We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay..made us feel so welcome.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Katerina's Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Katerina's Castle
Ranked #46 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay..made us feel so welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel in Imerovigli for a couple of nights and had a fantastic experience. We were served drinks and appetizers on the house by Dimitrious and he was so kind he even gave us a ride to the airport when the taxis were on strike. The caldera view from outside our room was amazing and the sunset here looks just as beautiful as from Ia. I would highly recommend this hotel for the great value and hospitality of the staff. We loved it so much we are already planning on returning!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve41_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    10
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
5
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

The positive - the view is georgeous. We were given a warm welcome by Dimitrious and served lunch and a glass of wine on the house. 

The negative - I feel this place is very bad for your physical and financial health - the room we had "the superior" 3 bed deluxe sweet- was damp,  dark, smelly the bathroom was shocking no curtain hot water took an age to heat up there is no head room in shower so you have to bend your head and shoulders then when you did shower everything was wet - the damp smell  I believe triggered  an asthma attack for myself not what you want on holiday. please do not stay 
here!!! Other negatives no pool- which to be fair is not owners issue as they do not advertise this, 
No culdera view from yr room if you 
have a window you need to open and pop yr head out to see the view!!!! Esp as you pay for this .Very disappointed left after 1 night - before check out time and was told we had to pay another night less 15% as we paid on the Internet not the guy himself. I definitely do NOT recommend!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SkippyLondon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKaterinacastle, Owner at Hotel Katerina's Castle, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
We are really sorry for your health problem.Although i'm not sure that you stayed in my hotel you ought to know that our hotel is considered traditional with traditional caves as rooms so probably you shouldn't stay to any hotel of this type.
As for the 15% extra charge you also should know that it's about cancellation policy which is clearly determined by the intenet site you made your booking.We should charge you the whole amount but instead we charged you only the 15% (actually the amount we pay to the booking site )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Positive: Location, excellent view from the cafeteria, great value for money
Negative: Extremely small rooms, dirty bathrooms, not sound proof, increased humidity inside rooms, absence of refrigerator and windows

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaoulMasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENCIA,spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Kareina's Castle turned out to be the best choice to stay in Santorini. It is located in IMEROVIGLI, a town next to FIRA (santorini's capital) It has AMAZING caldera's views...and the sunset....the BEST SUNSET EVER...better than OIA's(which is well known in the island). It has a cocktail bar, where they serve the breakfast, and the staff is quite friendly and always willing to help. The rooms are spacious, nice and comfortable beds and pillows...and quite clean too...and some of them have views to the cliff and caldera!! It's such a good choice!!!i'd repeat for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAMPRAS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

i travel a lot, so i can definitely admitt that caterina's castle offered me a memorable stay.. fistly, the view from 'caterina's castle' is absolutely breathtaking, i could stay there for hours watching the dawn and the unique sunset, so realixing and magical while enjoing great coffee and service.
the rooms are unique, there part of caldera ,in the rocks like staying in a luxurious caves!!=) ...it's so traditional -and after the research i've done before visit the island- it's the only place that you see the combination of tradition,beauty and comfort in such a great way.
in addition,the rooms are really clean!!!!
last but not least , the prices are realistic and totally rational to what is offered.''what you pay, you get..''
visit it and you will understand what greek traveller (me) is talking about!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank passengerAth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2008

Highly recommend this hotel for two reasons...the first reason is that the hotel itself is in the best location on the island...up high on the cliff overlooking the neighboring islands and the hotel sitting areas offer outstanding views of the entire east side of the island, cliffs, bay, and adjacent islands...also the sunsets are quite beautiful. All the equipment in the rooms are in new shape...fresh paint, well maintained common areas, air con perfect, very clean, everything fresh every day....

The second reason is that the staff is very friendly. Mr. Jimmy is the owner/operater and has lived here for over 10 years...always friendly and offering us coffee or home brewed wine! Mr. Jimmy and Kostas speak english very well, in fact Kostas is a greek/american and has lived in USA for 18 years so very familiar with helping foreign tourists enjoy everything Santorini has to offer....beaches, restaurants, shopping, nightlife, etc..

So, if you are looking for a great place to stay with excellent value in Santorini, I recommend you stay at Hotel Katerina's Castel.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank HaoHao9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.2 mi away
Veranda View
Veranda View
#41 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prekas Apartments
Prekas Apartments
#33 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#39 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krokos Villas
Krokos Villas
#44 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merovigliosso Apartments
Merovigliosso Apartments
#29 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aeolos Studios & Suites
Aeolos Studios & Suites
#35 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katerina's Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katerina's Castle

Property: Hotel Katerina's Castle
Address: Imerovigli, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Katerina's Castle 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Katerina's Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Katerina's Castle Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing