We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calafont Portmagee Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmagee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Calafont Portmagee Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Fulton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My father and I stayed here in a two bed room in September '13. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was modern with good water pressure. Mary was very knowledgeable about the area and breakfast was pretty tasty. We only stayed for one night but my dad talked to Mary for a bit about the area and she recommened we visit Valentia Island if we had time (we were scheduled to visit Skellig Michael the morning we left her). And sadly we didn't get to land at Skelling Michael due to the waves, so we returned to shore earlier than anticipated and because of Mary's suggestion we ended up visiting the truly breathtaking Valentia Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonMarie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    18
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
33
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a great experience at Calafont. The breakfast was good, the room nice, big and clean and the rate (60 euros) reasonable. Mary was always ready suggest things to do in the area. Portmagee is just ten minutes by walking. We enjoyed our stay so much!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The house is very clean and appears newly redone. I found the shower great because of the high water pressure. The owner (Mary) is very courteous and friendly, and extremely knowledgeable of the area, having grown up just down the road. The breakfast was quite good. The best feature by far is the view, which is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShanIn
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed a night here in peak tourist season- on our drive to Portmagee, my husband and I had no specific plans for what we might do the next day. We arrived at the B&B which is a little set back but still within walking distance of town.

Our host was unavailable for a few hours, so we took the scenic drive around the Skellig ring, which made our mind up! We would try to make the trip, with the husband fighting his seasickness and me fighting my fear of heights.

When we returned to the B&B, Mary our host was back. She was very welcoming, and apologised for not being available earlier- she needed some private time to get the place cleaned, and get herself sorted- which we felt was more than fair, particularly given this place was sparkling clean and really comfortable. She made the booking for us with Patrick and Brendan for the Skellig Michael trip, recommended a lovely walk on Valentia island, and the local pub for dinner (which was simple, budget friendly but still delicious).

On our return, we realised the positioning of the B&B away from the town meant it was whisper quiet. That with Mary's lovely cotton sheets, and super comfortable bed meant we slept like babies. On waking up, we had a really generous breakfast before leaving for our trip to the Skelligs.

I would happily return here, and in response to Christa343's earlier not so positive review, am really amazed someone had such a vastly different experience to the one my husband and I had. I would happily return, and if I could give a 6 for value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My friend Louise and I spent four nights with Mary Carton in Calafont. We were received with the warmest welcome from Mary. We stayed in the family room upstairs which was beautifully decorated, spacious and the bedroom had an amazing view of mountains, sea and cliffs. Also a beautiful gentle sound of the birds chorus , nature's orchestra outside my window. The house felt so fresh and new and most important, breakfast was delicious,atmosphere was fun and friendly among clients. Mary kindly organised our trip to Skellig Michael which was the highlight of our trip. Not to mention the craic in The Moorings , set dancing with the locals and music galore. I will definitley return to The Ring of Kerry and will return to Mary in Calafont 'Home from Home' highly recommended by Thelma and Louise

Room Tip: amazing views from all windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therese k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, TX, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I am amazed to see the other positive reviews, as my experience does not resonate with those reviews. Mary seemed kind enough, but was not very social or welcoming. I even felt like she was putting me down when I was explaining my difficulty with the directions. She does not understand computer things well enough to understand how to fix her Wi-Fi and thus most of the time we had no Wi-Fi. Rooms are decorated for girly women, which didn't bother me, but I wouldn't recommend the decor to my guy friends. The area was under attack by biting, flying ants, but the window was left open, leaving me to kill and clean up a bunch of flying ants. Room was not en suite, though I had been led to believe that I would have that. The reason I give this a rating of 2 instead of 1 is that the view was nice and breakfast was good. I will not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Came back for a second trip over to Skeilig Michael. We stayed with Mary and she organised our trip over with Casey. Nearly missed my ceili music this morning but she got the machine working. Mary will have to learn the meaning of the word copious.He breakfasts are just that and more besides.

Really enjoyed our short stay. Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amadeus46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shealane Country House
Shealane Country House
#1 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ferry Boat Guesthouse
The Ferry Boat Guesthouse
#7 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Cove B&B
Beach Cove B&B
#2 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calafont Portmagee Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calafont Portmagee Bed & Breakfast

Property: Calafont Portmagee Bed & Breakfast
Address: Skellig Ring Road | Portmagee, Portmagee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary & Paddy Cartin invite you to stay at their modern and stylish fully equipped home overlooking Valentia Island just off the Ring of Kerry. Dramatic views from all guest rooms are guaranteed. Breakfasts from Mary's famous Full Kerry breakfast to Continental are offered. An ideal base for 3 - 4 day stays. We recommend a trip to The Skelligs Rock - spectacular scenery, birdlife and an incredible 6th century monastic settlement - a trip we can arrange and all who go say they will never forget. Also within a 10 minute walk is Reencaheragh Strand - sheltered and safe for swimming - benefiting from the Gulf Stream the water here is remarkably mild (by our standards!) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing