We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but service can improve”
Review of Tholos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tholos Resort
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great but service can improve”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Hello, we visited Santorini for the second time. We decided to go to Imerovigli, the highest point on the caldera border between Thira and Oia (really strategic spot to move around the island easily in every direction). We decided to catch an offer from Tholos resort for a room for three days in August 2011 for less than 200 euros per night per room. Wow, when you get there you can't believe to the landscape you are viewing...just unique in the world. Stunning. Tholos is in the hearth of Imerovigli, made up by terraces overlooking the sea. I repeat, the view is stunning. There are few rooms and the hotel is family run. Each room with a terrace has a marvellous view. Upper rooms have more privacy, lower rooms have a straight access to the pool. Breakfast is included and served in your private terrace, the best moment in the day for us :) rooms are very clean and very silent. The only point to improve is service: breakfast is served with no attention and sometimes does not carry what has been asked (the waiters will be disappointed to change your breakfast as they have to go up and down from the kitchen, which means climbing hundreds of little steps on the steep mountain where Imerovigli is located). We also tried to have one dinner in the hotel on the beautiful common terrace in fron of the sunset. All the food was previously frozen and then served without are for a high price of almost 50 euros per person, too much. Make sure you enjoy the view but move out for dinner. And remember to buy your wine in a carrefour supermarket (best value for money vs the hotel and small shops) and bring it to your private terrace to enjoy the most beautiful breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    72
    23
    14
    15
See reviews for
59
248
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Attentive staff, wonderful view, amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulista_1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We thank you.
Your comments improve our skills and quality services.
Our proof is that we have already changed our matresses for season 2012 and replaced them with Coco Matt matresses for better sleep quality.

Kind Regards,

On Behalf of the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Everything was perfect for us stay- excellent staff always willing to answer questions, excellent breakfast, stunning views! No doubt we will be back. We had booked superior studio room and it was perfect for 2 people with beautiful views. Some people might argue about the steps to the hotel (might be difficult with young children) but we didn't have any problems.
Restaurants, mini market, car rentals within 2 minutes walk.
One can spend whole day by the pool enjoying the views!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had our wedding at the Tholos resort. The staff was very kind and helpful before and during our stay. The wedding was organized perfectly and we had very good time there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attila1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Where do I start?? Tholos Resort was such a delight to stay at! Our room was luxuriously cosy, comfortable and clean (with our own private balcony), and had everything we needed. The food was absolutely delicious, the best we had while we were in Santorini, having drinks down at the pool bar in the most magnificent setting was an unforgettable experience, and as for the breathtaking views and sunsets over the caldera and the Aegean Sea, they were truly priceless! I want to say a HUGE THANK YOU to all the staff, you are truly assets to Tholos Resort, so friendly and helpful with everything. We will especially miss Kristos and Voitek, two amazing men we love you guys!! (sorry Kristos I lost your email address so if you happen to see this can you send it to me?)
We were sad to leave this beautiful place and thoroughly recommend staying here to anyone. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryley29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This hotel is really amazing, nice pool, nice food , nice service and the most beutiful sunset in the island

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccaldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We had a great time in this beautiful small hotel, excellent location, amazing view and very very nice and freindly staff! Maybe it's time to redecorate the rooms and take care of the flow in the shower..
Thank you! Hope to come again soon!
Amir Monson, Israel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir_Monson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#28 of 50 in Imerovigli
161 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 50 in Imerovigli
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 50 in Imerovigli
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#27 of 50 in Imerovigli
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#11 of 50 in Imerovigli
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tholos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tholos Resort

Property: Tholos Resort
Address: Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#25 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#29 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tholos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santorini hotel of your choice in Imerovigli, on the island of Santorini. Much beloved and world-famous, the island of Santorini in Greece is a place of awesome beauty and bewitching atmosphere. Its exceptional character is a blend of blazing volcanic rock, against the backdrop of the deep cobalt-blue sea and the clear Aegean sky. The imposing Caldera is the result of the volcano's biblical eruption, a crescent of cliffs rising steeply hundreds of meters above the water, with white villages nestled upon their tops. One of these picturesque settlements is Imerovigli, a small distance away from the capital of Santorini, Fira, where you can find Tholos Luxury Hotel Resort. Perched on the cliff of the Caldera, the hotel will offer you an accommodation of luxury and hospitality, in a magnificent setting overlooking the volcano. Panoramic vistas to the crater, submerged into the deepest blue waters, sparkling under the bright sunlight, will leave you enchanted in the day, while the spectacular sunsets that turn the landscape into a melange of dreamy pictures will make your memories unforgettable. The whitewashed apartments and studios, all in the traditional Cycladic style, are built on different levels of the cliff, with terraces or balconies facing the superb surroundings. In their discreetly luxurious interiors you'll find comfort and relaxation. At the patio by the outdoor pool on the other hand, you'll enjoy refreshing moments under the sun or romantic time under the stars. The service, day and night, is friendly and impeccable, while the hotel's owners are always at your disposal for your every need while staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tholos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tholos Hotel Imerovigli
Tholos Resort Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing