We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for Skellig trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
baytownbear
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Skellig trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We only spent one night here, arriving late and leaving early. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and neat. The sunset view through the picture window in the sitting room is spectacular. The price was very fair. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank baytownbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Waterfront before a trip to the Skelligs in June of 2014. There's not a whole lot to say other than that we enjoyed a very comfortable room with all of the modern amenities as well as a great breakfast and very nice hosts. The view from our room was beautiful and we were a short 3-minute walk from Portmagee harbor where we got our boat to the Skelligs. Tina, our hostess, told us to just leave our car at the B&B during the day so that we wouldn't have to worry about it while we were away, which was exactly what we wanted to hear. The Waterfront is a top-notch, well-run establishment and should we find ourselves in Portmagee again, we'll know where to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lugh_Lamfhada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here on 17th - 20th June. After arrival we could choose between the twin room on the first floor, which we had actually reserved, and the triple on the ground floor. Because the 1st floor is directly below the roof and the weather was warm and sunny (fortunately!), we took the triple. The room faced the backyard with parking facility. Two of the doubles live up to the name of the B&B and are real “waterfront” rooms with a view across Portmagee Channel to Valentia Island.
Our room was of good size and clean. The nice and clean bathroom had a towel drier, not a very common device in the B&B’s we stayed in, but probably very useful in more average Irish weather than we experienced. Sometimes sounds from other rooms penetrated into ours, but not to an extent that it bothered us. Beds were comfortable.
The B&B is located at the eastern end of the village, close to the bridge to Valentia Island with the Skelligs Experience Centre almost at its other end. There is a small grocery shop in town and some eating facilities, both less than a 10 minutes’ walk away. We have been to The Moorings, which serves good bar food.
Tina was a welcoming and most helpful hostess. She gave us useful information on places of interest in the surroundings. Her breakfast was very good. We could choose from an extensive menu for the hot part. The brown bread was great. It’s possible for guests to make tea and/or coffee. We paid an average rate, so our conclusion was that The Waterfront gives excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SvdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My room was so clean and fresh, it was like everything was brand new! Tina was so welcoming which was lovely after 3 very long days of driving. And the morning breakfast was delicious. It is worth the drive to stay at this bed and breakfast and Tina will even help you make reservations to visit Skellig Islands!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This place was such a great find. The owner was so friendly, and happy to make our arrangements to go out to Skellig Michael. Our room was nice and large and clean and comfortable. All we could ask for. Breakfast puts The Waterfront over the top though as it was delicious and plenty of it. We had a lovely time in Portmagee, and part of that is due to the wonderful accomodations. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenMMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stopped in Portmagee on our way around the Ring of Kerry. The Waterfront was lovely. Tina and her daughter were very accommodating. Other B&B's had strict timelines for breakfast, but Tina was so flexible! Breakfast was delicious, as was the french press coffee, yum! While we were having breakfast, a couple was trying to take turns occupying their child and eating. Tina came out and offered to entertain the toddler while the two parents ate. She did just that and the couple got a few minutes to themselves. Great people, great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was a lovely place that is very close to Skellig Michael. The hostest, Tina Murphy, even made arrangements for us to take a boat trip to the Skelligs. This was one of the best parts of our trip to Ireland.
Breakfast was great and there were plenty of nice touches to make the place seem special. Tina recommended a restaurant for us for our evening meals.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemarykurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
0.0 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#3 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: Portmagee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterfront Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing