We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and pretty”
Review of Hotel La Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Villa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gravedona
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Friendly owner made sure we had a nice room with a beautiful view over lake Como. The breakfast buffet was better than all the other ones we had during our trip to Lake Como. Fresh berries and service minded staff. Bed comfortable, double (!) balcony and overall very fresh facilities (probably recently renovated). Also nice pool!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank henkasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great location to explore all areas of lake. We had a Clean, lovely quiet room on the balcony level. Parking easy, easy access to lakefront...short 500m walk. Breakfast was excellent, owners were friendly and helpful.....Sydney, australia

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent three nights/four days here in Sept 2012 and really enjoyed it. The plus points are the owners were friendly and accommodating, the swimming pool was clean and pretty although owing to the weather we never made it in, breakfast was limited but absolutely fine as continental ones go and its up a short steep walk from the ferry dock. The room had a large double bed and was spacious and clean although the shower was on the small side. There was a tv with limited english channels but hey, its not a holiday unless you watch a classic film in spanish.
The cons are that there are only one or two restaurants in the area nearby, they are nice and well priced but choice is limited if you arent going to venture out. Which leads to the second negative point ; Gravedona is quite a long way out from the "main" hamlets like Menaggio or Bellagio where all the amazing restaurants and bars are. Its only about 15 mins on the fast ferry but they do not run past about 8 in the evening so if you want to make it back to the hotel you need a very early dinner! To get to Gravedona from Como we could only get the slow ferry which took about four or five hours - valuable time when youre on a short break.
Having said that, it was fine as base for exploring all day and the hamlets are beautiful. The food and wine are incredible and relatively cheap. Just a couple of ferry stops from Gravedona is Dongo where you can hire a reasonably priced boat for an hour (£70) to zip about and swim in the lake.
My biggest tip is to look online at the ferry timetable BEFORE booking somewhere to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are available at extra cost - i didnt see one but it may be worth it otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cls601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This was a nice hotel with fantastic views from the terrace to the alps. We stayed here for three nights at the end of our Italy trip and did not regret it. The breakfast was satisfactory, if not quite as good as some of the breakfasts we had earlier in our trip. The staff were very helpful and did their best to make sure we were comfortable including our nightly requests for ice. All in all have no problem recommending this hotel, Gravedona was much more peaceful than the bigger towns and the hotel was a perfect place to unwind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTricity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Nice clean hotel with friendly Polite helpful staff Good size rooms with great views of lake and mountains. Great breakfast. Only stayed there for one night on a return journey after touring Italy.Just one slight niggle, having travelled there on a motorcycle in damp foggy weather we found our room a little on the cool side, would have liked the heating on during the late afternoon, but overall

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janemake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Hotel:
The hotel was very clean throughout and excellently maintained. The pool is clean with plenty of sun loungers. Parking is available at the front of the hotel.
Location:
It is a 5 minute walk to the lakefront where there is a supermarket, restaurants and boats to other towns on Lake Como.
Room:
Very clean. Good size with a reasonable bathroom. We had a superior lake view room with a small private balcony and large shared terrace.

The owners speak English (and German and French) and nothing was too much trouble for them. The only thing to be aware of is that the hotel is on the main road through Gravedona so you will hear traffic noise if you're by the pool or on the balcony, you can not hear it indoors. The breakfast was good and fresh (especially the croissants!) but the choice slightly limited. There is also a selection of sandwiches and salads available at lunchtime. We were very impressed with Hotel La Villa and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: The additional 5 euros per person per day for a superior lake view room is worth it for the sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed cca. one week in Hotel La Villa in Gravedona, at Lake Como. Gravedona is the best place if You want to avoid the snobish subculture who are walking around in Menaggio, Belaggio or Tremezzo. The hotel is located at the main street, but if you close the doors and windows you hear nothing from the traffic.
The hotel is runned by Ms. and Mr. Mallone. I contacted a few hotels for booking, they've been the fastest. We arrived at 00.30 (traffic jam in Milano) in the night and Mr. Mallone was awake, waited for us.
We had bed and breakfast, I am not sure if they have service for lunch or dinner. The breakfast was quite rich we missed nothing.
The rooms: absolutely clean with minibar, the furniture is a little colorful in the hotel but this is more a taste issue. The hotel has a lift, a big parking lot, air condition and swimming pool (we used it only once). Our room was located on the 1st floor, on the side of the building, but we had despite of this a view to the lake, because the hotel has a balcony on the side aswell. We booked quite late so it was logic that we couldn't get a direct-view to the lake.
From the hotel You are in minutes at the lake if You want to have a short walk in Gravedona or want to find a restaurant (not too many but enouigh in Gravedona).
Rate for a double bed room: 120 euros.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeoBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravedona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#1 of 7 in Gravedona
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tullio Hotel
Tullio Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gravedona
199 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oasi dei Celti
Oasi dei Celti
#1 of 1 in Dorio
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
830 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 1 in Sorico
406 reviews
22 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Villa

Address: Via Regina Ponente 21, 22015, Gravedona, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Gravedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gravedona
Price Range: £82 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Villa Lake Como/Gravedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing