that it was not representative of what we should actually expect. She did not place us in the room we paid for nor did she refund us the amount that we overpaid for the basic room they gave us. Furthermore, she made no attempts to fix the issues with the room.

We were stuck in this resort as we had pre paid for it and it ruined our whole trip! If this hotel was in the US, it would have shut down long ago! This is a BIG RIP OFF! STAY AWAY FROM THIS RESORT! I have stayed in better resorts in third world countries! I recommend staying in OIA if you plan on visiting Santorini.

PS: the hotel doesn't even have an iron on the entire property! So much for being 5 star!

Room Tip: If you plan on visiting Santorini, choose a hotel in Oia only. Trust me, you will be thanking me la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed there with my husband for ten days at the end of August and I have to say it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed! The service was exceptional and helpful. They gave us wonderful tips of where to eat and have a drink! Very nice rooms with breathtaking view. Everyone should spend some Time there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerinaseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

on arrival at the la maltese we were sat down with a free drink! we waited for a while then had an introduction meeting with one of the staff, she was extremely helpful and very polite, she showed us to our room and this is where it all went wrong!!! we paid nearly £1000 for the room upgrade and a sea view, it was appalling, if we stood in the doorway and looked through a tiny window in the door and cricked our necks to the right with our cheeks on the glass we could indeed see the sea, but that wasnt what we expected< after shedding a little tear i went to reception and said we wanted to move rooms, it wasnt just the lack of sea view it was the whole room, it was damp, mouldy, and not very appealing, i looked at a room another guest was staying in and it was out of this world, our room was a total let down. they offered to move us the next day which we were very pleased about, when we met the manager the next day she asked us if we wanted to move to a different hotel in stead, we went to the gold suites just down the road and they where beautiful, clean modern and breathtaking view!

Room Tip: we paid £4000 and got a crap room, try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank iloveleavingcoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Csky Hotel
Csky Hotel
#33 of 50 in Imerovigli
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tholos Resort
Tholos Resort
#30 of 50 in Imerovigli
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Suites
Cocoon Suites
#25 of 50 in Imerovigli
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maltese Estate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maltese Estate Villa

Property: La Maltese Estate Villa
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#31 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maltese Estate Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the highest point of the Caldera, 250m above the sea on the top of the traditional village of Imerovigli, with spectacular views of the village, the cliff, the volcano, the famous sunset and the Caldera rim 10 km from Santorini International Airport and 10 km from Athinios Port 3 km from the capital of the island, Fira located La Maltese Estate, a neoclassic mansion-captain’s house, a true sample of luxury and culture have been renovated and converted to a luxury exclusive Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Maltese Estate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maltese Hotel And Restaurant
La Maltese Estate Villa Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing