We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Irish Gem”
Review of Portmagee Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmagee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portmagee Heights
Ranked #2 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Irish Gem”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This Bed & Breakfast was by far the best place we stayed in whilst in Ireland. Monica is an excellent host and welcomed us as if we were family. The traditional Irish breakfast was superb and it was our first introduction to black pudding. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Just wish we could have stayed there longer to view the island of Valentia more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
105
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

When arriving to Portmagee we didn't really expect much more than bed and hot water,
but it end up with best room we had in Ireland for an average price (I think 80 euros for couple, but I might be slightly off).
Great new shower, heated floor (or at least felt like it), big room.
I can't say much about breakfast since we wanted to go on a boat trip so we didn't eat much,
The owner was very helpful, trying to arrange our trip with the local boat operator,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuval_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The house is very modern and spotless clean. Our room was superior which meet our all expectation. The bed was so comfy that I had such a wonderful sleep there. The owner – Monica is a lovely person and will advise you for best places to eat and see around. Her advise of local restaurant was perfect and I have to say that I ate the best fish of my life there. Her irish breakfast was also delicious. I honestly recommend this place.

Room Tip: great fish restaurant in cashersiveen at the ferry cross
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariusz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We just returned from our holidays in Ireland and Wales. After staying at Portmagee Heights, no other B&B could compare. Our rooms were spotless and spacious, with extremely comfortable beds. The owner, her family, and staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Monica made us feel like we were her only guests - which couldn't have been further from the truth. She gave us great travel trips on where to go, what to see, and where to eat. There is no doubt that we'll be staying at Portmagee Heights again. In a word: FABULOUS!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 860happytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Big rooms with great views. very friendly service. Great beds. Very clean modern rooms with coffee in the rooms. What more can I say. A must stay place in a small town. Monica made our reservation to skellig (our highlight of our trip).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Purpose built property for b&b. very comfy, modern and of high standard. Also complimentary broadband. Breakie was fairly small but tasty.

Very nice, could have been in a hotel and not a b&b. staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dxb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a great find! A new, modern B&B run by a great woman. Monica made us feel right at home. Her accommodations are clean and very comfortable -- with an amazing view! We were not expecting to find this nice of a place in a small town, but were happily surprised. Monica also booked our Skellig trip so that was one less thing we had to deal with. Her suggestions regarding restaurants for dinner were perfect. If you are going to Portmagee, really consider staying here...you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMP0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
4.8 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
21.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#3 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmagee Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmagee Heights

Property: Portmagee Heights
Address: Portmagee Heights New Road, Portmagee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing