We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect luxury getaway, we were entirely spoilt but fantastic value”
Review of Portmagee Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmagee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portmagee Heights
Ranked #2 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“Perfect luxury getaway, we were entirely spoilt but fantastic value”
Reviewed 28 January 2010

My fiance and I spent 2 nights at the Portmagee heights last weekend and from the moment we set foot in the beautiful slate home we were treated like royalty. We got engaged on a nearby beach at sunset, so anywhere we stayed would have been pretty special but we felt so lucky to have stumbled on to Monica's place. She was interested, friendly and discrete all at the same time. When she found out about our trip her family bought us a wonderful present as they 'wanted us to remember where our first engagement present had come from.'

The room was gorgeous; extremely comfortable with chic, modern decoration and fantastic views of the harbour. The room had its own ensuite bathroom with huge power shower that was a welcome luxury at the end of a hard days hiking in the surrounding countryside. Plenty of hot water too, especially considering the house was heated geothermally.

Portmagee itself is a quaint and pretty little fishing town, we ate a delicious dinner at the local pub and joined the locals in a traditional Irish music set. We spent a day exploring Valentia Island and will definitely return when the route to the Skellig Islands are open. We were lucky with the weather and were strolling around in jeans and tee-shirts while the rest of the UK seemed to be wrapped up in waterproofs and woollies!

What we enjoyed most at our stay at Portmagee Heights was the friendly service and the luxury accommodation with delicious individually prepared breakfasts at very agreeable rates (only E 40 per person per night). The views were like nowhere on earth and the town was colourful and pretty with services and people to match. We felt privileged to have the area almost to ourselves and there is very little that beats a dramatic sun set into the ocean behind the formidable vista of the Skelligs . Out of season is a must for anyone thinking of visiting the ring of Kerry and Portmagee in particular, no crowds, idyllic views where mountain meets sea, warm hospitality and exquisite sea food, simply perfect!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmAndy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
109
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
japan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

I spent a night here in August travelling with my husband around the south and west of Ireland. This was by far the best place we stayed- I cannot praise the hostess too highly! While other b and b owners were very nasty when we arrived after 6pm, even though we had called on the way, she was lovely, told us she understood (it was really foggy and of course the roads were unfamiliar) , and on our arrival, all smiles- several other places had virtually ripped the money out of our hands as soon as we got out of our car. She showed us round and gave us pamphlets of things to do if the boats were cancelled the next day(they were!), and also recommended a restaurant :the Bridge bar- which was one of the best meals of our stay- with delicious food, friendly staff, reasonable prices, and live music! The breakfast the next morning was delicious- many choices, so we had to try one each- both were delicious and we were so full we could hardly move! The b and b itself is immaculate, the decor was so nice that I wanted to take the furnishings home. And the view from the window! So much nicer than the touristy towns- everyone we talked to in the village was lovely. Really worth the drive to get there. Pick up some savouries/pies/slices at the delicious bakery/cafe there before heading off on a drive. Check out the Portmagee heights home page and you will be able to see for yourself. The highlight was the hostess' smiling face, though! See if you can get her to let you have a peek at the view from the kitchen! It's breath-taking.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiinnagoyajapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I stayed at Portmagee Heights for one night in order to visit the Skelligs. I arrived late in the evening and Monica was kind enough to get me a spot on one of the boats (at the last minute!) for the next morning, despite high demand for the trips. The rooms are large, modern, clean and bright, and, overall, the B&B is very nicely decorated. There is also a lovely view of the water from the backyard. And, breakfast was fabulous! (The crepes with fruit = delicious).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Out of the 10 b&bs we stayed in, it was, by far, my favorite. First of all, the B&B itself is so different from from others in the area. It is sleek and modern, with clean lines and very little frills. Second, the rooms were very comfortable. In fact, I do believe I had the best night's sleep of the entire trip at this place. Third, Monica, the proprietor, is friendly, kind and is an EXCELLENT cook. Get the pancakes with organic fruit. You won't be sorry. And lastly, the little town of Portmagee is very charming. The B&B is located far enough away from the town that it is quiet at night, yet close enough to walk to. The view are simply stunning, and the quick access to Valencia Island and the Skelligs is perfect. I would LOVE to stay here again next time I return to Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macuser82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The b&b has great views although I was stuck in a front room with no views of the bay. The rooms are modern and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was lovely. There was a bit of dirt on the floor of our room though and it seemed like it had not been swept. The tv in the room was nice although it was mounted so high and could not be tilted downwards that the picture was hard to see. The breakfast was wonderful and the

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

While Portmagee is quite off the beaten track this b&b was a great find. Stayed here one evening and the owner is super helpful and friendly. The room was comfy and the breakfast was delicious. Owner provided great ideas on places to explore! Also, has several enviornmentaly friendly features that were quite impressive!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hd1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We had a great stay at Portmagee Heights. This B&B is definitley the most modern we stayed at on our entire trip. Our room had a flat screen tv and the shower was divine with multiple massage jets! The woman who ran the B&B was very nice and extremely hard working (got the kids ready for school all while making our breakfast... very cute). Everthing was spotless and the breakfast was perfect! Definitley get the pancakes. Portmagee Heights was a great place to stay to split up the Ring of Kerry Drive. There is also a great car ferry to take that saves some time off the Ring.

  • Liked — modern decor/ shower/ and great breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
4.8 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
242 reviews
21.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#2 of 9 in Valentia Island
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmagee Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmagee Heights

Property: Portmagee Heights
Address: Portmagee Heights New Road, Portmagee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing