We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Perfect Views and Great Staff!”
Review of Tholos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tholos Resort
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent six wonderful days at the Tholos Resort this July. Every day is Groundhog Day in Santorini, a carbon copy of perfect sunshine and cool breezes from the beautiful deep blue water. Each morning we sat on our balcony eating a delicious breakfast of eggs, bacon, juice, coffee along with a plate of Santorini cherry tomatoes and feta and enjoying the fantastic view of the caldera and the volcano. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help you with anything you needed. Spiros and Jason were most helpful. Like an earlier reviewer, we stayed on the top floor, room 101, and it was very quiet and private, although the stairs were a little bit of a challenge for this not so young anymore couple. The trek down to the pool was something we only did once a day but it was well worth it. The pool was situated so perfectly on the caldera with the most amazing views you didn’t want to leave. Our room was lovely and had a small kitchen and sitting area. The towels were a little scratchy and some of the umbrellas were a bit shabby and needed to be replaced but they were minor issues that in no way detracted from the beautiful experience we had at Tholos. We would highly recommend the Tholos Resort. Nice job guys!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark-n-Holly-Ferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

On behalf of the staff and the managing team, we would like to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a kindly and informative review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the place, the hotel and our service. We really hope to see you again in Imerovigli in the future!

Warm regards from Tholos Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Tholos Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

The view is breathtaking truly..... Way to stay in Santorini. The welcome we got from Sparos was outstanding. The pool although smallish was enough to get refreshed after a day of walking around, and the view makes for the size of the pool.
Wifi works with no hiccups, we loved to sleep and shower in a cave, our balcony was so amazing, and the MOST fantastic experience was to have your breakfast delivered to you whenever you ordered and the menu is really great.
But I have to make constructive criticism here for future stays and for the hotel as well:
This is a very romantic destination useless to say. I read in the previous reviews that the balconies were not 100% private due to people having to go up the stairs to access their room and to the very nature of the hillside design. I am not commenting about that as there is nothing that can be done about that. But why why why why would you have two balconies separated by completely see-through fences, especially when they have a jaccuzzi and I am sure would have enjoyed some privacy as well? And they had a new born, no offense but I don't go on vacation at the end of the world to such a romantic destination to be next to new born. That and their endless talk spoiled the stay.
The other critic is for the restaurant. Jason the waiter, pool waiter, breakfast server is lovely. Nothing bad to say about him. But we dined there and we wanted to love the restaurant. But it was a disaster. No mild word about it. I had something that was like a cheese tart, and it was unbelievable what I got: A piece of crust with a dry muffin on top of it, topped with a ranch dressing that was simply not edible.... My husband ordered fish and although it was good, it was everything but fish....

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nadegesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

On behalf of the staff and the managing team, we would like to thank you for such a detailed and informative review. In general, we tried our best in order to turn your vacations into an unforgettable stay! We take care of guest, as to be the only guest in our hotel.
As a conclusion, it is always better to inform the reception for any possible issues, because there is always time to correct them. With ignorance, there is no result.
We really hope to see you again in Imerovigli in the future...

Warm regards from Tholos Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife, son and myself had booked for two rooms in Tholos but due to overbooking, were given only one room in Tholos together with another room in another resort down the road. While initially disappointed with the arrangement, we could see that Spiros and his team tried to more than make up for the mistake. He took the effort to book my wife and I into a higher grade of room in the other resort and provided a complimentary dinner to make up for splitting up our party. My wife and I were free to make use of the facilities in Tholos and arrange for our breakfast to be served at the private balcony of the Tholos room where our son stayed. The view from the balcony and the swimming pool two levels down are breathtaking and is as good as, if not better, then the view at Oia (depending on whether one thinks the presence of thousands of other sunset viewers add to or subtract from the experience!). Hence while I cannot comment on the room itself since I did not stay there personally, I have no hesitation in recommending the resort for the view, the facilities, the meals and most of all the great hospitality from Spiros, his assistant Katerina, the chef (I apologise that I forgot her name) who personally supervised our complimentary dinner (and took the trouble to explain the menu to us) and the rest of his team. We can see they work hard to see that their guests' every needs are met.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and staff. It was a pleasure to accommodate you in our premises. We hope to see you again in Imerovigli!


Warm regards from Tholos Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

12 rooms on a steep hill cannot be done better. We had two rooms, one a family suite and one conventional room both with private balconies with a to die for view and one with a private jacuzzi. Breakfast is brought to your room at a time you scheduled on the order form. The staff is very accommodating, sending what ever you need, ordering taxis, rental bikes etc. the place is very nicely kept up and of coarse in the best Santorini all white style. In our family suite there was a fan which was very loud (later we found out there is a way to turn it off). The prices in Santorini are stiff but worth it, the Tholos has an incredible location and amenities (pool too). A word of warning to those with bad knees or walking issues, there are many stairs!! But they of coarse assist with luggage.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms close to the office that have less stairs (but still many)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

On behalf of the staff and the managing team, we would like to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a detailed and informative review. We really hope to see you again in Imerovigli in the future....

Warm regards from Tholos Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife and I have recently come back from a two week break at the Tholos resort. Well - what can I say....the view from the hotel is simply breath taking. People travel to the island via cruise ships (don't worry though - the hotel is well away from the port in Fira) to see the beautiful sunset every night. But we got to see it every night from our hotel room. The breakfast gets served to you every morning (in your room) between 8 and 12 and there is an extensive choice of what to have which you can change every day if you wish. The restaurant food is superb which you can either eat in your room/terrace, by the pool or on their restaurant terrace. On saying that though I would strongly advise people to eat at one of the many wonderful restaurants which are very close to the hotel - one of which is called Mezzo which has superb food :

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g635864-d3431774-Reviews-Mezzo_Restaurant-Imerovigli_Santorini_Cyclades.html

I really can't say enough about the holiday as it was fabulous. The only disadvantage I can think of is that Imerovigli (and the hotel) has lots and lots of steps so don't go if you can't walk very far. Other than that - best sunshine holiday ever!!

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool (which there are 4 of) are the best rooms as they are near the pool and restaura...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottandCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

A great thank you from all of us for choosing our property for your vacations and for taking the time to leave a review for Tholos Resort. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the place, the hotel and our service. We are looking forward to see you again in Imerovigli soon...

Warm regards from Tholos Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just spent 4 fantastic days here with family and friends. The views were amazing. Spiros and all the staff were helpful and friendly. Get fit for the walking but worth every minute of the sore legs. Would come back again. Highly recommended. Also do the sunset cruise that Spiros organised for us it was worth every cent. Wish we had been on the boat ALL day.

Room Tip: Choose the honeymoon suite with your own little spa.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

On behalf of the staff and the managing team, we would like to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a kindly and informative review. We really hope to see you again in Imerovigli in the future.

Warm regards from Tholos Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here this year because last year was so wonderful! The views are AMAZING!!! Our room was wonderful with blue french doors and a patio. Super breakfast every day, ordered the night before and delivered to your balcony at your specified time! Beds are big and comfy and the room feels like a suite. Upgrade to the superior rooms, they are worth the upgrade. Pool over looks the caldera and is a great place to have a cocktail. Food at the restaurant down on the lower level outside is also very good. The staff couldn't be any nicer or more helpful. This is a wonderful place to stay and we plan on going again next year. We wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else! Spyros, the head of the hotel contacted me ahead of time to talk to me about a special request I had made on tripadvisor. He made sure our stay was perfect!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room. Also, ones on the bottom by the pool have outside jacuzzis on their balcony...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and staff. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your vacations in Tholos Resort and we hope to see you again in Santorini in the future.

Warm regards from Tholos Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#29 of 51 in Imerovigli
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#28 of 51 in Imerovigli
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 51 in Imerovigli
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Suites
Cocoon Suites
#25 of 51 in Imerovigli
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kasimatis Suites
Kasimatis Suites
#40 of 51 in Imerovigli
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#27 of 51 in Imerovigli
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tholos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tholos Resort

Address: Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#26 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#29 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £158 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tholos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santorini hotel of your choice in Imerovigli, on the island of Santorini. Much beloved and world-famous, the island of Santorini in Greece is a place of awesome beauty and bewitching atmosphere. Its exceptional character is a blend of blazing volcanic rock, against the backdrop of the deep cobalt-blue sea and the clear Aegean sky. The imposing Caldera is the result of the volcano's biblical eruption, a crescent of cliffs rising steeply hundreds of meters above the water, with white villages nestled upon their tops. One of these picturesque settlements is Imerovigli, a small distance away from the capital of Santorini, Fira, where you can find Tholos Luxury Hotel Resort. Perched on the cliff of the Caldera, the hotel will offer you an accommodation of luxury and hospitality, in a magnificent setting overlooking the volcano. Panoramic vistas to the crater, submerged into the deepest blue waters, sparkling under the bright sunlight, will leave you enchanted in the day, while the spectacular sunsets that turn the landscape into a melange of dreamy pictures will make your memories unforgettable. The whitewashed apartments and studios, all in the traditional Cycladic style, are built on different levels of the cliff, with terraces or balconies facing the superb surroundings. In their discreetly luxurious interiors you'll find comfort and relaxation. At the patio by the outdoor pool on the other hand, you'll enjoy refreshing moments under the sun or romantic time under the stars. The service, day and night, is friendly and impeccable, while the hotel's owners are always at your disposal for your every need while staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tholos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tholos Hotel Imerovigli
Tholos Resort Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing