We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Lauro Hotel

Lauro Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lauro Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Gravedona B&B and Inns
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The location of the hotel just set back from the lake was great...very peaceful location. Parking on site. Staff were very welcoming and their English was fairly good. They gave us a map on arrival of places to see. The room was very nicely decorated, comfortable bed, quiet air conditioning and a good shower. The hotel had a restaurant on site which served great pizza and good local wine. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ema B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is in a nice quiet location but only 10 minutes walk from the beach. Breakfast was good and the service was very friendly. Our room however was poor. I agree with the comments about the air conditioning - not very effective. The carpet was dirty, very little space to hang/put clothes and a very small bathroom - although this was clean. We would not stay here again and stayed in other places on the other lakes which were far more superior and for the same price.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony looked much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It's a lovely little hotel, tucked away from the waterfront and main road so very quiet. Yet the location is ideal for the village, shops, restaurants, ferry terminal and the promenade by the lake

Our room was at the side and quiet - even on dance night. I think that the balcony rooms at the front would have had a great view over the lake.

We were staying B&B so can't comment on the restaurant - but breakfast was fine.

Our room was fine. Comfy beds. Big enough for a week's stay, nice bathroom, towels, bed linen etc. TV had no international channels. The A/C was fine during the day time and fine when we went to bed. Somehow the fan kept going but we think that the cooling either switched off or was at reduced effectiveness in the middle of the night.

Very helpful with laundry - the hotel took our stuff to the Lavanderia in the next village and it came back next day washed and ironed at very reasonable prices

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

It's actually not a bad hotel. It's clean and modern with good facilities... but... the air conditioning unit was rubbish... we sweltered through a muggy night. Add to that a dodgy picture of Mussolini behind the reception with the slogan 'Italy for the Italians' and .. well.. not a pleasant experience

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank swiggle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gravedona hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

The hotel Lauro is positioned in a private road between the main road and the lakeside, with it being closer to the lake. It has belonged to the same family for years but has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. The rooms are set on the first and second floors and are accessed via an outside staircase, thus alleviating the need to go through reception, which is useful as there is no reception! The ground floor includes a bar and reataurant where breakfast is served buffet style. Plenty of coffee available! There is an outside restaurant which serves super meals and has a great atmosphere in the evenings, with locals calling in to say hello. On leaving the hotels, you walk across the car park, turn left and under an arch and before long you are at the lakeside with all its bars, cafes and shops. The boats come into the resort at this point, so its not a long walk from there to the hotel. Its also very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gravedona hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#1 of 7 in Gravedona
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Villa
Hotel La Villa
#3 of 7 in Gravedona
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tullio Hotel
Tullio Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gravedona
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crotto Regina
Crotto Regina
#5 of 7 in Gravedona
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Al Castello
B&B Al Castello
#2 of 12 in Gravedona
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B La Ca' de la Fra'
B&B La Ca' de la Fra'
#4 of 12 in Gravedona
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauro Hotel

Property: Lauro Hotel
Address: Via Privata Tagliaferri 12, 22015, Gravedona, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Gravedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gravedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lauro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauro Hotel Lake Como/Gravedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing