We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Hostel is a 5 min. footwalk to the sea and restaurants. The room was clean and big enough. It's a good place to stay for the night and also a good option if you have planned a trip to the Skellings.
We had an one bathroom and there would also be a kitchen. Unfortunately there's no breakfast available.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here last weekend with a group of people and could not fault it. The entire place was immaculate and the value for money was incredible. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and there was no outside noises from other travelers keeping us awake. The facilities were great with at least 3 of each appliance to accommodate as many people as possible. Situated on a slight hill, the hostel is about a 3 minute walk from the small village of Portmagee. I would recommend that anyone using this accommodation to bring their own food as the restaurants are very over priced and with only one small shop in the village, they can charge what they like for the bare essentials. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Aisling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I'm used to staying in 4 or 5 star hotels when I plan weekends away so I was a little apprehensive staying in a hostel. I really shouldn't have been. I was arriving outside of the advertised check-in times but after a quick call, a very friendly young girl met me at the hostel with keys and to show me around. The rooms themselves were basic but very clean and had all the essentials (bed and lovely hot shower). There was a large kitchen with multiple sinks, ovens and fridges which was very handy. A dining room, again with ample tables and chairs (one even had a massage function) and 3 sitting rooms (with a TV in one and maybe the others, I didn't look). There was free wifi available in the main building, not in the bedrooms and the connection speed was excellent, given the remote location. For the money, it represented incredible value for money and has made me rethink staying in snobby hotels in future.

The hostel itself is only a few minutes walk to Portmagee (up a very slight incline on the return)

My only negative (and something other's in my party remarked on) was that the bed linen felt a little damp.

If I return to Portmagee (and it's likely I will), I would have no hesitation about staying in Portmagee Hostel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fletch555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights, easy walk into town, room large enough, very clean, functional furniture, bathroom with shower, great large kitchen and other guests friendly with many languages present. Many fridges, 2 burner units. Wifi in comfy lounge with on tv. Great especially for the price.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Spotlessly clean.
Perfectly comfortable.
Super staff.
Great kitchen, other guests doing a fine job of cleaning up after themselves.
Seeing couples and families, and a range of ages and nationalities.
Well situated for a short walk into a delightful town, and for boats to Skellig Michael.
Highly recommend on any budget.
(Bring your own towels and toiletries!)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Twomaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very clean and well organized. There's nothing to do in Portmagee except get drunk in the main pub and hope that the day after you can do a boat trip to the close Unesco site of Skellig Island. A bit expensive considering the location, this hostel is located 5 minutes walking from the harbour and from the village's pub. Congratulations to the staff, very friendly and always ready to help you.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Daltaniux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Portmagee Hostel is the most pleasant place to rest your bones after walks in Bray head Valentia Island walk or Drive to the Skellig Chocolate Factory and Chocolate tasting :photo shots in the area is out of this world

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portmagee hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront B&B
Waterfront B&B
#3 of 8 in Portmagee
76 reviews
1.7 mi away
Portmagee Seaside Cottages
Portmagee Seaside Cottages
#2 of 2 in Portmagee
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Ferry Boat Guesthouse
The Ferry Boat Guesthouse
#5 of 8 in Portmagee
22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Skellig Ring House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skellig Ring House Hostel

Address: Skellig Ring Road, Portmagee, Ireland (Formerly Portmagee Hostel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portmagee
Price Range: £37 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Portmagee Hostel, located in the fishing village of Portmagee, the gateway to Valentia Island. With warm, spacious, fresh and bright bedrooms and facilities, you will be more than happy by the private and public areas available. Individuals, groups, families, clubs, students, backpackers, in fact we welcome everybody. With a combination of rooms to choose from (Bed Linen is supplied), we also have 2 Self Catering Kitchens with all modern utensils and facilities; 2 Dining Rooms; and a Lounge with TV, DVD & Stereo. Located on the Skellig Ring, "A Secret Ring off the Ring of Kerry", Portmagee Hostel is the ideal place to stay when exploring Valentia and Skellig Islands, and this most beautiful area of Ireland's rugged south west coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Skellig Ring House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing