We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maltese Estate Villa
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had originally booked a suite at another hotel, On the Rocks, which was under renovation as we got to Santorini. We were then 'upgraded' at La Maltese where we stayed for four nights.

At first sight, the hotel location is amazing, and the terrace, bar and pool area view is breathtaking. The hotel offers good amenities: a spa is freely available for private customer use, incl. jacuzzi, hammam and sauna. Although the temperatures in the jacuzzi and hammam were not always optimal (a little chilly), we found the spa very convenient for some relaxing and romantic time. The staff lights up candles and dims the light when you use the spa, adding a nice touch to the overall impression.

The restaurant provides an interesting menu (decently priced) in a fusion of greek, italian and more western dishes. It is not to be recommended for travellers looking for a typical greek food binge, but the food is nonetheless interesting and well balanced. On the breakfast side, this hotel provides a-la-carte service of outstanding quality. Definitely one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. The products are fresh, all the classic dishes are remarkably well done.

We experienced a near downturn as we were originally set in one of the rooms on the parking side of the hotel (which others have extensively described in their reviews). This room, although tastefully decorated, was simple, dark, and quite depressing. We did not notice any particular 'issue' with it; but it wasn't the romantic, caldera setting we had booked at On The Rocks. We raised this issue with our concierge, Adelina, who was very empathic and dedicated in her attempt to set us in a more convenient room. About four hours after we had that discussion, we were relocated in a suite on the lower terrace of the hotel.

This room, a duplex suite, was wonderful. It was tastefully decorated, with a stone-carved bed and walk-in closet upstairs, and a huge open shower downstairs. The view from the terrace was mesmerising. One of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed in. One small, negative point for the room (although it is due to extraneous factors, i.e. the season), the room was extremely humid at night. Our clothes dampened, even in drawers and closets - but this was far from dramatic.

The staff and service at La Maltese was of the highest standard and should be commanded. The concierge was constantly present, extremely efficient, courteous and voluntary. The service staff was very friendly and dedicated, achieving a very rare balance between respecting the customers privacy and easing them into conversation. The rooms were constantly kept clean and fresh, the housekeeping was remarkably thorough - especially since their staff worked in very rough and windy conditions during our stay.

Overall, this experience was fantastic and memorable, and we hope to be able to come back. Things may have been different if we had stayed in the parking-side room, or if we had not taken advantage of discounted rates for the rooms (both at On the Rocks and La Maltese). Nonetheless, this is a place that I could highly recommend, especially for an off-season trip.

Room Tip: Insist for the caldera view. The Hotel has good standing, but this will not make up for the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thomas_Tz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    52
    31
    14
    38
See reviews for
49
172
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

La Maltese provided us with beautiful surroundings for our spring trip in April. We stayed in a junior suite with a stunning view over the vulcano. The decoration was sparse, but luxurious, classical and complemented the white, stone walls and floors perfectly. The interior strikes an elegant balance between being personal and classical and is very tasteful as well as suited to the location and scenery.
The spa area was lovely and simple, the breakfast room lush and comfortable. The staff were without exception friendly, helpful and courteous. In particular, Adelina (I presume, the m' de maison) made us feel that nothing was too much and made sure we were well looked after.
With a storm hitting the isle, we took part in a wine tasting at the hotel with some other guests and can without hesitation recommend it.
The only reasons for why La Maltese does not reach full scores in this review are that, firstly, the suite is build for the heat of summer and as such was a little moist and cold during our 5 night stay. Secondly, we did miss having access to a in-house fitness, however, there is a exercise bicycle in the spa area. Thirdly, although La Maltese is beautifully place at one of the highest points of Santorini, the surroundings are not as charming or lively as those you may find if you choose to stay in Oia or Fira. On the bright side, this does mean that the surroundings are serene and perhaps (at least in April) less noisy and Fira is only a 15 minut walk away on a lovely little food path.
We will look forward to return to La Maltese when life allows as it was without doubt one of the best hotels we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Please see review for some information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Santorini is an amazing island and La Maltese is the best place to stay.
We visited early this season and even though it was windy and cold the staff did anything possible to make us feel like home.
Anything we asked we had it delivered within seconds with a big smile.
Breakfast is unbelievable, fresh and tasty.
We had a room with no caldera view but we used the room just to sleep and rest after exploring the island.
We would definitely stay in La Maltese next time we visit Santorini.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We booked a room through the Vacationist website and I must say that La Maltese in Santorini was the highlight of our trip. Three things to give kudos to:

1) Staff - very helpful and accommodating
2) Caldera view - as I said, our senior suite faced the Caldera, which definitely made our trip worth it.
3) Food - the unlimited breakfast was one of the best i've ever had. Smoked salmon and eggs 500 different ways definitely made my trip.

The spa was mediocre as the hammam and jacuzzi were luke-warm. They didn't provide the invigorating heat sensation we were looking for. However, one member of our group took advantage of the holistic massage, which he raved about.

One recommendation that I would make is to provide Wi-Fi throughout the resort, not just in the lobby area. We wanted to relax in our fabulous room with internet access, but ended up just spending 3 hours at breakfast instead because we didn't have internet access.

Overall, fantastic experience at the hotel. Not sure I can relate to the other reviews since we did have a water-facing room, but this hotel was amazing. I forgot the name of the hostess who helped us most of the time, but she was amazing as well. VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 769ScottL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were diverted to La Maltese after our booked hotel, On the Rocks, was unavailable. The only reason our stay was acceptable was because we didn't pay the full rate. If you are going in high season and paying full price, make sure you get a caldera view room. The water view rooms are unacceptable primarily because, as others have mentioned, the hideous, leaking shower with filthy curtain. I've seen better maid's bathrooms. The hotel did say they were getting ready to renovate, but who know when? Our room was one of two off the parking lot. There was a private pool (for the two rooms) but small and uninviting. Also the wall between the two rooms is thin. We listened to the occupant of the next room snore for two nights! Turned on air con for white noise. Next time we'll stay in Oia.

On the plus side the hotel, has a lovely terrace with amazing views of the caldera. The chef is good and the included, made-to-order breakfast one of the best we've ever had. Lunch and dinner menus are simple but good. The staff is also very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Only stay at this only if you get a caldera view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Santorini is an amazing island with breathtaking views and La Maltese Estate is the place to stay.This 9 rooms resort has direct views of the Sunset and it's located a breath away from the capital of the island Fira.We stayed there last June and we had a great experience.We will definitely stay there next time we visit this unique part of the world.

Room Tip: We booked a junior suite and were more than satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked a junior suite on our honeymoon and paid extra for it but we were cheated into a mouldy,small, dingy, dirty room (also the smallest of the hotels 9 bedrooms). The bathroom looked like it was in a dungeon and the shower leaked so when you got out of the shower, you walked into a flood of dirty water.

When we told the lady at the reception that she misplaced us, she said we were given exactly what we paid for. When I showed her pictures of the junior room from the website (which happened to be right next door to the room they gave us), she said that they post their best pictures there and that it was not representative of what we should actually expect. She did not place us in the room we paid for nor did she refund us the amount that we overpaid for the basic room they gave us. Furthermore, she made no attempts to fix the issues with the room.

We were stuck in this resort as we had pre paid for it and it ruined our whole trip! If this hotel was in the US, it would have shut down long ago! This is a BIG RIP OFF! STAY AWAY FROM THIS RESORT! I have stayed in better resorts in third world countries! I recommend staying in OIA if you plan on visiting Santorini.

PS: the hotel doesn't even have an iron on the entire property! So much for being 5 star!

Room Tip: If you plan on visiting Santorini, choose a hotel in Oia only. Trust me, you will be thanking me la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Suites
Cocoon Suites
#25 of 50 in Imerovigli
123 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villas and Mansions of Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#12 of 50 in Imerovigli
611 reviews
1.7 mi away
Csky Hotel
Csky Hotel
#34 of 50 in Imerovigli
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grace Santorini Hotel
Grace Santorini Hotel
#17 of 50 in Imerovigli
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maltese Estate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maltese Estate Villa

Property: La Maltese Estate Villa
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#31 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maltese Estate Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the highest point of the Caldera, 250m above the sea on the top of the traditional village of Imerovigli, with spectacular views of the village, the cliff, the volcano, the famous sunset and the Caldera rim 10 km from Santorini International Airport and 10 km from Athinios Port 3 km from the capital of the island, Fira located La Maltese Estate, a neoclassic mansion-captain’s house, a true sample of luxury and culture have been renovated and converted to a luxury exclusive Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Maltese Estate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maltese Hotel And Restaurant
La Maltese Estate Villa Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing