We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, spectacular view, attentive staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tholos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tholos Resort
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, spectacular view, attentive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

My daughter and I spent 4 days at this resort and enjoyed the amenities. With only 12 rooms you get personalized service. The view was second-to-none. While the hotel room was as advertised (spacious) and very clean. I expected more for what we paid and certainly wouldn't characterize this as a 4-star. For example, bath products provided were limited. Breakfast was ample, simple and adequate, but provided very little in terms of variety. We tired of it after the second day. The food provided wasn't very kid-friendly - no cereal or toasted bread. It seems we paid a premium for access to the most amazing views of the caldera. Our deck was private and large; we loved spending time watching the comings and goings of the port. I should mention that the pool is very small and very chlorinated. It turned the lining of our bathing suits yellow. We did enjoy the food provided by Voitek (who is a very talented chef and very service oriented.) A special mention also goes to Christos. Free wifi is a plus (but only works at pool or on your deck) The staff were very attentive and provided recommendations for dinner and activities. We would definitely return to Santorini! But be forewarned, the island is very expensive - be prepared to pay a premium for everything!

Room Tip: Stay in room 205 for a private balcony & access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discontenteddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    65
    23
    14
    13
See reviews for
45
231
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We spent only one night at Tholos resort, but it was wonderful stay. Very kind personnel, good price/quality, situated in the heart of white anthill, wonderful view on Caldera. You are enjoying your wine in the pool with the nice romantic view on the best sunset seen ever) The only mines is steps..steps...steps. Be ready for steep steps)) But if you want to get into the heart of the paradise and uncover the true Santorini sense you need to do some gym) Take walk around.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

I have stayed in many locations in Santorini and this would have to be my favourite. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and AMAZINGLY fit, running up and down the many stairs delivering breakfasts at a rapid pace. They will meet you up on the road to assist you with your luggage. Great location, within a short walk of a variety of tavernas, supermarkets, rental cars etc. It is a lovely 10-15 minute walk along the Caldera to Fira and only a 10 minute taxi ride to Oia. The pool area is lovely, with a great all-day lunch menu. If I had to fault anything, it would only be that the bed was slightly hard for my liking. Apart from that - PERFECT!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was such a great small hotel!! It was the peak of our three week vacation. The view, the service and food was soooo good, we had an incredible and unforgettable time. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropicalpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in June 2011. If you go to Santorini then we would highly recommend that you stay on the West Side rather than East or South. The West side of the Island, and Tholos Resort particularly is quintessentially Santorini, anywhere else and you could just be in a European resort anywhere.

Anyway, onto Tholos. This small hotel is located amid the Rabbit Warren of boutique hotels on the lliff Face in Imerovigli. I would not recommend this place for toddlers or anyone with walking difficulties as there are steps to every hotel here.
Upon arrival and departure of the hotel however, the steps did not prove to be a problem as the excellent staff will porter your luggage.
The rooms are simply decorated but clean and everything you need. You have a fridge and sink area which is excellent for making up your own greek salads in order to save a bit on spending on room service or keeping those essential cold drinks. Breakfast was served within 10 minutes of our request every day on our balcony, overlooking the fantastic and unique views.

The pool area is just WONDERFUL, quiet and serene yet backed up with some 'eurobeats' in the background.The views are truly breathtaking over the Caldera; you don;t need to read by the pool, just take in the views!

Staff go out of the way to be helpful, ensuring a speedy service of drinks by the pool and throwing in the odd free Ouzo!

All in a wonderful few days of serenity in a breathtakingly beautiful place. Tholos hotel is exceptional value for money; some of the neighbouring hotels are slightly swankier but the prices are swanky too. You get everything you need at Tholos and more so would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lau_Jonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

I stayed with a couple of friends for 4 nights - the room was comfortable, clean and sizeable to accomodate the 3 of us. Great private balcony, jacuzzi and stunning views. The staff were friendly, attentive and professional - in particular Christos and Voitek deserve special mention here. The F&B was extremely good - Voitek's menu was delicious. Would definitely return to Tholos Resort and to the wonderful people we met there. Thankyou for a lovely stay! Louise, Hong Kong.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

It's hard to know what to say about this place. I started out very to be back in Santorini after 28 years since my last visit, even though my wife from Macao felt it was overpriced with no pick-up from the port, no luxury for the price, and just a great view. Soon I was unhappy since the person who checked us in told me that while we had no access to an outdoor jacuzzi, there was a jacuzzi tub, but when we got to the room there was a shower, not a tub, since we had received a free "upgrade" to the one superior room which did not actually have a tub. I expressed my dissatisfaction, and was encouraged to pay 100 euro more (50 percent increase in price to 300 euro per night) to have a room with a private jacuzzi, which I "strongly" refused. After visiting reception again, I was "reassured" by the other receptionist that while my room did not have a jacuzzi, it had a "hydrojet" shower! Ok, so I tried it out, and it didn't work properly. The lower right jet was too strong, and the other four trickled. Then the next morning I got really "upset" when I reported the "hydrojet" problem, and two staff in a row, the second of whom spoke good English, assured me to my face that the shower was working. After several "B.S." and "Not f------ working" replies on my part, the first receptionist and the first staff person came to my door, complained about my language, and offered to let us leave with a refund for the second night, since they didn't like having dissatisfied guests around. Too late. My wife was out on her own and unhappy, and I was not going to check out in her absence with no alternative room arranged. The receptionist also said that perhaps I should learn to control my anger, and I replied that perhaps she and her staff should learn to tell the TRUTH. So, I was not a happy camper. The next morning as we were checking out the staff painted the sidewalk in front of the reception office! Great timing! I gave ananti tip by stating I would definitely give no more, and left my luggage with a threat to sue if anything went missing. My wife was unhappy too, with bothe and the hotel, so she left on her own to explore Oia. I stayed in the neighborhood until the owner arrived at about check-in time, and I asked to speak with him. His conditions were "no bad words" and English-Greek translation by the first receptionist. I agreed, and to make a long story short, after a long and somewhat difficult conversation, we parted friends with a good handshake, a free lunch and a bottle of wine for me, and a promise to call a plumber to fix the shower, and to clarify the location of one of the photos on the hotel facebook page which I considered to be misleading. Bottom line, I left feeling vindicated, but knowing that when I next visit Santorini, I will choose different accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnnyHerbseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#37 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#21 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grace Santorini Hotel
Grace Santorini Hotel
#16 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#23 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tholos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tholos Resort

Property: Tholos Resort
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#24 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#29 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tholos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santorini hotel of your choice in Imerovigli, on the island of Santorini. Much beloved and world-famous, the island of Santorini in Greece is a place of awesome beauty and bewitching atmosphere. Its exceptional character is a blend of blazing volcanic rock, against the backdrop of the deep cobalt-blue sea and the clear Aegean sky. The imposing Caldera is the result of the volcano's biblical eruption, a crescent of cliffs rising steeply hundreds of meters above the water, with white villages nestled upon their tops. One of these picturesque settlements is Imerovigli, a small distance away from the capital of Santorini, Fira, where you can find Tholos Luxury Hotel Resort. Perched on the cliff of the Caldera, the hotel will offer you an accommodation of luxury and hospitality, in a magnificent setting overlooking the volcano. Panoramic vistas to the crater, submerged into the deepest blue waters, sparkling under the bright sunlight, will leave you enchanted in the day, while the spectacular sunsets that turn the landscape into a melange of dreamy pictures will make your memories unforgettable. The whitewashed apartments and studios, all in the traditional Cycladic style, are built on different levels of the cliff, with terraces or balconies facing the superb surroundings. In their discreetly luxurious interiors you'll find comfort and relaxation. At the patio by the outdoor pool on the other hand, you'll enjoy refreshing moments under the sun or romantic time under the stars. The service, day and night, is friendly and impeccable, while the hotel's owners are always at your disposal for your every need while staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Tholos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tholos Hotel Imerovigli
Tholos Resort Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing