We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravedona
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a great place to stay, for numerous reasons. The service was second to none, all of the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had decent sized bathrooms (my girlfriend and I stayed in two different rooms due to being upgraded to a lake view room one night). The breakfast was very good, a decent selection of foods and drinks, not to mention the wonderful view out over Lake Como from the dining room. The pool and outdoor seating areas are brilliantly located, looking over the Lake and getting plenty of sun all day. The hotel is also quite well located in relation to the town of Gravedona - it took about 10 mins to walk to the restuarants and bars which is a worthwhile distance to be able to have some outdoor space and a pool, unlike the central hotels. Parking is on site and free of charge. The only drawback is that the upper floors have tiled finishes, typical of Italian hotels - this allows a little bit of noice transfer from the room above, but it never caused me any problems and I am a light sleeper.

Room Tip: The view from the front of the hotel is very pleasant indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JImboDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    86
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
153
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mougins, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We are just back from an excellent 3 day stay at Hotel Regina.
From the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome at all times by very attentive and knowledgable staff.
Further to recent reports we can make the following comments.
The view from our 4 th floor lake view room was to die for!
The beds are, in our opinion, firm rather than hard as has been reported. Pillows are on the small size though. The room was spotless and cleaned to the same standard each day.
Breakfast was very good! Eggs and bacon were hot and there was an excellent choice of cold meats and cheeses. The cappuccino was perfect!
The solar heated pool was indeed cold, as has been previously reported. However, to be fair, we have just had the coldest spring for 30 years in Europe and it is only just becoming anything like normal, in fact there was still snow on the tops of the nearby mountains! I'm sure that the pool will soon be up to a good temperature.
We ate at 3 different restaurants in Gravadona, the best of which was the Ca de Matt. All were however fine.
We decided to go on a guided bike ride to visit the local area and its surrounding wildlife. The trip also included a very interesting trip to a preserved World War One fort. This trip was arranged by the front desk staff through a local tour company and is thoroughly recommended.
All in all a lovely stay in a superb location. We will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Lake view room a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyb911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed for a week during May. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and considerate. They went out of their way to help. The staff suggested good places to eat and visit. The room had great views from our balcony and was clean and comfortable. We have recommended the hotel to friends and family and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Had a room on the third floor with lovely balcony. Lower floors with bigger balconies are overlooke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. We booked a triple room. They gave us a family room with 4 beds. The room had a small balcony with a great view over the lake. The room is very comfortable for a family with enough storage space. The only issue in our room was the hamdicapped accesible toilet. the toilet seat was very elevated and was quite uncomfortable. The hotel has fast and free wi-fi and enough free parking. We never used the pool as it was still cool in May but the staff keep it clean. Even on a busy day there are enough number of sun loungers in the garden and around the pool. No game of musical chairs here.

The hotel is a short and a very easy walk to centre of the the town( gravedano). I travel a lot and stay in many good and great hotels, but the view from Regina is to die for. The staff at the front desk is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is ordinary. Nothing special, but sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SidSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

great place to stay, scenery is stunning from the lakeside rooms, a lovely quiet town, hotel staff are very friendy and helpful. Only drawback is that the restaurant is only open for breakfast. Would love to return here sometime. My wife says best place she's ever stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We recently enjoyed a stay at this hotel as my partner had to make a brief business trip to the area. The room was spotless, with the most incredible views over the lake and hotel poolside. Within minutes, the owner arrived at our room with complimentary Prosecco, fruit and nibbles, what a lovely welcome! The hotel in general was extremely clean and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful, however my only slight complaint would be that the hotel offers no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. Following a stress free checkout (again our request for early checkout was accommodated for without fuss, despite being very early) and upon arrival at the airport, I realised I had left my purse at the hotel. One brief telephone call confirmed this and the hotel staff noted the exact amount of money that I had left in the purse and the money was duly deposited in my bank account a couple of days later. They even went to the trouble of posting the empty purse which arrived at my home address shortly after. We will definitely be returning at a later date when we have more time to explore this stunning region. Sadly, customer service to this level is lacking in most hotels these days but staff at Hotel Regina were fabulous!

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank HLGarratt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This is one of the nicest, cleanest and underrated hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. The views are to die for and you could eat your well cooked breakfast off any floor.

All that said, listen to this....... my partner left her purse in the room upon checkout. We were boarding a flight before realising. The hotel contacted us and said they had found it in the room with EXACTLY the amount of money still in it. 110 Euros of cash plus UK Sterling. Thats honesty and integrity for you.

Tip - Ask for Top floor (level 4) for the best views.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RussH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravedona
12.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
813 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
757 reviews
11.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,022 reviews
9.7 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
376 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Via Regina Levante 18, 22015, Gravedona, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Gravedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far away from the hustle and bustle and from daily worries, Hotel Regina is the perfect location for a relaxing holiday in an exclusive though cozy and homely environment, where our priority is your complete satisfaction. Ideally located on the lake side and immersed in the peace and beauty of an incomparable landscape, the recently renewed Hotel Regina gives a unique opportunity to those who wish to discover the wonders of Lake Como. Being a family-owned and run hotel, we offer unpretentious service making you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. The hotel is directly on the lake and it has a private beach, a brand new panoramic heated swimming pool right on the lake and a sun terrace with free sun beds and parasols. You can relax on your room balcony, gazing across the lake, unwind on our panoramic sun terrace, sunbathe or go for a swim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Gravedona
Hotel Regina Lake Como/Gravedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing