We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Moorings Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Spent two nights in Moorings guesthouse. The shanty festival was on so it was a busy weekend for the guesthouse but we found the service was great, really friendly staff. The rooms were lovely, the food was delicious, great breakfast and the portions for main meals were large. Overall, we felt the guesthouse went that small step further to ensure we had a comfortable stay. Portmagee itself is a picturesque fishing village, well worth a stop on the Ring of Kerry. We explored Valentia Island, Cahersiveen and Waterville while there. We would definitely recommend Moorings and Portmagee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflydi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    83
    29
    4
    0
See reviews for
68
165
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A total home-away-from-home - friendly helpful staff, spotless comfy rooms, scrumptious breakfasts to start your day (plus great lunch/supper menus at the guest house's restaurant or at the adjoining pub). Location could not be better! It is across the street from the pier to board tours boats to the renowned Skellig Michael, and handy to this fishing villages's amenities - such as the grocery store, bakery and post office. A short distance to view spectacular cliffs. The Mooring's staff go above and beyond to make one's stay a special experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markgroeningen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Portmagee is a lovely place to stay. We had a seaview-room (Nr 2) which was pacious and confortable. The jacuzzi bath was great to relax after a long drive.
The room had a nice view on the harbour of Portmagee and on the Valentia Bridge.
The breakfast had good quality (the croissants were delicious) but nothing above the average. We were the only guests not belonging to groups and the waiters were quite overstarined with the service.
Yes, the place has great location, the room was nice and spacious but 140€ is overpriced therefore the 3* rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ompile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of a honeymoon around the west of Ireland and particularly because we wanted to see Valentia and the Skelligs. The hotel has a wonderful view of Valentia Bridge and the busy little harbour of Portmagee which has great coming-and-goings of small fishing boats. We booked a sea-view room (Room 2) which was spacious, comfortable and very modern. The hotel had booked our trip to the Skelligs in advance and also prepared packed lunches for us to take with us on the trip (this is a must). We sat out on the harbour for the evening in the Moorings' seating area and watched the sunset over a pint before going for dinner in the restaurant. The food was spectacular (plenty of fresh fish) and the owners came to greet us with a bottle of Prosecco when they learned that we were there on honeymoon. All in all we had a wonderful experience at The Moorings and we would recommend it to anyone who is visiting this beautiful part of Kerry.

Room Tip: Room 2 was like a suite in a 4-5 star hotel, recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zodalmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have stayed at The Moorings every year for the past five years and would not dream of missing this annual treat. Portmagee is one of the most attractive Irish fishing villages and the love and care lavished on it by its residents is clearly apparent - beautiful flowers, clean, litter-free sea front and wonderful people. The Moorings is by far the finest place to stay where guests want for nothing - superb food whether you eat in the Restaurant or the Bar, splendid rooms, particularly those with sea views, great Irish Music Nights in the Bar and an outstanding staff.
A visit is highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GortonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was my second stay at The Moorings. I had a beautiful sea view room that was clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good and the staff were all excellent. I would like to give a special thank you to Ailish and Colleen. They both went above and beyond in their customer service. I highly recommend The Moorings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keyscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at The Moorings hotel when I was on a guided tour through Ireland. The room was clean and spacious, although it was near the garbage in the back, so it was completely fresh smelling. The hotel also arranged for us to have a packed lunch on our trip to the Skelling Islands for 8 EUR. Overall, the experience that I had was really good and would definitely recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Just ask for one not near the trash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
4.3 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
245 reviews
21.5 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,084 reviews
9.1 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
253 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Guesthouse

Property: The Moorings Guesthouse
Address: Main Street, Portmagee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the picturesque seafront of Portmagee, the Moorings Guesthouse overlooks the village's busy working harbour. Just a 30 second walk from the pier, where boats leave for the Skelligs every morning, and right at the heart of village life, there's simply nowhere more convenient to base yourself when you stay in Portmagee. Offering 16 rooms in total, the owners have created a calm and surprisingly luxurious ambience through the use of traditional yet contemporary furnishings with crisp, clean lines of soft ivory against vibrant reds. The Moorings strive to deliver personal, attentive service while matching the very best standards in efficiency and attention to detail that you've encountered elsewhere. Room facilities include direct-dial telephone, satellite TV, tea- and coffee-making facilities, iron and ironing board, ensuite marble bathroom with power shower, bath, hairdryer and Gilchrest & Soames toiletries. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the guesthouse and there is free car parking for guests. There's nothing more endearing than knowing that some of the Hollywood's biggest movie stars like Mark Hamill and Director J.J Abrams have visited the sleepy village of Portmagee, and even sat in the Bridge Bar local pub where Mark Hamill poured a pint of Guinness behind the bar. The Moorings was home to the pre-production team of the Star Wars VII movie and you can visit the room where all the magic took place and listen to the stories told by the staff. The Moorings is open all year round. Great food served all day with traditional music at weekends. Trips to Skellig Michael can be arranged and packages are available from April to September. Cois Cuain gift shop is open from March to January. The Moorings is located in a fishing village with a working harbour, post office, general store, coffee shop, bar, restaurant overlooking Valentia Island. The Moorings received a platinum award for green hospitality in 2013. They have introduced a 'Green' package which offers two nights B&B in The Moorings Guesthouse, a guide to a wildlife shore search and a special '30 mile' menu where all main ingredients are sourced within a 30 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Moorings Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Guesthouse Hotel Portmagee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing