We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to Gizis”
Review of Gizis Exclusive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gizis Exclusive
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Roma, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go to Gizis”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The Gizis Hotel/Apartments is the best value you can get in terms of location and cosy accomodation.

It is not in Imerovigli village, but in its outskirts (Oia side); you can reach every main village on the island by the local bus which stops 1 minute away on foot (at Tasos Taverna).
A 10-15 minute breath-taking walk on a wide path along the caldera will take you to Imerovigli (note that some parts of the path are not illuminated).
We easily relied on local buses, but we think the best option if you can afford it is to rent a Quad (4x4 motorbike).

We stayed in the junior suite, which is simple but airy, with the GREAT added value of a private balcony (while for most of the other rooms the open part is semi-shared).

The bathroom (with hydro-massage shower: it is _not only_ hand-held, you can choose with a knob!) is maybe the less appealing commodity: the faucets are a bit green for saultiness and in the whole it's kinda ramshackle. Anyway, it does its job.

There is absolutely no complain about the staff: smiley, friendly and helpful.
Mr. Gizis is there to help you with _any_ issue you could face, and Maria will help with the language.
We had a very early check-in and addictional breakfast without any charge, and Mr. Gizis came to pick us up by car at the bus stop in Imerovigli.

The breakfast is ok but not home-made; you can ask for addictional beverages beyond the standard supply.

If you are looking for a familiar, non-posh, quiet and cozy accomodation to stay, well-connected to all the villages but away from the crowds and the plethora of souvenir shops, and if you want to enjoy a breath-taking view of the sunset on the caldera... THIS IS THE PLACE!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GhostsInTranslation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    32
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
86
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

My wife and I have just spent an unforgettable week at Gizis. The owner Yannis was waiting for us with his car at the airport. Upon arriving at the hotel, Maria served welcome coffee. Then, after we had unpacked, Yannis took us on a sight-seeing tour through the village, down to Fira, where we shopped groceries for the week at the local Carrefour. When we left, Yannis took us back to the airport. Mind you, this was in preseason (early June) and we were almost alone at the hotel. There is nothing to say that this kind of service is available when the place is cramped full.

Gizis is NOT in the Imerovigli proper, it is on the far outskirts of the village and you have a 10-20 minutes (depending on age and fitness) uphill walk to the cluster of shops, restaurants, hotels and other services. The upside of this is that you have a more genuine feeling of the dramatic nature. The hotel sits literally on the top of the rim with the main road between Fira and Oia on the one side and the walking trail overlooking the Caldera on the other side. The Caldera view is as breath-taking as you can ever get at the more posh hotels. The location is perfect for renting a car, but also to take the local bus. The stop is 1½ minutes away next to a taverna serving good local food at reasonable prices. Be sure to tell the bus driver you want to get off at Tasos taverna, if you travel in night time.

We had a double next to the reception/breakfast room (WIFI available). Our room was spacious and clean and so was the bath room (but we agree with other comments on the narrow bathtub and the handheld shower). Linen and towels were changed frequently. Breakfast was simple, but adequate to keep you going. Maria was always laughing and ready to help.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjorn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We ended up at this hotel by accident. The hotel next door , Santorini's Balcony overbooked and did not have enough rooms for our group. The view from our rooms was absolutely stunning! We couldn't pull ourselves away from the sunsets. Maria and the innkeeper were very accomodating. They let us use their clothline to dry our clothes and called us a taxi as needed. There wasn't a hair dryer in the room but one was provided when asked for. The bus stop is right across the street and the buses run regularly. The buses are very modern and air conditioned. Yes, the beds were hard and there were hand held showers but those are not usual in Greece or Europe. A few of our group did not have hot water the first day but once the solar panels were turned on, it wasn't a problem anymore.
The Taverna down the street was very good and the staff was super friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlbugeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Our first time in Santorini at Gizis hotel was absolutely amazing. The views of the caldera were just outside the door & watching the sunset was perfect from the hotel. The location was nice and quiet, away from the tourist areas, there's a bus stop about 15 mins walk from the hotel to get you to other cities, but i would recommend renting a car, scooter or ATV. The breakfast was simple, tea/coffee or juice with a bun & cake served with butter or jam.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmaglanq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2009

It was our first trip ever to Santorini and booked this hotel because of the location. My wife and I loved it!! The breakfast included in the price was a basic continental style breakfast with rolls, cake, cheeses, coffee, and juices. But it was good enough for us to get going on our day's adventure!! Our room, like all rooms, had a patio area overlooking the Caldera and probably one of the most beautiful views in the world. Mr. Gizis was so friendly and always up for a good conversation!! He was always available and answered any questions we had. When we asked for an ATV to rent for 2 days, within a few minutes Mr. Makis was waiting to take me to get the rental. Whenever we return to Santorini, we will definitely be staying with them again!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polobear312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here for about a week on our honeymoon. We had a wonderful time and were very happy with the accomodations. We felt like we got a true cultural experience and loved the owner who we felt was very friendly. We are also very happy that we chose to stay in Imerovigli, which is much quieter than Oia and Fira, and less of a tourist destination. We had a car for part of the time and a scooter for most of the time which was a good idea because it allowed us to really explore the island and although you can walk into the small town of Imerovigli, its quite a trek on a hot day. We arrived a day late because of a missed flight, and so I don't think we got the room we originally booked, but instead got one of the less expensive apartments below the pool, but found that it suited our needs very well, and saved us some money. It was clean and very simple, not a luxury hotel, (pretty small, I think maybe 8-12 rooms) but very sweet and had absolutely incredible uninterrupted views from the patio out front. We had a small table with umbrella and chairs outside our room looking out over the caldera where we ate a breakfast of tea or coffee and a roll and cake each morning, and brought dinner and wine back to the hotel sometimes to eat on our patio during the sunset. I would say that the location is awesome if you don't mind driving or hiking into town, or to the other surrounding towns, and its great for those who plan on spending most of their time exploring the island, and aren't as interested in spending all day at their hotel. Right out front looking out over the caldera there is a trail that you can walk to get into the center of town (Immerovigli) and also I think we walked it all the way to Fira one day (about a half hour walk.) We spent most of our days enjoying the island and so really just used the hotel as a comfortable place to sleep, and shower and make into our little place to come home to each day. There is a wonderful restaurant called The Blue Note within walking distance (lots of stairs) that we loved and went to many times during our stay. We are vegan and they had lots of good options for us! The hotel is right on the edge of the cliff, and below it is just scenery which is nice in comparison to some of the other hotels in town where all are stacked seemingly one on top of another on the side of the cliff, which to me seems kind of cramped. This hotel felt more open than that. Nearby there is also a really awesome rocky outcropping called Skaros that you can hike to the top of and we were amazed to find that it was covered in castle ruins! (amazing) If you like hiking and lots of physical activity, definitely go to Skaros for the sunset and also take a boat trip out to the volcano for a hike to the top and a swim in the hot springs! Overall, our experience with this hotel was very wonderful, and I would recommend it for its location (for those who prefer a quieter area with less tourism, and a more authentic Greek experience), friendly and helpful owner, peace and quiet, amazing unforgettable views, access to the main trail, small family-owned personal feel, and for those who are comfortable with simple, nice and functional accomodations, and for the price, because we were going to stay at a more expensive hotel nearby and found that they had the exact same view. We didn't use the pool much, but it was very nice and a great place to have breakfast. If you want to know more, or if you want any recommendations of things to do while in santorini, contact me! I love sharing memories from this fantastic trip!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelovesadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patras
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We discovered Iannis and his hotel after some search in Oia and Thira and when we saw it, it was just great! It was our honeymoon and we will surely comeback someday! It is a clean place, close to a nice greek traditioanal "taverna" (good prices!), where you can enjoy your holiday away from the noise and crowdy places! The view is breathless!It was wonderful!

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — between Oia and Imerovigli
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ghemuletnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.8 mi away
Aeolos Studios & Suites
Aeolos Studios & Suites
#38 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#32 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#18 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Katerina's Castle
Hotel Katerina's Castle
#46 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#24 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#40 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gizis Exclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gizis Exclusive

Property: Gizis Exclusive
Address: Imerovigli 84702 , Greece (Formerly Gizis Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#25 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#30 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gizis Exclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gizis Exclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gizis Hotel Imerovigli
Gizis Exclusive Santorini/Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing