We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Honeymoon Experience, Beautiful Simplicity” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gizis Exclusive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gizis Exclusive
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Honeymoon Experience, Beautiful Simplicity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here for about a week on our honeymoon. We had a wonderful time and were very happy with the accomodations. We felt like we got a true cultural experience and loved the owner who we felt was very friendly. We are also very happy that we chose to stay in Imerovigli, which is much quieter than Oia and Fira, and less of a tourist destination. We had a car for part of the time and a scooter for most of the time which was a good idea because it allowed us to really explore the island and although you can walk into the small town of Imerovigli, its quite a trek on a hot day. We arrived a day late because of a missed flight, and so I don't think we got the room we originally booked, but instead got one of the less expensive apartments below the pool, but found that it suited our needs very well, and saved us some money. It was clean and very simple, not a luxury hotel, (pretty small, I think maybe 8-12 rooms) but very sweet and had absolutely incredible uninterrupted views from the patio out front. We had a small table with umbrella and chairs outside our room looking out over the caldera where we ate a breakfast of tea or coffee and a roll and cake each morning, and brought dinner and wine back to the hotel sometimes to eat on our patio during the sunset. I would say that the location is awesome if you don't mind driving or hiking into town, or to the other surrounding towns, and its great for those who plan on spending most of their time exploring the island, and aren't as interested in spending all day at their hotel. Right out front looking out over the caldera there is a trail that you can walk to get into the center of town (Immerovigli) and also I think we walked it all the way to Fira one day (about a half hour walk.) We spent most of our days enjoying the island and so really just used the hotel as a comfortable place to sleep, and shower and make into our little place to come home to each day. There is a wonderful restaurant called The Blue Note within walking distance (lots of stairs) that we loved and went to many times during our stay. We are vegan and they had lots of good options for us! The hotel is right on the edge of the cliff, and below it is just scenery which is nice in comparison to some of the other hotels in town where all are stacked seemingly one on top of another on the side of the cliff, which to me seems kind of cramped. This hotel felt more open than that. Nearby there is also a really awesome rocky outcropping called Skaros that you can hike to the top of and we were amazed to find that it was covered in castle ruins! (amazing) If you like hiking and lots of physical activity, definitely go to Skaros for the sunset and also take a boat trip out to the volcano for a hike to the top and a swim in the hot springs! Overall, our experience with this hotel was very wonderful, and I would recommend it for its location (for those who prefer a quieter area with less tourism, and a more authentic Greek experience), friendly and helpful owner, peace and quiet, amazing unforgettable views, access to the main trail, small family-owned personal feel, and for those who are comfortable with simple, nice and functional accomodations, and for the price, because we were going to stay at a more expensive hotel nearby and found that they had the exact same view. We didn't use the pool much, but it was very nice and a great place to have breakfast. If you want to know more, or if you want any recommendations of things to do while in santorini, contact me! I love sharing memories from this fantastic trip!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelovesadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    30
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
patras
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

We discovered Iannis and his hotel after some search in Oia and Thira and when we saw it, it was just great! It was our honeymoon and we will surely comeback someday! It is a clean place, close to a nice greek traditioanal "taverna" (good prices!), where you can enjoy your holiday away from the noise and crowdy places! The view is breathless!It was wonderful!

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — between Oia and Imerovigli
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ghemuletnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

Our group of 6 just returned from a stay at the Hotel Gizis. In a few words, I would not recommend this place to anyone except the absolute no frills low low low budget traveller. I was very disappointed in the location which was stated as in Imerovigli when in fact you absolutely need to rent a vehicle of some sort to get anywhere. The rooms are cramped and dark and claustrophobic, the showers are tiny and hand held and the toilet was leaking water. The beds were the worst I've ever slept on, lumpy and hard as a rock!! I've stayed in nicer hostels than these rooms. The breakfast is ok, not a traditional greek breakfast like I was expecting, they serve coffee/orange juice with a crusty bun and a cake. On the up side, the pool although very tiny was nice and the view was spectacular. You are definitely paying a premium for the caldera view and nothing else.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somethinred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

4 of us (2 couples) stayed at Gizis for 1 night (wish it had been longer) in Sep. 07. The owner, Janis, is friendly and helpful. Our room was fresh and clean, with a balcony and a view of the caldera that was too beautiful for words. The pool is spotless clean and a lovely spot to relax on the loungers that are provided after a long, hot day hiking up the volcano. Breakfast is basic, but nice fresh bread is provided and it is more than fine. Many showers on the Greek islands are in fact only hand showers, and Gizis has the same, so expect this. Gizis is ideally situated for people who want the best, most private view of the caldera, without having hoards of people walking past them, as is the case with some of the other accommodation on the cliffs. It is a short walk from the Imerovigli centre, and so accessible to buy provisions from the nearby shops. It is right on the bus route between Fira and Oia, which is very convenient. If you want to escape the chaos of Fira and have a room with a magnificent view and some peace and quiet too, stay at Gizis!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownKittykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

First of all, location is terrible. There is no mini market around to buy food and drinks, and it takes at least 30 minutes walk in the dark, unlit path (albeit by the sea) to get to the centre of Imervigoli. The room was very smelly and not clean -- bathroom/toilet door did not close, and it was absolutely smelly -- something to do with poor wasterwater management. We saw some cockroaches there and deckchairs outside were dirty. The breakfast, though offering great view, was very basic, just stale bread and nescafe coffee (eeew). I really urge you to avoid this hotel -- there is reason why this place is rather cheap. AVOID!

  • Disliked — VERY SMELLY, DIRTY, COCKROACHES!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank natasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORINO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

they don't have any idea of what a booking request is. we have to contact them varios time in order to see an email sayng us that they just don't have an accomodation for us.
this happened after they've assure us that they have a room and they fixed a price that we accepted.
After the phone agreement (2 calls) they simply changed their minds and says
"Dear Sir/Madam,
we are sorry to inform you that we don't have an appropriate room to accommodate you.
Sorry for the disturb."

we don't accept this from a public service!!

REALLY NOT AVISED, 'BOOK' OTHER HOTELS

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank davidescarati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

I returned from my beautiful trip the last 21 August.
Santorini is magnificent and our stay in Gizis hotel the same !
We didn't see any previous comments anywhere, but we decided to book because the price was in the average and the Web site showed very nice photos.

When we arrived there, we appreciated very much:

1. beautiful sunset and panorama from the room (all with private balcony with view to sunset and Caldera) and from swimming pool;
2. swimming pool (not so big but absolutely suitable)
3. the quietness and the location (the hotel is near Imerovigli, on the road between Imerovigli and Oia);
4. breakfast by the pool and terrace.
5. the hotel is near to bus stop.


Some "little" comments:

1. the owner was pleasant but, sometimes, irritable. Anyway was finally friendly;
2. the breakfast was not a buffet (milk or coffee, a slice of plumcake, butter, only one roll of bread with marmellade);
3. the room was cleany but we had to ask to have a change of towel. The sheets never were changed during a week;
4. our bathroom (i don't know the others) was very small and the shower was very very little and open (inside the bathroom).

Anyway, we enjojed absolutely our stay and we suggest you this accomodation. The relationship between quality and price is good.
Bye

Saverio and Ilaria

  • Liked — Panorama from room, pool and quietness
  • Disliked — no possibility to buy some food inside.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halifaxItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#20 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aeolos Studios & Suites
Aeolos Studios & Suites
#35 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#37 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Xenones Filotera
Xenones Filotera
#27 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#39 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prekas Apartments
Prekas Apartments
#32 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gizis Exclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gizis Exclusive

Property: Gizis Exclusive
Address: Imerovigli 84702 , Greece (Formerly Gizis Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#28 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#30 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gizis Exclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gizis Exclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gizis Hotel Imerovigli
Gizis Exclusive Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing