We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tholos Resort hotel...where the dreams come true ! !”
Review of Tholos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tholos Resort
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Undoubtedly the most magnificent hotel I' ve ever been! A perfect combination of ideal location, excellent rooms and very very helpful staff! My partner and I had a great time for 5 fantastic days! Our room was perfect, luxury, commodious and always clean. The staff was very friendly and attentive to all the visitors. Every morning we' ve been served our delicious breakfast in our room. The best of all was the spectacular sunsets ... every afternoon we enjoyed magic panoramic vista sitting by the pool! We didn' t want to leave... I am sure that whoever visit Santorini and especially THOLOS RESORT will adore it and will have memories unforgettable just like we do!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F_S_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2009

We are so happy that we picked the Tholos Resort for our 4-day honeymoon stay in Santorini! It was wonderful! We are also glad that we decided to stay in Imerovigli, which is a short walk (20 minutes) from the main town of Fira along the caldera walkway. Imerovigli is much quieter than Fira, and Tholos Resort was very relaxing.

The staff members were wonderful! Celeste greeted us when we arrived, and she told us that our room had been upgraded. She had lots of helpful information about activities on Santorini. Pedro and Woitek were also very helpful. Woitek made great Greek salads for us as we sat at the pool or on our balcony. He delivered breakfast to us on our balcony each morning. The breakfast consisted of rolls, croissants, juice, cheese, deli meat, and tea/ coffee. We were able to order dinner on our balcony also.

Our room was very modern and clean. The bed was extremely firm, and I did have some difficulty sleeping on it the first night. The view from our balcony (and from all of the rooms) was amazing. We could see the village of Oia to the right, and we watched the sunsets from our balcony every night.

We did walk to Oia one day. This walk was interesting, but it was a bit more challenging than the walk into Fira. It took us about 2 hours, and it was very hot that day. We took the bus back from Oia.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I read all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor about how great the staff at Tholos was, how amazing the view from the rooms were, and its proximity to the rest of the island and after 4 days at Tholos, the actual experience blew away all my expectations.

Location wise, its a 5 minute drive to Fira and 15 minutes to Oia and the town of Imerovigili literally sits on the rim of the caldera, giving you better views of Santorini than practically any other place on the island. It is a decent walk to the actual hotel from where you park your car (or the taxi drops you off), but its worth it.

Once at the resort, you're faced with a stunning 180 degree view of the entire caldera, looking from one tip of the island to the other. A feast for the eyes. Words or pictures cannot describe this view - you simply have to see it for yourself. And as for those famous Santorini sunrises, you have the best view from the comfort of your own room veranda.

The staff at the resort was simply the best I have ever experienced at any resort. They go out of your way to make sure you have everything you need to make you happy. Wojtek, the chef and Chief Happiness Officer as I'm appointing him, was an amazing host for our morning breakfasts, poolside lounging, and early evening conversations. I've never experienced a more gracious and accommodating staff than at Tholos.

There are many places to stay in Santorini but if you want a reason to come back year after year, Tholos is that reason.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfo2mnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

After traveling from place to place we came upon this beautful hotel. The Staff was willing to help in any way, the room was very clean and the pool a wonderful way to cool down on a Sunny afternoon. Sitting on our Patio for breakfast each morning was a wonderful to start the day. I would definently go back to Tholos again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canmorebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed at Tholos at the last leg of our two week honeymoon. After spending the rest of the time touring through Italy and Greece Tholos provided the perfect spot to just relax. It was a great location...nice and quiet...and had the most amazing view. The staff was amazing! The only bad thing about it was that we only had three nights there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelers808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

A very nice and quiet hotel for those looking for some R&R. You can't beat the location and the view (better than Fira or Oia in our opinion). Room was clean and comfortable (bed was a little hard), staff were great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socalineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed at Tholos on our honeymoon May 19-22, 2009. We weren't sure what to expect, but it exceeded out expectations by a mile. We arrived via the flying cat ferry from Mykonos. Didn't have any transportation arranged so we stood at the port till a bus driver to Oi offered us a ride. We were the first ones off the little bus and the porter from Tholos was there to meet us. We followed him down a stairs along a path about 1/4 mile. He carried our bags.
The frienldy girl at reception told us we'd been upgraded from the junior suite to the family suite. I couldn't complain since it had a private jaccuzzi. The family suite was huge and nice. We had a table and chairs on the deck and two more "laydown" chairs. The view was absolutely amazing and we couldn't believe how awesome it was. We could see Oi, the Harbor, the old fort, the caldera and it's islands, and the sunset.
The room and bed and two bathrooms were great. nice decorations too. Tholos was intertwined with Astra Apartments. Tholos was just as nice and cheeper. Tholos is kind of spread out. A few of the apartments and reception are up by the main foot path while the rest of the apartments are down by the pool. The pool was 114 steps down. Kinda tiring to go down there.
Tholos is close to a few good restaurants. 30 min. walk to Fira. We walked there and back a few times. The night we walked there for dinner we brought a taxi home. 10 km to Oi. I warn you that Oi is farther than it looks. Make sure you DONT hike there in sandals. Me and my wife hiked there in about 2 hours and back again, but most people we talked to didn't hike there and back. take good shoes and plenty of water.
Another thing you should do is ride donkeys from the old port to Fira. Tholos was a great spot to relax and explore the caldera side of the island. We never rented a car or went to the other side of the island. The view and accomadations are great.
Negatives: Our hottub was cold but didn't feel like complaining since we hadn't paid for it anyway. Distance to pool, but we didn't use it much anyway since our balcony was great to lounge on. Right next to Tholos is an old building which is kindof an eyesore.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillyphan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.9 mi away
Xenones Filotera
Xenones Filotera
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#27 of 50 in Imerovigli
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#20 of 50 in Imerovigli
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#9 of 50 in Imerovigli
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tholos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tholos Resort

Address: Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#26 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#29 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: £180 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tholos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santorini hotel of your choice in Imerovigli, on the island of Santorini. Much beloved and world-famous, the island of Santorini in Greece is a place of awesome beauty and bewitching atmosphere. Its exceptional character is a blend of blazing volcanic rock, against the backdrop of the deep cobalt-blue sea and the clear Aegean sky. The imposing Caldera is the result of the volcano's biblical eruption, a crescent of cliffs rising steeply hundreds of meters above the water, with white villages nestled upon their tops. One of these picturesque settlements is Imerovigli, a small distance away from the capital of Santorini, Fira, where you can find Tholos Luxury Hotel Resort. Perched on the cliff of the Caldera, the hotel will offer you an accommodation of luxury and hospitality, in a magnificent setting overlooking the volcano. Panoramic vistas to the crater, submerged into the deepest blue waters, sparkling under the bright sunlight, will leave you enchanted in the day, while the spectacular sunsets that turn the landscape into a melange of dreamy pictures will make your memories unforgettable. The whitewashed apartments and studios, all in the traditional Cycladic style, are built on different levels of the cliff, with terraces or balconies facing the superb surroundings. In their discreetly luxurious interiors you'll find comfort and relaxation. At the patio by the outdoor pool on the other hand, you'll enjoy refreshing moments under the sun or romantic time under the stars. The service, day and night, is friendly and impeccable, while the hotel's owners are always at your disposal for your every need while staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tholos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tholos Hotel Imerovigli
Tholos Resort Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing