We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


Bella Aurora & Thalassa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come! Sail away with us on a memorable voyage.You will board our authentic Brigantine Thalassa at the picturesque old port of Fira.We will set sail for the small port of the volcano. When we arrive your guide will lead you up to the rim of the volcanic crater where smoke rises up and the stones are hot to the touch. Remember to bring good walking shoes and a hat to protect you from the sun.Leaving the volcano, our ship heads for the “hot springs”. There you can bathe in the warm waters (don’t forget your bathing suite and towel) . During the remainder of our voyage, we pass by Thirassia, where you have the chance to swim again in the blue crystal cleal waters while the captain and his crew prepare plenty of traditional Greek meze (appetizers) and you’ll have the chance to taste the renowned wine from Santorini. Next we come to the northern tip of Santorini and the town of Ia with its two small seaports Ammoudi and Armeni. From our sailing boat we have a unique vantage point for viewing the lovely traditional settlement of Ia. Here you can relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery.Then we will set the sails and head back to Fira enjoying the wine and live saxophone music as the sun magically sets into the sea.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Preveza, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

After seeing almost everything in the wonderful island of Santorini, the cruise with the Thalassa was the finest conclusion of our journey. The cruise was a true romantic experience. It gave us the opportunity to see the caldera and the villages of Santorini from a totally different view. The program of the cruise was excellent and the staff was very kind and eager to help us. Especially our tour guide Christina knew everything about the history of the island and she explained every single detail. She was very kind and gentle and she managed the whole program of the cruise with great accuracy. The sunset under Oia was the highlight of our cruise, which lasted almost 6 hours. I totally recommend it for everyone. Without this cruise I believe that we would have missed the best part of Santorini. Thank you Thalassa.

Visited August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I am generally quite scheptical about any kind of organised trip, but this one fulfilled my expectations and much more. Everything went perfectly fine: the timing, the trip to the Volcano, the bath in the hot springs, swimming in front of the island, the dinner and the sunset with the saxo music.
The guide and the whole crew was very nice and helpful and created a great atmosphere, explaining the details about the volcano and the creation of the islands and chatting with the visitors during the dinner and the final dance! The moments with the sailors operating the vessel until the sunset was in front of us was also really nice.
In overall, it is an experience you must not miss in case of visiting Santorini.

Visited August 2014
Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Beautiful Santorini Experience”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Thalassa's sunset boat cruise was the highlight of our 7 day stay in Santorini. We were celebrating my Sister's 50th birthday and enjoyed a week on the island. I am so happy we decided to take the cruise. It gave us a different perspective of the island, with gorgeous views, a trip to the volcano, where we could get off the boat and walk to the top. The boat stopped twice so we could take a swim in the warm waters of the sea. As the sun was setting a saxophone player played as we were provided drinks and appetizer's. The crew was friendly and accommodating, and we enjoyed our selves tremendously. I would highly recommend this cruise!

Visited July 2014
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences in Santorini”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The cruise with the sail boat Thalassa was a truly unique and unforgetable experience. I chose to make the cruise the last day of my visit in Santorini and it was truly the best conclusion of a wonderful journey. The sail boat is a true copy of an 18th century spanish sail boat. The cruise began with a visit in the volcano of Santorini where the tour guide Christina proved to have a great knowledge of Santorini's history. She was very friendly and she managed the whole cruise with great responsibility. After our visit in the volcano we were sailing and swimming to Palaia Kammeni and to Therassia. The catering was delicious full of Greek traditional food. The cruise was concluded with a live saxofone player who amazed us during the sunset below the north end of the caldera,. I was really satisfied with the program of the cruise and the friendly staff. I can not think of the island of Santorini without this cruise. It's a way to experience the island by a totally new perspective.

Visited July 2014
Thank Dimitris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap; Rude Staff”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our B&B owner really talked up this cruise, so we decided to take her advice and give it a try. It's main selling points are that it's a convenient way to see the volcano, swim in the middle of the sea, and watch the sunset from the water. They also advertise swimming in hot springs, which is more like shallow lukewarm muddy water, and a buffet dinner with "Santorini's best" wine included. The dinner was actually a small, cold spread of finger food with mediocre boxed wine. The worst part was the guide, Christina Papazoglou. She was very rude and snippy to the passengers, and seemed to forget her role as host. As the guests lined up for dinner, she yelled at them to line up and served the men wine, ignoring the women. If we were on land, I would have walked out. On a ship, unfortunately you're captive to the crew. I can think of many more pleasant ways to spend a day of vacation in Greece for much less money than being stuck on this tourist trap. Save your time and money and spend a relaxing day at one of the beautiful beaches instead.

Visited August 2014
3 Thank TheDistrictTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonis K, Owner at Bella Aurora & Thalassa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear visitors,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

We were quite stunned to receive your review and very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your sunset cruise with us.

There is a reason we are promoted so positively by so many fine hotels in Santorini, and that is because of the great majority of rave reviews from their honored guests, allowing them to risk their fine reputation by sending their guests to us without incident. If the guests were returning with such negative feelings, certainly we would not have a very good reputation among these fine hoteliers, and of course we prefer to keep a fine cooperation with them. So please do not blame your hotelier. They are only acting in the best interest of their guests, who apparently have been returning very happy with their experience on our cruise.

As for your tour guide, we apologize if her style of hospitality was not pleasing for you. As this is the first time in all our reviews she has had any negative feedback whatsoever, on the contrary, she is one of the positive highlights of most reviews. Thus we tend to believe it was just an unfortunate misunderstanding. Perhaps personalities sometimes do not complement, and in this case apparently it happened for you, and we are indeed sorry you are left feeling somewhat jilted.

The hot springs are indeed not steaming hot. But on a hot summer day it is a pleasant temperature and the mud is said to have healing minerals, as do many therapeutic springs. We are sorry you did not find it pleasurable, however there is usually a second stop for swimming in fresh water as well so perhaps you were able to enjoy that.

Our sunset excursion is not offered as a full dinner cruise. It is offered with a light buffet and local wine. This wine is the same wine offered in bottles in fine restaurants all around Santorini. However for the important safety of our guests, glass bottles would not be prudent on a moving sailing vessel, thus it is served in the safer, boxed format onboard.

We are very sorry that these issues for you overwhelmed the natural beauty of the island, the camaraderie of meeting new sailing friends, and enjoying the lovely Santorini sunset from a unique seafaring perspective. And we thank you again for allowing us the opportunity to respond.

Bella Aurora & Thalassa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Aurora & Thalassa also viewed


Been to Bella Aurora & Thalassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing