We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in front of Valencia Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was two times in this hostel. And I met the real Irish mood, the craic, on the sea, in front of valencia island. A small town but a beautiful place. Fishermen are in the pub in the evening and you can meet good people, local people!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diegoaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

For family room during Easter we paid 50 euro what is a bargain. Room was big enough for 4 adults and one 3 years old. Other places were at least for double price or more. Hostel itself is quite new and clean. Kitchen well facilitated. Highly recommended

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Patryk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Based on the good reviews on the internet, I'd had expected a nicer place to stay. The hostel recently added "luxury basic accommodation" to its name. PLEASE REMOVE LUXURY. I travelled with my three children on a small budget and had booked a family room for two nights. Let's just call it what it was: a small basically "IKEA" furnished room with a double bed and one bunkbed both with uncomfortable mattresses where you could feel the springs. Next to the beds was a nightstand and one open closet. That's it. We shared a bathroom, which was clean but horribly cold without proper shower facilities. The shared kitchen was however good. The shared living-room was again very basically furnished with some coaches, tables and a small television, which didn't function. The internet was only available in the living-room and was extremely slow. Although the young woman welcoming us was very service minded, this place was not worth the money.

Room Tip: Room 2, a double room, looked nice and had its own bathroom with a fairly OK working shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The best hostel I have been!
We had a double room with private bathroom that was very clean.
the kitchen as well was clean and well organize,
The village is lovely and the hostel just 3 minutes walking from the arbour.
The staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in the twin room with a shared bathroom. Overall the room was spacious, clean with a comfortable bed. The hostel was also equipped with a basic kitchen (with a microwave, stoves, toaster etc) and free parking. Was also pleased with the service received wherein they were kind enough to answer all my queries promptly prior to my arrival.

On the down side, the room walls are very thin and they do not have a mirror in the room. It was no problem for us though as guest were generally quiet and we had a peaceful night. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

N/B: Do bring your own towels and toiletries as the hostels does not provide for the same.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emelyn_alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is a large hostel located a 5 min walk from Portmagee. The rooms are modern good sized and very clean. The Kitchen is large, well equiped and clean, and even has tea, coffee, sugar,etc for guests. There are heaters in the rooms and plenty of hot water for showers. The girl who runs the hostel is friendly and helpful. This is a good hostel to base yourself if visiting the Skelligs, Portmagee and Valentia island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupertddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Spent two nights at Portmagee Hostel in a en-suite room. Very clean, decent sized room with comfortable bed. The place is within a short walk from the pier, so if you planned a boat trip to the Skelligs or scuba-diving, then it's an affordable choice. The staff is friendly and helpful. A kitchen and dinning area are also available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Horatiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
5.5 mi away
Skellig Hostel
Skellig Hostel
#1 of 3 in Ballinskelligs
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront B&B
Waterfront B&B
#3 of 8 in Portmagee
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Portmagee Seaside Cottages
Portmagee Seaside Cottages
#2 of 2 in Portmagee
18 reviews
0 mi away
The Ferry Boat Guesthouse
The Ferry Boat Guesthouse
#5 of 8 in Portmagee
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skellig Ring House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skellig Ring House Hostel

Address: Skellig Ring Road, Portmagee, Ireland (Formerly Portmagee Hostel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portmagee
Price Range: £38 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Portmagee Hostel, located in the fishing village of Portmagee, the gateway to Valentia Island. With warm, spacious, fresh and bright bedrooms and facilities, you will be more than happy by the private and public areas available. Individuals, groups, families, clubs, students, backpackers, in fact we welcome everybody. With a combination of rooms to choose from (Bed Linen is supplied), we also have 2 Self Catering Kitchens with all modern utensils and facilities; 2 Dining Rooms; and a Lounge with TV, DVD & Stereo. Located on the Skellig Ring, "A Secret Ring off the Ring of Kerry", Portmagee Hostel is the ideal place to stay when exploring Valentia and Skellig Islands, and this most beautiful area of Ireland's rugged south west coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Skellig Ring House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing