We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon”
Review of Tholos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tholos Resort
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
SAKLOVE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Honeymoon”
Reviewed 8 October 2008

At first I was hesitate to stay at this hotel because of few bad reviews, so I wasn't expecting much when we got there. But wow where the reviews wrong. 1st off the staff was so incredibly nice and wonderful and extremely helpful. Our room was incredible we had beautiful views from our hotel balcony. It was perfect place to stay at for honeymoon. We would have wonderful breakfast every morining on our balcony enjoying the beautiful views. Whenever we needed something the staff was always there to meet our needs. The food there was good especially the pasta I have never had such great pastas anywhere. The staff was so taught and nice that during our stay there it was my husbands b-day and the staff had sent flowers for his birthday and crepe with candle on it for break feast. I have never had such wonderful service anywhere. We went to Athens afterwards and we stayed at 5 star hotel but the staff didn't even compare to the ones at Tholos. I suggest anyone who’s going to Santorini to stay at Tholos I promise you won't be disappointed. Thank you to the staff for making our honeymoon extra special.

  • Liked — VIEWS, STAFF
  • Disliked — UMMMMMMMM CAN'T THINK OF ANYTHING
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SAKLOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    67
    23
    14
    15
See reviews for
51
240
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Went to Santorini 1st time for a week in September '08. Booked this hotel last minute with hopes it would be all worth the search I did. From the moment me and my boyfriend arrived, the service was unbelievable. Luggage was carried for us down steep steps. All smiles and very very friendly staff. Never wrote a review for a hotel, but we were both so impressed with service, food, helping us book outings on and off the island, even switching a room for a honeymoon suite for 2 days!! I promised I would give them a great review. The views from the varanda and the pool were just unreal with everlasting sunsets. No need to go to Oia. Rooms were cleaned daily. Bartender/chief -sorry forgot the name-awesome service. Front desk day lady-sorry forgot the name-thank you for booking an amazing semi-private sailing trip for us. Thank you for making this trip an unforgetable one. Can't wait to come back!

  • Liked — the views, comfort,
  • Disliked — room decor
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mesiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2008

My wife and I just spent four of the most beautiful days of our lives at the Tholos Resort in Santorini. When we made it to the top of the mountain in Imerovigli and turned the corner into the Tholos Resort, it was as if time stopped - kids , work and all the other stressors of life went away during our entire stay. The view from the resort is unparalleled. The only experience in Imerovigli that could compete with the incredible view, was the hospitality of the staff at Tholos. The staff greets you by carrying your luggage down the steps to your room, and then all your needs are addressed by Sophie and Celeste in the office, who are two of the most professional and wonderful people one could ever hope to meet while on vacation. The rooms were spacious and immaculate with an awesome view right from your own private balcony. The ultimate experience at Tholos is Krasi - he takes care of any need you may have, either at the bar or at your balcony; but the best kept secret is that he is also the master chef of the resort. The meals from Krasi are unbelievable and truly rival the work of some of the best chefs in Paris or New York. My wife and I never left our paradise at Tholos as there was no need, since this resort provides the ultimate relaxing experience for the world traveler seeking a respite from their hectic lifestyle. Tholos Resort is paradise with class, and we highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The staff and the view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jiavarasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Just returned from Greece and had the pleasure to stay at the Tholos Resort. If you aren't up for climbing a lot of steps, this may not be the place for you, but then that is how Santorini is in general. The service was excellent, and Krasi (sorry if I misspelled the name) made the drinks, cooked the food, delivered it to your room and always did it with a smile. Nothing but good things to say about the rest of the staff as well. The rooms were clean, comfortable (good AC) and had amazing views of the volcano, the rest of the island and of course the sunsets. There was no need to go to Oia to watch the beautiful Santorini sunsets when you can do it from you private patio. I am kind of a hotel snob, and travel extensively for business (and pleasure). I truly recommend this hotel when you are in Santorini. Thank you for the wonderful stay.
CK and FD (New York)

  • Liked — View and the service
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY-Spartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We took a trip to some cities in Europe for our honey moon for over one month. We stayed at cities like Paris, Rome, Venice, Athens, Madrid and Barcelona but Santorini was something special out of this world. Besides the beauty of the island with its sunset, peace, food, wine, etc; we are sure, now that we are back in home, that the people, hotel and service in Tholos Resort were the main reasons for us to consider it like the best part of our whole trip. The people at Tholos makes you feel like you are sharing with old good friends or family, in particular Krasi, Celeste and .The view from any point of the hotel and rooms, the facilities so clean and the exquisite food are the values of the place. Imerovigli from our point of view has a nice ubication into the island because of the volcano view and because it is in the middle of the island so you can reach any part within a few minutes.

  • Liked — Staff people and service, view, food, rooms and ubication.
  • Disliked — Having more time to spend there
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frescura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2008

This was a very nice hotel. The pool area was in the right place with great views, the hotel was on the side of the caldera, it was clean and breakfast was great. But how do we say this..... it just didn't provoke romance. There were no romantic touches in the room, the pool bar service for cocktails did not exist and it had the overall feel of self-contained not pampered. Don't get us wrong, good views and sunset, but feel money could be spent better elsewhere. Last note, if you are after nightlife or even just restaurants in the evening you will have to travel out of Imerovigli. Oia was our preferred choice.

  • Liked — Views, sunset
  • Disliked — cold atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Chantee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

We stayed here for our honeymoon. As I have alluded to in my title, I kept peeking over at the Astra Apartments (#1 rated on Tripadvisor for Imerovigli) right next door on the caldera. The Astra looked slightly better in every respect (cleanliness, service, breakfast, amenities including infinity pool). Perhaps this is b/c Astra is larger than Tholos (60-something rooms compared to 12 for Tholos). We stayed here for our honeymoon, and I had booked Tholos because of excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. I couldn't book the Astra Apartments via our travel service, so I thought Tholos would be its equal. Overall, Tholos wasn't bad, but it could have been better. I guess upkeep of the hotel property wasn't as high on the to-do list, 1) as part of the property (where you can't see it on a balcony below the pool) is overgrown with weeds; 2) the poolside wooden railing looks like it's about to fall off; 3) shoe marks aplenty over the white-washed walls; 4) hotel room kitchenette was old and trim was falling apart; 5) bathroom showerhead was old and falling apart. Again, the Tholos wasn't terrible, but the Astra was just better in every respect. But Tholos is cheaper, and if all you care is to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view, which we certainly did, then Tholos fits the bill. But if we do head for Santorini in the future, we will most certainly stay in Oia, where there's actually something to do, compared with quiet Imerovigli (we took the bus into Oia quite often). I would spend minimal time in Fira, as it's overrun by tourists and touts.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — long walk (10 min) to public transportation
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank chinochulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#32 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#17 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sophia Luxury Suites
Sophia Luxury Suites
#27 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tholos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tholos Resort

Property: Tholos Resort
Address: Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#23 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#29 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tholos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santorini hotel of your choice in Imerovigli, on the island of Santorini. Much beloved and world-famous, the island of Santorini in Greece is a place of awesome beauty and bewitching atmosphere. Its exceptional character is a blend of blazing volcanic rock, against the backdrop of the deep cobalt-blue sea and the clear Aegean sky. The imposing Caldera is the result of the volcano's biblical eruption, a crescent of cliffs rising steeply hundreds of meters above the water, with white villages nestled upon their tops. One of these picturesque settlements is Imerovigli, a small distance away from the capital of Santorini, Fira, where you can find Tholos Luxury Hotel Resort. Perched on the cliff of the Caldera, the hotel will offer you an accommodation of luxury and hospitality, in a magnificent setting overlooking the volcano. Panoramic vistas to the crater, submerged into the deepest blue waters, sparkling under the bright sunlight, will leave you enchanted in the day, while the spectacular sunsets that turn the landscape into a melange of dreamy pictures will make your memories unforgettable. The whitewashed apartments and studios, all in the traditional Cycladic style, are built on different levels of the cliff, with terraces or balconies facing the superb surroundings. In their discreetly luxurious interiors you'll find comfort and relaxation. At the patio by the outdoor pool on the other hand, you'll enjoy refreshing moments under the sun or romantic time under the stars. The service, day and night, is friendly and impeccable, while the hotel's owners are always at your disposal for your every need while staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tholos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tholos Hotel Imerovigli
Tholos Resort Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing