We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff.”
Review of Gizis Exclusive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gizis Exclusive
Ranked #39 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location, clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just returned from a fabulous holiday at Gizis with 2 girl friends. This hotel has probably one of the best uninterrupted views of the famous sunset over the caldera on the island. If you want peace and quiet, with almost sole use of the pool most days, and want to watch the sunset seated at a table just outside your room while sampling the local wine, feta and salad - this is the place for you! I endorse everything said in the last 2 reviews. The rooms were basic, but perfectly adequate, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and a strong shower. A good sized fridge to store all that local produce and basic cutlery and crockery. The only things missing were a kettle and cups for tea and coffee. Towels were changed daily and beach towels are available on request. The staff were lovely, especially Pat, and we soon began to feel like friends rather than guests. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Imerovigli along the stunning cliff top path, so it is easy to get provisions, whilst being secluded away from the crowds. For meals out -Tasos, a family run taverna 50 m from the hotel, serves excellent food at reasonable prices. The moussaka is to die for. Also Theo, who lives next door was an excellent tour guide, taking us to fascinating parts of the island that we did not know existed. All in all a wonderful find.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 150Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    33
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
19
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

This wasn't my first time to Santorini but I was sure I wanted a view this time. But having a tight budget has its limitations on Santorini. I eventually found this hotel and what a find it is. The views are amazing. This island is one of the top 10 in the world to visit and this hotel has some of the best views on the island. Apparently we are just doors away from hotels with prices more then 5 times that of Gizis.
We were greeted with smiles at the door and the owner went above and beyond to make sure our 1 year old was well provided for ree sleeping arrangements. The rooms were of a decent size and quality for other hotels we have stayed at in Greece. In fact, better then average for similar prices. The breakfast did the job. Although it was probably something I would never order, I must admit I was looking forward to my morning cake and coffee looking at the views.
The location is well placed out of imerovigli so is very quiet. And if you are up for it there is an amazing 2-2 1/2 hr walk to oia with the best views on the island.
No where on the island will you find a hotel with this view for this price. But regardless of that this place was the heart of a fantastic holiday. And I will only ever stay here next time I go to Santorini again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnisBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked this hotel for a family group of 11. We couldn't believe the breathtaking view that we all had from our rooms. We all felt so privileged to have this quiet spot with a great pool almost to ourselves. It's a fantastic location from which to explore the main spots on the island, being on a bus route to both Fira and Oia.
Rooms were all clean and well furnished and Pat couldn't have been any more helpful or friendly.
Some people have commented unfavourably on the breakfast provided, but we all found it perfectly adequate.
To sum up, we had a perfect, relaxing family holiday, thank you Gizis.
One small point, we could have done with an on site snack bar for the days we spent lunchtimes on the property.
Nothing fancy, but you might like to think about it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theheyworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were immediately carried away by the jaw-dropping Caldera view from the swimming pool. Then we realised that this view was at our doorstep - so what else could you ask for in Santorini? Each appartment has a table with two chairs and two sunbeds exactly in front of the cliff, so the sun sets on your toes :-) A big advantage is that the hotel is at the end of Imerovigli village, quite remote from other hotels, so you get a very quiet and private stay, contrary to the packed stay you'd get at Imerovigli.

Our room was basic, but still nicely decorated with furniture, and spacious. It also had a fridge, which is very convenient, and a water tap/sink. The swimming pool was small - but no smaller than other more expensive hotels at Imerovigli.

On the downside, the bathroom was tiny; the shower was miniature and did not have a shower curtain. The bathroom furniture could have been nicer overall. However, it was cleaned daily with new towels provided. Breakfast was disappointing, as it only consisted of butter, jam, a slice of cake, orange juice, coffee one bread bun and some crisp bread. You could ask for cereal, but this was all. We bought our own cheese and ham. However, you can have your breakfast in your room, so we enjoyed it in our little table looking over the Caldera.

Parking is easy as it has its own parking space, and even when the hotel is crowded, everyone fits if drivers are considerate. There's a path in front of the hotel and above the Caldera, which runs until Fira - a nice way to enjoy the sunset.

Staff (and owner) was very friendly and would do anything to make our stay pleasant. We enjoyed the family feel in the hotel service.

Overall, we would strongly recommended to those who are not bothered to have a fancy glam stay and like to keep things simple: view, cleanliness, cute rooms and accessible staff.

Room Tip: All room offer a private quiet stay and fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evoulita79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our 6 night stay in Santorini was busy and we knew we would be spending little time in our hotel. Accommodation was generally quite expensive in Santorini and this is more of a 'budget' hotel accommodation and a matching price range. The rooms were very basic, but also very clean (and cleaned every day with new linen/towels etc) and very quiet as it's a little out of the town of Imerovigli. You really do get what you pay for (the bed and pillows were average, the shower head was broken, some of the furniture was a bit 'worn'), but in saying that, the view is priceless. From our room (and likely all the rooms from what we saw) and the pool there is a spectacular view of the sunset and the caldera. The pool is a really good size for the island (as we had many friends staying nearby in Fira and Imerovigli and also saw their accommodation to compare) and the price range. The breakfast is fresh and tasty, but is mainly just a bread roll with condiments.

The local taverna (Tasos) was also great food and friendly service. The hotel is a short walk to Imerovigli, but it is almost a vertical climb (so coming back is fine!). We would definately suggest hiring a car/quad bike for the time you spend on the island to avoid many vertical hill climbs!

The proprieters (although limited English) went out of their way with us in providing us personal service - we couldn't believe their willingness to help us during our 6 night stay - even getting back an iphone that we left in the back of a taxi.

If you are looking to have an affordable stay in a clean room with excellent views and a great pool, I would definately recommend this accommodation but be mindful it is 3-star ish and nothing more so don't expect a champagne stay on a beer budget in terms of breakfast or the aesthetics of the rooms.

Room Tip: Any with a promised Caldera view would deliver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and the service was superb - Maria was working her first week and looked after us like we were long-lost friends - not to mention she makes the yummiest frappes at breakfast! She even lent us her laptop to check our flights.

Our room was spacious and the setting spectacular with views across to Oia and the coastal path at our front door so you can walk back to town. Pool was fabulous.

Breakfast consisted of a breadroll, cheese, yoghurt & honey and we just bought a box of cereal and ate outside our room with our tray of goodies from the kitchen.

We would stay here again and would recommend to anyone looking for a getaway. Its probably a good 45 minute walk to Fira, so you want to load up on groceries if wanting to be self-sufficient.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tarabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My husband an I stayed at Gizis very recently, and we had a great time. It provided simple, clean, contemporary accomodation, in a beautiful location at a truly great price. What more can you ask?! When looking for accomodation in Santorini, we found anywhere with a 'Caldera' view to be incredibly expensive, so took a chance on Gizis based on very favourable reviews on this site. I'm so glad we did, because it location-wise it was absoultely spectacular, and exactly lived up to our hopes. We clearly went in quiet season, and so we pretty much had the whole place to ourselves for the duration of our stay - what a treat! The only thing I would say is that you really should take a pair of comfy shoes, as Imerovigli town is 10mins walk away, up a hill. Also you will probably need to hire a car, but the island is so beautiful that to go all that way and not to see the isalnd would be such a waste!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhePheLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.5 mi away
Kasimatis Suites
Kasimatis Suites
#41 of 50 in Imerovigli
17 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#20 of 50 in Imerovigli
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aeolos Studios & Suites
Aeolos Studios & Suites
#37 of 50 in Imerovigli
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 50 in Imerovigli
395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#38 of 50 in Imerovigli
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xenones Filotera
Xenones Filotera
#24 of 50 in Imerovigli
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gizis Exclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gizis Exclusive

Property: Gizis Exclusive
Address: Imerovigli 84702, Greece (Formerly Gizis Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#29 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#30 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gizis Exclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gizis Exclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gizis Hotel Imerovigli
Gizis Exclusive Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing