We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeking out.”
Review of A Mere

A Mere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out.”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We inadvertently arrived on the evening of the start of the patronal 'festa' and so had the restaurant almost to ourselves. We had a good view of the procession as it passed by the door. This restaurant was recommended to us and did not disappoint, apart from the sorbet. It is in a long room with an arched ceiling, seating about 40 covers, with a friendly if over-helpful staff. To start with I had swordfish carpaccio, my husband chose marinated salmon. To follow I chose whole red mullett cooked to your direction, I chose grilled, my husband had a huge scampi risotto; we ate these with a salad. For dessert we chose lemon sorbet containing peach, a nice idea but it was not quite set. Complimentary coffee and chamomile tea to finish. We paid 70 Euros which included water, bread and a bottle of white sparkling Puglian wine which sadly had little lasting sparkle. We enjoyed the food, it was all very tasty and the staff tried hard to explain the dishes to us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ge0rgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    94
    34
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

We were directed to this restaurant after finding our first pick closed. But so glad other was closed. This was a terrific place with the freshest seafood. Antipasto di casa was many plates of calamari , pulpo, tuna, salmon, langstinos and more. We then split a risotto di mare by four - a wonderful blend if the freshest mussels, clams and shrimp. We then all shared one large San Pietro fish baked with olives, tomatoes and potatoes. Finished with a sorbetto di limone. Great dinner even though it was thanksgiving for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
326 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented, delicious food”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The mussels were some of the sweetest, most delicious mussels we have ever had. The tuna carpaccio was excellent. Our main courses were succulent king prawns and a platter of mixed fish, washed down by an excellent local white wine. The service was also faultless, as was the presentation of the dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic seafood!”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

we found this restaurant by chance on easter sunday. enjoyed a 7 course set menu - perhaps the best seafood i have ever eaten and by far the best meal i have ever had in italy. the staff were exceptional (thankyou for the free bottle of wine - which was delicious!). well worth a visit, makes my mouth water just thinking about it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lymimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Abdolutely amazing!!!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

We had a dinner in this lovely place and i Will be back for sure!! Cheap and delitious, it has a few tables near the sea!
We had sea salad and 'pepata di cozze' and delitious 'tagliolini allo scoglio'.

The staff is really kind and is ready to suggest you the best plate!

Absolutely to come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VirginioA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Mere also viewed

Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
 
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
 

Been to A Mere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing