We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, pretty average hotel”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Driving along Lake Como to arrive at Gravedona is a wonderful experience with breathtaking views most of the way.
Our hotel receptionist was a lovely young girl who attentively showed us to our room on the 4th floor which had magnificent views too from the verandah. However, the room was on the small size and no tea / coffee facilities were to be seen.

When we asked if we could have. A kettle or jug, were told they didn't have any which was disappointing as we had brought tea and coffee with us.

The outside relaxation area of the hotel is well set up with lots of sun lounges, some tables and chairs and a nice pool which looked inviting.

The hotel is a little way out of the village so you really need a car here to get to a restaurant in town.

Breakfast was provided and was adequate, but the cappuccino was a delight.

Room Tip: It looks like all rooms have a verandah. Certainly our 4th floor had spectacular views. Verandas a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KerryCleary_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

My wife and I spent 2 weeks here recently and the hotel is decent - great views, friendly staff and in a nice quiet town on Lake Como. As we stayed over a weekend, we were fairly dependent on the ferry to take us to busier areas - and unfortunately, Gravedona is only serviced once or twice a day. To get to Bellagio alone takes 1.5 hours, and over 3 to Coma via ferry, and we only had the choice of 1 or 2 ferries. Worth noting as if you are pressed for time, probably better to stay in a larger town.

In terms of the hotel itself, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very large, spacious and clean. Unfortunately the beds and pillows are the hardest I have ever encountered, and felt like sleeping on a wooden board. The sewerage is also quite loud, and we could hear each time the rooms above us flushed the toilet.

Poor beds and quiet location aside, this is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetourist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

First off, i'd note that the Regina isn't really a hotel, it's a B&B. There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner, and the bar isn't staffed (of which more later). We chose this hotel because of it's location, the fact it had a swimming pool and the excellent reviews on this site.

So, to start with the positives. The location is excellent. The views from the lake rooms are amazing and the pool and garden is lovely. There are lovely sunbeds and the swimming pool is very nicely kept. It's only a 5/10 minute walk into Gravedona which has a 4 or 5 restaurants, a couple of gelateria's and 1 fairly lively bar with live music. I agree with the other reviews in that our room and bathroom were absolutely spotless and our room was spacious with a little balcony. There is also plenty of parking at the hotel.

Unfortunately on to the negatives.
- The pool was freezing. I mean painfully cold. Which meant I plunged in once to prove a point but we couldn't take the baby in, or really enjoy it which was very disappointing as it was one of the main reasons I chose the hotel.
- The little beach is really rocky. You definitely need shoes to get in.
- The breakfast is terrible. I found this particularly annoying as it's been mentioned in plenty of other reviews so they clearly haven't taken the trouble to improve. The was some raw looking stone cold bacon, similiarly cold solid scrambled egg, cold boiled eggs that were so over-cooked they were like rubber. There were some ok cold cuts but very poor selection of cheese. A toaster that would take about 10 minutes to toast the horrible bread. After I complained the next day they at least bothered to light the heater under the bacon but that was it.
- The breakfast staff were unhelpful and pretty miserable (with the exception of one smiley young girl who was unfortunately only there for a couple of mornings). Questions tended to be met with a flat no. Having read other reviews on this site about the amazing service I have to say I found it pretty substandard.
- They didn't even have a highchair for the baby in the restaurant. To be fair, once I asked them to get one it turned up the next day but really, you can buy them in Ikea for 20euros so there's no excuse.
- There was no-one to staff the bar which meant that every time you wanted a drink you had to go up to reception and ask them to come down when they were free. Which wasn't the end of the world. However, after the first night they ran out of gin (we had 2 each). So then we had 2 vodka tonics the next night and they ran out of vodka. We were told they didn't stock whisky. So basically we could drink tequila or campari. How hard is it to make sure you've got a couple of bottles of the staples behind the bar. We finally just went and bought ourselves a bottle of whisky and ordered the cokes.
- Small point but there are tables and chairs on the balconies but no light so if you want to sit out at night you have to sit in the pitch dark.

All in we enjoyed our stay at the Regina and found the hotel largely adequate, but with some annoying faults that could be easily rectified. It's a pleasant enough hotel but unfortunately I just didn't think it lived up to the very positive reviews I read on this site (or the price).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place after checking out a number disappointing hotels on the west coast of Lake Como. From the road you don't see the spectacular position this hotel has. Right on the lake with small stoney beach and beautiful views across the small bay to the village centre. The pool with its feet in the lake was clean. We had a deluxe room with a very large balcony and superb views. The balcony could have been done with better screening from the neighboring balcony and room had no aircon. Other from that it was very nice. Staff was super friendly and the breakfast buffet was good. The receptionist recommended an excellent restaurant called Kay de mat or something similar. Food was excellent an the atmosphere on the terrace trully Italian and romantic. We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pietparis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Spent a fantastic long weekend here as a base for visiting the area, I always like to hire a car when abroad so this hotel offered great parking and a very reasonable tarriff so decided to book.

What a find ! a very high standard and comfortable quality hotel, The rooms are very very clean and comfortable and almost all of them face out onto spectatular views of the length of the lake. The pool area is very clean and tidy and the sun loungers very comfy too, breakfast (good selection) is served looking out over the lake but you may need to get up early to bag a table outside. The staff are very freiendly and you can tell this is a family owned establishment.

Gravedona has everything you will need, its a 5min walk down the road but you must check out the icecream parlour on the seafront, near by you can pick up a ticket for the waterbus that will take you all the way down the lake (fast boat less than an hour, slow boat a little longer) .

Fab trip, We will return im very very sure. well done Hotel Regina

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank konakid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Excellent Hotel but needs air con! We had a 2 night stay at this hotel and loved it. I believe it is family run, and the staff were very helpful and service good. Room was spotlessly clean as was the whole hotel, gardens, pool area etc. Possibly the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in.
We were on the 3rd Floor with absolutely stunning views down Lake Como. The room was fairly compact as was the bathroom but the views from the balcony more than compensated. There was a small fridge which was useful. The pool was lovely with decent sun loungers. It was chilly but refreshing! The breakfast was ok. The Free Wi Fi we liked. The main negatives was the room was very warm at night and if you left a window open (as we did one night) we were infested with flying insects. (although the cleaner came straight away and sorted them out!) Air con really would make this a 4 star hotel.
the other slight negative was the lack of a restaurant. I'm surprised at this as the hotel has a superb dining room with panoramic views. It would have been nice to perhaps have the odd meal here. However there are a few restaurants within a 10 minute walk. I would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice stay in this well run hotel. Everything is as it should be with courteous staff,clean well maintained rooms and an excellent location with fantastic views and good facilities throughout the hotel.there is no restaurant as such ,but a gentle 5 min walk gives you many options and the opportunity to enjoy the scenery by the lake.
When we arrived we were given the option of 2 different rooms and upon being shown the first one we said that it would do as we were happy with it,and the young man that was showing us the room suggested that we should view the other option which turned out to be the better option for us.We found this young mans professionalism very refreshing as most establishments would take the easy way out and just get you in to take your money.As we enjoyed our stay and looked around this hotel it became obvious that they have VERRY HIGH standards and take pride in providing an enjoyable experience for their guests.
BRAVO from two well travelled Australians who will be recommending this fine Hotel to our many friends as it represents excellent value in clean comfortable surroundings.
The owners and staff are to be commended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrsalona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravedona
12.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
835 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
20.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
12 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
15 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: Via Regina Levante 18, 22015, Gravedona, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Gravedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravedona
Price Range: £90 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far away from the hustle and bustle and from daily worries, Hotel Regina is the perfect location for a relaxing holiday in an exclusive though cozy and homely environment, where our priority is your complete satisfaction. Ideally located on the lake side and immersed in the peace and beauty of an incomparable landscape, the recently renewed Hotel Regina gives a unique opportunity to those who wish to discover the wonders of Lake Como. Being a family-owned and run hotel, we offer unpretentious service making you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. The hotel is directly on the lake and it has a private beach, a brand new panoramic heated swimming pool right on the lake and a sun terrace with free sun beds and parasols. You can relax on your room balcony, gazing across the lake, unwind on our panoramic sun terrace, sunbathe or go for a swim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Gravedona
Hotel Regina Lake Como/Gravedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing