We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home in a peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Top Floor: Lake View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Top Floor: Lake View
Top Floor Terrace View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Top Floor: Lake View
Top Floor Terrace View
Lake view from the house
First Floor Living Room
First Floor Dining Table
First Floor Living Room
First Floor Living Room
First Floor: Main Kitchen
Second Floor Bedroom - Lake View
Second Floor Bedroom - Lake View
Second Floor: Bedroom 2
Top Floor Terrace
Top Floor
Top Floor Terrace
La Casa Sul Lario
Ground Floor: Pool Room
Ground Floor: Home Soccer & Entertainment
Rear Entrance & Outdoor Patio
Beautiful Gravedona
Public Beach: 700mt away
Top Floor King Bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Gravedona, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Departure...
Bondi, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived after a long trip from Australia to La Casa Sul Lario and were instantly blown away.

First of all the view from the house is breathtaking. It is even better than the pictures online.

The house is bigger than I expected, sprawling over 4 levels. The rooms are spacious and beautifully renovated. All bathrooms are new and the kitchen is excellent with well appointed utilities and stocked with new and clean utensils, crockery and cutlery.

There as a huge laundry with new washing machine, dryer, drying racks and iron set up. On the ground floor are 2 good sized games rooms, where the children spent a lot of time. We explored the town using the bicycles provided.

Everything is in perfect working order and every level of the house was spotless.

The hosts kind mother gave us a tour of the house and then took us for a ride through the town showing us places for coffee, tourist information, gelato, the local butcher, patisserie, supermarket, parking spaces, etc.

The area is very quiet and consists mainly of locals and the odd hiker from the alps above. We chose this quiet area and used our hire car to visit hectic touristy towns and locations. It was a relief every evening to return to the peaceful and pristine La Casa Sul Lario, sit in the living room and gaze out at the view with a glass of wine.

Thank you to our hosts, we look forward to staying at the house again in the future.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIrabella...
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will stay again at La Casa Sul Lario in a heartbeat! We will forever be grateful for your generous hospitality!”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

First of all, the fact that we’re already planning on returning to Casa Sul Lario is a testament to the fact that we LOVED this house and its wonderful Owners! Communication with Rudy was easy peasy… Rudy’s sister Fosca, was great to work with and so was Rudy’s sweet mom, Loretta!

We will forever be grateful to Rudy and his family for the most amazing week spent at their lovely home in Gravedona. The house exceeded our expectations! The pictures really do not do justice since the house is incredible in every aspect. First of all, we would like to thank the other reviewers who helped us make an easy decision to book this wonderful home. Casa Sul Lario was ideal as our base for exploring the region. The property is strategically located in an enchanting and friendly neighborhood. The ferry is a few yards away and we loved the supermarket that is practically 3 doors down from the house. Gravedona has a beautiful waterfront promenade with many shops, attractive restaurants, bars and cafes. Take advantage of the 3 bikes provided by the Owners and cycle through the bike path which is pretty flat with miles of breathtaking lake views.

We loved how this property was meticulously restored to perfection... Case Sul Lario is a blend of the past mixed in with modern conveniences. Loved the marriage of antiques and modern furniture. There was so much room to spread out for the 5 of us. Every room had an amazing lake view. The Wifi worked great in the living room. We loved the modern kitchen which was so easy to clean. You'll be pleasantly surprised on the generosity of the Owners. They provide you with a lot more than you'd expect from a rental house (china, stemware, flatware, utensils, bikes, washer/dryer, books, etc.). Please thank the Owners by taking good care of this special property! We enjoyed coming back to this house after a day of exploring the Lake Como region. Equally as important, we felt safe and secure at Casa Sul Lario.

Also, I'd recommend having dinner at Osteria Monti (in Domaso). Great food and service! If you love good gelato, La Carpinna (a few doors down) is highly addictive...

Truly a wonderful stay at Casa Sul Lario! We look forward to coming back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven on earth - La Casa Sul Lario in Italy”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Do you notice something in common with all of the previous reviews? All rate La Casa Sul Lario a 5 and all say wonderful things - and ALL are TRUE! I have been to northern Italy 22 times and our family has stayed on Lago Maggiore for a month on 3 occasions - and nothing has surprised our experience in this lovely and classy townhouse that is a perfect mix of the old and new. Rudy, Fosca and their dear mother ensured everything was perfect before and during the trip - delightful people. We are already planning our return visit for 2018. Please enjoy, but do not interfere with our bookings ;)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in a great location”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Gravedona is a quiet haven in the north away from the overcrowded 'tourist hotspots' of Lake Como. The town, particularly the lakeshore where the house is situated is beautiful, the lake divine and the mountain backdrop simply stunning. We ate out a couple of nights and tried the various bars and gelato places - all good. Great supermarket 50 yards away, friendly bar next door.

The house had everything seven travelling friends could wish for. Tastefully remodelled, blending old features with new technology it's redevelopment is an amazing achievement by its owners and clearly a labour of love.

We had very good communication with Rudy and sister Fosca, very welcoming and helpful. We travelled both sides of the lake easily by car, bus, boat and train and returned each evening to our quiet spot by the lake for the highlight...... 'aperitivo' on the roof terrace followed by the 'Tour Pool Tournament'. Yes, there is a pool table and table football....

The rooms are elegant with stunning views as the house is on the lakefront. A big plus is that it has secure off road parking. We did not get around to using the provided bycycles...maybe next time......

A nice trip was up into the mountains to Livo, testing drive but fun. Chanced upon the local brass band playing in the square...wonderful...

Highly recommended, thanks again to Rudy and Fosca who were the most helpful hosts I have come across in many rentals in US, UK and Europe.

A stunning house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trip60141...
1 review
“Fabulous accommodation with stunning views of lake and mountains”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This holiday home is perfect in every respect. It is large, beautifully furnished, has everything you need (and more!) and the views are breathtaking, in particular from the roof terraces in the top room Our family (2 adults & 4 children) loved staying here. It is situated right next to the lake in picturesque Gravedona. You can swim in the lake, walk along the shore or head up into the mountains, cycle, canoe, sail and catch boats to other towns along the lake. There is a handy supermarket and tourist information office nearby, together with lovely little cafes and ice cream parlours. Gravedona has a wonderful relaxed feel to the place. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: roof terrace
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Journeyma...
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect family getaway”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked the villa for 8 days travelling from South Africa as 4 adults and 2 young children aged 4 & 2.

It's always nerve racking booking a house from so far away when you dont know the area but we scored it very lucky! the house was absolutely incredible and everything we were looking for. The owners were there to meet us on site, the house was clean, had lockup garages for our car, and the location right on the promenade in the front row was exactly what we were looking

The pro's
Firstly the location
- great picturesque town called Gravedona, which was not overrun by tourists, smaller and beautiful. It felt very safe, and we really loved the town.
- about a 1.5hr car ride from Milan airport, but very easy and we found the house easy enough.
It's easy to travel by car or boat to any of the more touristy towns like Menagio, Bellagio or Leno.
- Grocery store 100m away, fresh butcher, fresh produce 300m away, about 10 restaurants within 500m, including some incredible gellatarias! Ice Creams every night on the prom with our kids was hard to top for them and us!
- we went into St mortiz for the day through the swiss border and it was about 1.5hr drive - very easy from where we were staying.

The house itself is great
- bikes provided so you can cycle to the various towns on the water. Our daily ride at 10pm along the water was something i'll remember for a long time
- every room pretty much has great lake views, well furnished - ample cupboard space and good bathrooms. 4 very wellsized bedrooms, that 6 of us slotted into well.
- great kitchen for cooking, and the central living area is very decent and easy to clean and maintain.
- 2 entertainment rooms downstairs - pool and foosball table, but we never used them as was much more fun being out on the lake.

The lake - the town and villa face east and north to the alps, that view never gets old. We rented boats every 2nd day from the village to the north (5 minute drive), and there is parking - no license was required and they provided the life jackets etc - we just drove to marina's parked the boat and had crepes in whatever town we fancied... it really was superb. Could also stop the boat in any of the reserves and swim to ones content !

There really is not a lot of -ve to speak of in this home. We will certainly be returning. Thanks to Rudi and Fosca for an incredible home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddie2U
N. Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here with family & friends. The house is simply wonderful, a lovely blend of original and modern, tastefully furnished, beautifully equipped with stunning views....frankly you couldn't ask for more. Combine this with the lovely authentic feel to the town of Gravedona and the excellent local support provided by the owners and you have the perfect holiday property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing