We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Reen Coast B&B

Reen Coast B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmagee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reen Coast B&B
Ranked #6 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A little out of Portmagee. Very clean and spacious family room ensuite. Kathleen is a most charming hostess who makes a nice breakfast. Tranquil setting, lovely views and a small beach within easy walking distance. The only 'noise' you may hear are sheep calling to each other and occasionally a dog barking. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christiane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We traveled around the ring of Kerry and stayed here. It is amazing. The room size was super and it was clean. Great view from window. Host (Kathleen) was very friendly and suggested various evening walks we could do. Great Irish Breakfast served. Overall an amazing experience at this b&b. She even came to pick us up :) Thank you Kathleen for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshiPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Reen Coast. We were met by Kathleen's husband and relaxed in the spacious and impeccably clean room while we waited for her to meet us. When she arrived a few minutes later she prepared a lovely tea with mini apple pies and gave us advice on dinner options. We followed her advice for the Bridge Bar and had wonderful seafood chowder. The room was very quiet, clean and comfortable with a wifi access point. It's a good value and good location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinainfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Reen Coast and host Kathleen made us feel really welcome. We were greated with tea and delicious cake and Kathleen made several phonecalls for us to assure we would have a comfortable and safe journey to the Skellig Islands. She made us sandwiches for our picnic, gave tips for excursions, informed how our day had been - we felt welcome and right at home.
Clean, comfortable room - full breakfast with big portions, also fresh fruit.
Excellent value for 28 euro per person.
Quiet location in countryside near small beach, 3 min. driving from Portmagee with pubs and food.
We would go back right away an recommend Reen Coast as an excellent base for Skellig expercience and Skellig Ring + Valentia Island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

My family (husband and two adult daughters) wanted to visit Skellig Michael, and tried to book with Calafont B&B. She was booked,so referred us to her neighbor, Kathleen O'Driscoll, who owns the Reen Coast B&B. We couldn't have been happier! Kathleen is hospitable, the rooms are comfortable, and we had a wonderful, hot full Irish breakfast. The B&B is in the countryside near Portmagee, about 2 km. from the town center. Kathleen has three rooms; our daughters had a bath en suite, while our bath was across the hall (not a problem at all!). Kathleen offered us tea on the evening of our arrival before she went off to football practice for a charity game.

We drove into Portmagee for dinner. I think that you could probably walk in about 20 minutes or so, but the roads are narrow (as is usual in Ireland) so you'd have to watch traffic (which was minimal when we were there).

Kathleen has two friendly beagles (outdoors) and is close to a sheep farm.

Kathleen also booked our Skellig Michael trip for us with Casey Boats (highly recommended). When my daughter left her book at the B&B, Kathleen was kind enough to take the book down to the pier and have it delivered to us as we left Skellig Michael.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EconProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthiasWendelspiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portmagee hotels
1 mi away
Waterfront B&B
Waterfront B&B
#3 of 8 in Portmagee
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Portmagee Seaside Cottages
Portmagee Seaside Cottages
#2 of 2 in Portmagee
17 reviews
0 mi away
The Ferry Boat Guesthouse
The Ferry Boat Guesthouse
#5 of 8 in Portmagee
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reen Coast B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reen Coast B&B

Address: Reencaheragh, Portmagee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing