We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, lovely staff - shame about Tony's”
Review of The Peligoni Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Nikolaos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Peligoni Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Beautiful setting, lovely facilities including watersports, tennis etc - all of which we had no problem using and staff managed very professionally and with safety paramount. Brilliant trips out led by the wonderful Shelia - for me personally they were the high spot of the holiday - particularly the sunset monastery walk. Our accommodation (The Blue House Apartments) was clean and very close - ideal for us as we didn't want to keep getting in the car. Some people had massive villas with beautiful pools but you are paying to use the Peligoni beach club anyway so why have a beautiful pool at your villa too! Other good villas close by seemed to be Emerald and Mimis. Food at club mixed - but perfectly adequate. Social mix was fine - we had some great chats with lots of different sorts of people but it is a social place so if you prefer your holidays alone this is not the place for you.

Only problems for us were i) lack of advertised Pilates. Fitness teacher is lovely but majors on body pump and muscle building - not for me when I'm on holiday but others may think otherwise. Aquarobics in pool was good. And ii) Tony's Bar. This is a bar completely independent from Peligoni about 5 mins walk away which serves alcohol to underage kids. Needless to say they think that's great. From age 13 upwards they quickly find out about it and will nag you to death to allow them to go after dinner (which means they get there about 10.30 earliest) and want to stay until 12, 1, 2am. If you don't mind this then it's not a problem. If you worry about your children's livers and personal safety walking home then you will have massive family arguments and have to stay up until the agreed collection time to bring them back. If you are in a villa that is not in walking distance then you won't be drinking much - though they will. Peligoni knows about the problem and is thinking of creative solutions to try and solve it - like having a mildly supervised teenage hangout in the evenings with good music away from the parents on the Peligoni site. Time will tell.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
challengedartist, Owner at The Peligoni Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback, we do take it seriously and hopefully i can answer some of your questions and concerns here!

I am so glad you enjoyed the Club, your accommodation and, of course, Sheila!
With regards to your comments whilst i really appreciate the compliments for me it is far more important to look at the concerns you had and to see if there is anything we can do to solve them for next year.

In all honesty last year was not our strongest year in a culinary capacity, we lost our head chef fairly early on and although the food did improve once he had gone, once we are into the peak season it is very difficult to implement wholesale changes... i can only apologise if your experience was not consistently up to standard, and ensure you that we are woking very hard to build the strongest team possible for 2014. We set ourselves very high standards and i am sure we will deliver.

For 2014, we are investing a significant amount of money into our spa and fitness department, building out the fitness area to give better shade and installing giant fans to keep it cool in the middle of the day. Additionally we are adding to the number of free classes available to members, and i will make sure they are always as advertised!

As for Toni's bar... it is difficult and not very professional of me, in this forum, to discuss my true thoughts on the subject. I can say, I completely agree with you and the others who have commented on Tony's bar on our page, i can only say that i have had several meetings with him and other business owners to try and come to an agreement on a acceptable code of practise. and we are making progress that i hope will come to fruition in 2014

In truth if all bar owners followed the same rules as we do i am sure that teenagers would spend more time at the Club, with their parents. However, local business owners, too, realise this and therefore it is an uphill struggle. The best thing we can do is to inform parents properly of what their teenagers can get up to outside of the Club, and leave it to them to decide how they want to act... it would be improper of me to even begin to try and tell parents how they should look after their kids on holiday.

I do hope that your experience last year has not put you off visiting the Club, and i hope you will give us the opportunity to surprise you in the future!

Kindest regards
Ben Shearer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

A wonderful holiday - teenagers very happy with endless sailing, activities and friends, whilst the adults enjoyed some delicious lunches and good wine selection. Everyone was happy, thanks for some great staff and good facilities.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Georgie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
challengedartist, Owner at The Peligoni Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words... i do hope we can see you again in 2014!
All the best
Ben Shearer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed in one of the villas recently and had Club Peligoni membership to go with it. The club feels mainly for teenagers in the 14-18 range, lot of activities and freedom offerred to them. It's a very British place - basically everyone I met seemed to be in English private school. Nothing wrong with that, my children are too, but its like being holiday in a bubble and after a while, feels a bit odd. Same for the staff who are mainly in the 18 - 24 range I think, so quite young and mainly at Uni! The club itself is excellent, i did like the decor all round the place, its has SPA, tennis court, pool, board games for those not doing sailing... we spent most time at the pool which was great. Food was fine, nothing too adventurous. Pizzas excellent. Towels every day, activities most day that don't get pushed in your face (yes, we visited the Greek wreck, it was a fine trip and we got their early before all the tourists), ample parking around the club (you need a car for sure - all villas are uphill from the club and some a fair few KM away), lots of staff so service is fast. Its not cheap though, well above local Greek prices and with the card system they operate you are all but guaranteed a very large bill at the end of the week (that is really unverifiable as it doesn't list the items against the individual costs, just some vague term like 'Drinks') unless you are ruthless ...which we were not!! My teenagers all really enjoyed the freedom the club gives, the food they serve, they made loads of friends and enjoyed their holiday so overall you can't really complain that much, its hard to please teenagers on holiday with their parents. That being said, membership of sailing club is also pretty expensive with no option for '1 day" or trial - basically you sign up for the week at > 300EUR per person, so unless they are going to use it a lot, it feels poor value for money. Our children wanted to try it for a day and see if they would enjoy it - sadly no such option. Other post allude to this but under-age drinking can/does take place in a well managed environment with a wristband system. It seemed to work reasonably well but if you are totally against that concept then you might have some trouble here unless you manage your teenagers well! Our holiday was split between the villa and the club (again car essential). The villa (Orfos) was excellent, lovely pool, very clean, very quiet, nice views , friendly owners and staff, and Air-con. Provides a safe haven from the full on nature of club. You need to drive to local restaurants if which there are a good selection that everyone seems to work their way round. We did 3 - all great locations. Nikos by the Sea our favourite, 10 minutes away by car. Small (basic) port down the road from Club is quite quaint and has a number of shops and small supermarkets from provisions. We enjoyed it (all of us) but all were a bit undecided if we would do it again. Others do seem to come back year after year!

Room Tip: Orfos Villas were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bear858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
challengedartist, Owner at The Peligoni Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback,
In the school holidays there is no getting away from the fact The Peligoni Club is very popular with families and their teenagers. However outside of the School holidays the Club is increasingly popular with adult groups looking for a more grown up experience.

On the back of feedback we received last year on the price of a water sports package we have completely re-structured our pricing for 2014. A water sports upgrade now costs £175 per person per week, and we have brought in a paddle sports only option which costs just £75 per person per week for those that want to spend some time on the water but don't feel like sailing. Hopefully this will go some way to helping with the cost of a Peligoni Holiday in 2014.

If you have any other thoughts that you think might be helpful please do email me directly ben@peligoni.com,

Kindest regards
Ben Shearer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We came to Peligoni in August and absolutely loved it! From a teenagers point of view it was one of the best holidays we've been on. My sister (17) and I (16) came with our parents after a recommendation from a family friend. We made loads of friends with other teenagers (be warned most people are around 14/15 so my sister felt a little awkward being older). Highlight of the week were definitely party nights! They were so much fun with everyone from all age groups on the dance floor into the early hours of the morning. We also loved the watersports- we were complete beginners at sailing at the start of the week and by the end we were confident enough to take a boat out each by our selves due to the help of the boat boys who were always very friendly and didn't moan at the amount of times I capsized the sailing boat in lessons :) the atmosphere at Peligoni is so relaxed with loads of places to relax. Milkshakes and toasties are a must in the afternoon. We stayed at Orfos villas which were great with a pool and within walking distance from the bar Tony's (which meant our dad didn't have to pick us up each night). We loved the freedom of being able to go out and not be worried about getting home. Tony's is generally full of 14/15 year olds but wasn't an issue for us but it is true that he will pretty much serve anyone! I absolutely loved Peligoni and will definitely be looking to apply for a job here in a few years time and will try to persuade our parents to come back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teentravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My son and I stayed at Peligoni early July and still reaping the benefit of a fabulous week which was quite honestly without fault. Every member of staff from management to maintenance worked tirelessly to make every guest seem special. The bar staff, waitresses , boat boys and of course Shelia were amazing and worked so hard - always with a smile and went that extra mile.
The location was just right and I loved to walk from mimis bed and breakfast( Thankyou Stefano and family) to the port to see the ferry go to cephalonia each morning. Clean sheets and towels every day, Stefanos homemade preserves , bread etc each morning til10.30 ish was a lovely start to the day. Nikos restaurant amazing. Peligoni restaurant great too- thanks Will and Sarah! Altogether recommend to all ages and have done since return. Christine mc

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrismc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Peligoni Club was the perfect holiday and surpassed my expectations. The club is really beautiful with more facilities than I was expecting, particularly enjoyed the tennis courts and the whole pool area, with its bar, spa and fitness area but just sitting on the loungers overlooking the ocean was perfect too with the occasional Motion juice to sip on.

The staff were what really made the holiday for us - they were all really fun, helpful and good at their jobs. Nothing was too much for them and the Beach Boys were amazing as they accommodated our level of experience in water sports and managed to get us out sailing even though we were complete novices, feeling completely safe at all times.

We went as a group of friends but the club was perfect for couples and families too as the guests were a really nice mixed group. They have lots of organised events which you can join in with as much as you want (such as brilliantly fun but hard fitness classes with Yiota, sports tournaments and quiz/party nights) but likewise you can just sit and people watch if you prefer, meaning the holiday was the perfect mix of fun and relaxation.

The club is in a beautiful location and had plenty of good places to eat/drink which were not too far away from the club, but the food at the club was excellent and a good range so we often ate there.

I'll definitely be going back and would highly recommend it as a holiday destination to anyone else! Thanks Peligoni team for an amazing time!

Room Tip: Mimi's B&B was perfect, good location and ran by really friendly, helpful people. Rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had an excellent holiday at Peligoni - the facilities suiting all age groups and the environment creating a happy relaxed social atmoshpere.The staff are particularly charming with the young, so helpful and willing. Sheila is the Club's greatest asset - engaging with all new members and full of local information. Her trip to the monastery was quite outstanding and provided an almost spiritual experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
8.5 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
722 reviews
10.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
5.8 mi away
Ionian Star Hotel
Ionian Star Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alykes
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
88 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Lithies Boutique Hotel
Lithies Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Korithi
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peligoni Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peligoni Club

Address: Agios Nikolaos | Skinari, Agios Nikolaos, Volimes, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Volimes > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Peligoni Club Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Peligoni Hotel Agios Nikolaos
The Peligoni Hotel
The Peligoni Club Zakynthos, Greece - Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing