We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, beautiful views, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arc Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arc Houses
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, beautiful views, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

We only were in Greece for a few days and so we could only stay in Santorini for one night...I wish we had stayed longer! Not only was the room uniquely decorated, clean and comfortable, the views were unforgettable and most importantly the service was wonderful: from arranging for taxis to and from the port to having maps and information ready for us at our arrival. Flora and her staff - the porter was really nice and helpful - made our stay that extra special. Highly recommended and would stay at ArcHouses again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRZPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    40
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
152
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Arc Houses for three nights. We were in the Mediterranean room. It could not have been more perfect. Flora is awesome. She made us feel at home instantly. She was full of information about where to eat and what to do. She had maps and handouts for us. The room itself was the best. We had a private terrace with an amazing view of the caldera. Mornings and evenings were spent just sitting and watching the sun, the ships, and people. The room is the absolute cutest thing ever. There are two bedrooms. From the upstairs room, you can lay in bed with the door and windows open and see the water and the sky. It is beautiful. Access to everything is easy. We walked a lot and one day rented an ATV for a tour of the island.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twowholovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Flora, Nora and Claudio, what a team! They made our stay, nothing was too much trouble. The view from our apartment was amazingly beautiful and when we wanted to explore away from Imerovigli Flora had the best suggestions. Attention to detail, cleanliness and thoughtfulness characterize this charming spot.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

If you are someone who likes to stay in a hotel that is away from the busy tourism area but close enough to access it, than Arc Houses is the place you are looking for. Our two-bedroom villa was perfect for our family. The view of the caldera is one of a kind and a walkway that extends the length of the caldera side of the island provides a generous view and access to the main town of Fira. I would recommend this hotel for those who want to spend some time on the island of Santorini and experience everything it has to offer. The owner and host, Flora, knows the island so well you'll hardly need to seek advice from anyone else. Loved it, would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonstruck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights in Imerovigli, 2 at Archouses and 1 at Caldera's Memories as we found both appealing based on TA reviews and wanted to get a feel for both places. We definitely enjoyed our experience at Archouses much more and regretted making the switch to Caldera's Memories after the first 2 days at Archouses.

We had the Aegean Room which was very well appointed and had a nice balcony from which we enjoyed breakfast and where we relaxed in the evenings/nightime. Definitely agree with other reviewers that the Mediterranean Room has the best view at Archouses as it offered nearly a 180 degree perspective of the caldera whereas our view was slightly blocked with some buildings below us, although it was still an excellent view.

Location wise within Imerovgili itself would definitely recommend Archouses as the hotels closer to Firostefani/Fira didn't seem to offer the same breadth of a view, and the hotels on the opposite side of that, in the direction of Oia, didn't have the same classic Santorini feel of multiple levels of houses/hotels on the cliff (Caldera's Memories fell into this category). So we were very happy to get this vantage point, particularly also as we found it to be quite private with very few people walking by Archouses.

The best part of our experience was Flora, the owner of Archouses - she was a wonderful host and provided us invaluable advice on how to best spend our time on the island, and also recommended wonderful restaurants, frequented by a mix of locals and tourists, not just tourists, which in many parts of Santorini, is probably more of a rarity than the norm. Metaxi Mas in particular stood out as the best place we ate at during our week long trip to Greece. Getting to know Flora was definitely one of the highlights of our trip and we have fond memories of our conversations with her.

We would definitely stay at Archouses if were to make another trip to Santorini and have already been wholeheartedly recommending it to our friends as a place they should experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We went as a couple in our 50s and single adult (60)and stayed in the Thira room. Magnificent views over the Caldera and very high up in Irmerovigli. Incredibly quiet and peaceful. Lots of steps and narrow passageways from road to hotel and up to terrace with even more amazing view. Quite magical setting. Windy in the evening. The Thira room has a mezzanine which you have to climb a steep ladder like staircase shown on the website, to to go to bed and the ceiling is low upstairs so it is easy to bang your head as you go up and down. Not that great for the over 60s but manageable. The bedroom downstairs is quite small but well equipped. No external window so we kept the door open. Designed by woman and unlike many hotels, it has dressing table with mirrors - hurrah. Bed is hard 5 ft wide, with one side against the wall. Lots of lights and lamps and storm lanterns lit on balcony each evening.. Two good bathrooms but nothing to hold the shower up. Very well appointed kitchenette which is great for breakfasts and you could cook simple meals in it. Minimarket very close but it is much cheaper to go to the good supermarket in Fira. Clean sheets and towels every day, which you would expect for the price. Pleasant seating with comfortable sofa in the house. Attractive decor. I think the mediterranean room next door is better though because there is space either side of the bed. . Maid service excellent,. She tidied up beautifully. Computer to borrow. Everything is very well looked after,immaculately clean, and owners really want to make the stay a happy one. It is good to be a walker if you want access to a wide variety of restaurants and avoid drinking and driving in the evening. Walking to Fira took 30 to 40 minutes down hill and longer to get home, but there are nice cafes to stop at on the way home- check out the Galini coffee shop.
No ATM in Imerovigli and proprieters want 70% of bill paid in cash.

It would have been better to hire a car at the airport in advance rather than take a minibus or taxi (E21 on a minibus) and E45 a day for a group A car with collision damage waver, at a recommended car hire place. Georgia, daughter of the owner Flora, managed to get them to knock it down to E40 but that was still very dear compared to the £140 or so we could have paid had we hired from the airport in advance and even the daily rate at he airport was only E25. This also saves the taxi fare there and back.

Georgia's recommendations for beaches and restaurants were excellent. She and her mum Flora were wonderfuls hosts and keen to hear of any recommendations or problems that they could try or address. We also discovered the restaurants Flame of the Caldera just as you are coming down into Fira past the Cultural Centre and Nausa in the middle of Fira both of which served good food at reasonable prices and were very welcoming.

There is no pool but I really don't think you need one if you are a beach explorer and hire a car to take you to Vilhada and its extensions to the West, the New Beach and cafe Eros, the Red Beach for its spectacular setting if you can climb around rocks, Coloumbos beach - very quiet and beautiful and pick figs growing wild and the bushes give off a wonderful scent in the sea breeze.
Also you can pick wild caper berry leaves which are pickled to go in a Santori salad. Imerovigli is less commercial than Oia, but only a short drive away. It's a good location if you don't want to be in the busiest places. This may be even more important in July and August.

I think you pay a lot more to stay in some hotels which have minute but romantic dipping pools.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelaandjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Really great hotel, you really don't miss the pool, enough beaches to go to! You can easily rent a car and see the island. Imerovigli is the best spot as it comes to the views, superb! The rooms are very clean and are also nicely decorated. The owner is very helpful: she knows all the good spots to go to. She can also help you with bookings (boats, restaurants, etc..). You feel at home.
Very good value for money! Maybe the best!
Willem - Amsterdam (Netherlands)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveler_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.1 mi away
Veranda View
Veranda View
#41 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#39 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vasilicos
The Vasilicos
#17 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Suites
Cocoon Suites
#25 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avista Suites Imerovigli
Avista Suites Imerovigli
#4 of 29 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Suites & Spa
Galaxy Suites & Spa
#43 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arc Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arc Houses

Property: Arc Houses
Address: Malteza Square, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#20 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arc Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCHouses hotel is situated in Imerovigli - known for the breathtaking view to the Caldera - at the highest point of the settlement. The hotel lies 50m. from the church of Panagia Maltesa ( Maltese ) and 1.8 km from Fira, the capital of the island. The hotel offers magnificent views of the volcano, the Aegean Sea and the, undoubtedly, most famous sunset in the world.The ARCHouses complex is a mixture of traditional cycladic and modern architecture. The architect and householder of Archouses, Mrs. Flora Nastouli, has designed all spaces with much love giving attention to every detail. The fine structural lines and the quality of materials used (linen & silk) create an elegant and luxurious ambience that adds extra comfort in your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Arc Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Arc Hotel Imerovigli
Arc Houses Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing