We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEWARE THE BAIT AND SWITCH: 4 nights, 3 different rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tholos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tholos Resort
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“BEWARE THE BAIT AND SWITCH: 4 nights, 3 different rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Overall, Tholos Resort would be good value...IF, IF, IF you get the room you booked. And it's a big "IF," according to almost everyone who was staying there. While chatting with other guests around the pool, we discovered that we all had a similar story that went something like this:

1. Check-in takes 45-60 minutes --- The woman in the registration office ignored us until I finally interrupted her to ask if we could use the bathroom while we waited. She seemed annoyed that I would interrupt her. She was just rude.

2. The room you get is not the room you booked --- After a bad start at registration, we were escorted to a completely different *1-star* hotel with NO explanation. How is this possible!? I went back to the registration office immediately thinking there was some kind of mistake. But no...her response was, "Sorry, we are sold out tonight." So our confirmed booking we made three months earlier meant nothing. Without any option (it was 8:30 at night by then), we were forced to stay our first night in Santorini in a dark, dirty, moldy room in a completely different hotel. SO DISAPPOINTING. So, Tholos is what you see on their website, but also a 1-star pension that is NOT on the site. Very good + Terrible = Average rating.

3. Here comes the upgrade --- If someone from Tholos responds to this review, they will likely highlight the fact that we were "upgraded to a room better at no additional cost." They did that...for one night, but only because it was available. Two nights, two different rooms.

4. Finally...the room we booked --- On the third night, we were moved a THIRD time, this time to the room we actually booked.

The experience was disappointing for obvious reasons, but the MOST disappointing factor was the fact that they clearly favor guests who have paid the most money. If you book a standard room, be prepared to move rooms. After talking with other guests, we realized that Tholos' strategy is to purposely overbook their hotel, then maximize their revenue by sending standard room guests to a different hotel. It is simply dishonest.

We wish we could recommend Tholos, but we can't endorse this lack of integrity. The property is great and the price is reasonable, but the experience is ruined when you realize the management/ownership lacks trustworthiness and honor. It's too bad...a case of a nice hotel that is willing to sacrifice guests' experiences for money.

One particular highlight must be mentioned: The bartender/server/runner, Angelo, is a fantastic, hard-working, genuine guy and we wish him all the best!

SPECIAL NOTE: You will notice that Tholos management is hyper-vigilant about responding to Average, Poor or Terrible reviews. This is damage control, which seems to be the theme while you're staying at Tholos as well.

Room Tip: Book one of the more expensive rooms or be prepared to stay in a 1-star hotel down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    66
    23
    14
    13
See reviews for
46
233
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you are looking for that extra special holiday then tholos is not the place. They may try to make your stay extra special but it is not something they have experience or good training at actually doing.
It is a quaint family run place that boasts a personal touch however they could do with professional training from the management down to the staff.
Honeymoon Suites with cold Jacuzzi’s, senior suites next to the kitchen with a lot of noise, a kitchen short of cutlery and glasses, having to ask countlessly for things during dinner and breakfast, and snacks and room essentials was not our idea of a relaxing effortless holiday.

If you want competitive value with a stunning view then tholos is a good place for you. It is a very dated hotel, clean enough but with very poor service however always apologetic and they do try to make up for it...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anthony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Have just returned from an absolutely fantastic break in Santorini, and have fallen in love with Imerovigli - if we are to come back, which I sincerely hope we will, we would certainly stay in Imerovigli again, and this is after having explored almost every other resort on the island, including Oia (which we were told was the place to be - I must dis-agree). Im is quiet, where evry where else is busy, it is tranquil, and has some of the most incredible views. It is also very easy to get around from.

Photos of the Caldera, and views from the cliffs really don't come close to justifying how breath-taking the scenery really is. It is like walking in to the most magnificent painting you've ever seen - sun-set's like none you can imagine, and eating breakfast on the balcony is a treat. Tholos resort is brilliantly positioned, and is relatively private compared to many of the other resorts that you will walk past, as it seems that the majority of the rooms lie away from the walking path into Fira.

The room we stayed in, I think, was a junior suite, although reading some of the other reviews, it is hard to say this with complete accuracy, as there seem to be many rooms. The room was lovely - and we can have no complaints whatsoever about the furniture/ bed/ shower/ bathroom - all were perfect, and the room was incredibly comfortable and modern and well equipped. We slept better than we ever had done before! We felt spoiled! And the bottle of Atlantis to greet us was delicious, thank you!

Breakfast is served every morning on the balcony, which for the most part was private - although half way through our stay, a family arrived, to be split to either side of our room, which meant the kids were running back and forth across our balcony whenever they were in (as were the adults too), but this is more the fault of that family rather than the resort. Breakfast is of a good standard, although having read the number of reviews that mention it is often served cold, it is somewhat surprising that this has not been corrected. We decided not to mention this, as it has clearly been mentioned on numerous occasions. Still, a very minor issue.

The resort is well looked after, beautifully clean, and very tranquil. The pool area is stunning, with a small bar to order drinks from.

The staff are what make Tholos excellent. Spyros, Elena and Angelo (I hope we have your names correct!), are some of the friendliest and most thoughtful people we have ever had the pleasure of staying with. They go out of their way to help with your enquiries, and they were happy to spend a long time with us on making sure everything was perfect, from room to the restaurants, trips we were planning etc. Zoro, he's the local cat, was particularly welcoming. He will be missed! We can only thank the staff for looking after us so well, and we hope you enjoy your well earned vacation!

Hopefully we will see you in the very near future! Yamas!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benjamgros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
A great thank you from all of us for choosing our property for your vacations, we would like to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a kindly and informative review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the place, the hotel and our service. We really hope to see you again in Imerovigli in the future!

Warm regards from Tholos Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Tholos over the summer for 7 nights and had a wonderful vacation in Santorini . Santorini itself was an unforgettable experience and some of the most fantastic scenery imaginable. Tholos is ideally positioned for the best sunsets on the island and location wise it's a 5 minute walk to a small supermarket, 10 minutes walk to the bus stop and 10 minutes walk to a couple of superb tavernas. Spyros and all the staff were excellent - friendly, full of helpful tips and advice and always incredibly polite. I cannot fault them and their first class customer service. However Tholos is not a 4 star resort and at best a 3 star. The rooms are dated, tired and massively in need of a face lift. When we arrived we were upgraded from the room we'd booked (standard studio) and shown to a room in the resort next door. This room was unbelievable - virtually new, jacuzzi on the balcony and a completely unrestricted view of the caldera. We were told we'd likely be here for the week but after day 2 we moved rooms to Tholos. We were upgraded to the best room they have which is an old house dug into the cliff and big enough for 6 people with a jacuzzi on the balcony. A massive suite, traditional furniture etc... but very old fashioned and in need of modernising. They'd obviously over booked (I think this happens a fair bit) but in all fairness we'd paid for a lesser room and been allocated the best one they had at no extra cost. Breakfast each morning on the balcony was enjoyable in terms of the view but the food was average - luke warm scrambled eggs, stale muffins and the food isn't covered. When we checked out Spyros took a photo of us and asked us to write in their guest book. It was clear not writing something wasn't an option and I felt this was a little sneaky and a way of covering his back should someone post a bad review of the resort online. Overall the hospitality was excellent, Spyros and his team are good hosts but the accommodation and rooms are old, tired and in desperate need of modernising.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cinnamon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I highly recommend Tholos resort as your hotel at Santorini. It has the most breathtaking view!!!We stayed in Honeymoon suite which has a very nice veranda, king size bed, romantic decor and most importantly the amazing veranda with a outdoor JACUZZI!! Sitting at the veranda to enjoy the delicious breakfast (Brought to your veranda everyday with a nice guy :) and sunset is just too perfect to be true. And sorry that we ordered too much on the first day that we can't finish all the food (bacons, sausages, scrambled eggs, yogurt, coffee, fruits...etc) Besides, the washroom in the room is also very neat and clean. The bathtub is a jacuzzi again and we are so in love with all the white bubbles during bathing! :) Last of all, Anna is so helpful and friendly who answered all our questions in details and recommended many nice restaurants for us you to go. As we checked out in early morning, she prepared breakfast for us in advance and kept it in our fridge! Thanks Tholos for the great room service. We enjoyed our stay very much! :) Oh, I missed the comment on the POOL!!! i took so many pictures..haha! I am not fond of sunbathing but I just can't escape from it when i was embraced by sunshine there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YUYUKIKI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
On behalf of the staff and the managing team, we would like to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a detailed and informative review. We really hope to see you again in Imerovigli in the future....

Warm regards from Tholos Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The view from this hotel can not be beat. It is just breathtaking. But even better is the staff. They are the most friendly and helpful staff that I have ever encountered.....anywhere. Spyros and Elena have a ton of experience in the area and are able to answer every question we came up with. Breakfast was fantastic. Hand delivered (up a bunch of stairs) to your room. Having breakfast on the veranda, watching the sun come up over the ridiculous view....just can't be beat. I highly recommend the Tholos Resort to anyone coming to Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwang23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
On behalf of the staff and the managing team, we would like to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a kindly and informative review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the place, the hotel and our service. We really hope to see you again in Imerovigli in the future!

Warm regards from Tholos Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely week in the double senior suite. Spyros, elena, jason and the team made us feel so welcome. The service is very personal and you feel like when you come back from a day of adventures you are sharing your story with friends not staff.

View stunning. Skaros in between but you come to admire the mountain. Amazing sunsets. Breakfast is good and delivered to room on time. Hotel feels very private..

Only desire wouldve been dvd player in room or more English channels...

Keep up the great work..


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faujdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TholosResort, Owner at Tholos Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you in our premises. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your vacations in Tholos Resort and we are definitely waiting to see again soon!

Warm regards from Tholos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#36 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#16 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#21 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tholos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tholos Resort

Property: Tholos Resort
Address: Imerovigli | Santorini, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#24 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#29 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tholos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santorini hotel of your choice in Imerovigli, on the island of Santorini. Much beloved and world-famous, the island of Santorini in Greece is a place of awesome beauty and bewitching atmosphere. Its exceptional character is a blend of blazing volcanic rock, against the backdrop of the deep cobalt-blue sea and the clear Aegean sky. The imposing Caldera is the result of the volcano's biblical eruption, a crescent of cliffs rising steeply hundreds of meters above the water, with white villages nestled upon their tops. One of these picturesque settlements is Imerovigli, a small distance away from the capital of Santorini, Fira, where you can find Tholos Luxury Hotel Resort. Perched on the cliff of the Caldera, the hotel will offer you an accommodation of luxury and hospitality, in a magnificent setting overlooking the volcano. Panoramic vistas to the crater, submerged into the deepest blue waters, sparkling under the bright sunlight, will leave you enchanted in the day, while the spectacular sunsets that turn the landscape into a melange of dreamy pictures will make your memories unforgettable. The whitewashed apartments and studios, all in the traditional Cycladic style, are built on different levels of the cliff, with terraces or balconies facing the superb surroundings. In their discreetly luxurious interiors you'll find comfort and relaxation. At the patio by the outdoor pool on the other hand, you'll enjoy refreshing moments under the sun or romantic time under the stars. The service, day and night, is friendly and impeccable, while the hotel's owners are always at your disposal for your every need while staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tholos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tholos Hotel Imerovigli
Tholos Resort Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing