We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is an extraordinary place. Really the facility is just over in the sea. The restaurant is unbelievable. Food is great. Mainly fish. The sound of the sea is so strong that it might be difficult to carry a conversation though.....
Great. Consider to go down a lot of stairs to get there. Absolutely great.. Do not miss it. It is pricy and parking near it could be an issue. Recommended for special occasions

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vittoria5768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    106
    74
    58
    69
See reviews for
55
265
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband as our friends were getting married in the town.

The rooms are quite typical of many Italian hotels, old fashioned. Coloured miss matched tiles & furniture that could do with updating. We weren't in the room for any length of time so it did us for what we needed. If I were to stay for a longer break then I'd definitely stay somewhere slightly larger with better amenities.

Our friends wedding reception was held in the grotta itself and wow!!! totally stunning! I can see why they chose the venue, it really was magical. The views are spectacular & the food was delicious.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mairead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I were looking for a charming place to get away to for a few days in March and came upon this place in the "100 Amazing Hotels" listing. The photos of the grotto bar, the grotto dining area, the rooftop deck were all stunning...unfortunately, they are all closed from September through April.

The website doesn't mention this fact. Nor at any point did the reservation emails I sent back and forth. Considering that this is its headline, marquee appeal, you would think that they would mention that during these months all you get is a room by the sea.

It's a fine room. The arched stone is very charming and seaside balcony invites in the regular gentle crashes of the water against the stone precipice. The breakfast nook has delightful views and tasty food (though the main restaurant is over priced and underwhelming). The amenities were quite limited ( no spa, bar limited to a few drinks), and a the whole place a bit rundown (Sky not working, Internet up and down, toilet seat broken).

If you want a cave experience, go inland a piece to the spectacular Sextantio in Matera. If you want a more fully equipped hotel (eg. spa, bar), go to the Hotel Covo dei Saraceni down the street.

Room Tip: Try to visit May through August to enjoy the cave bar and lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
45 Thank MaldivesComplete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
337 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Took my Wife and Mother-in-law here to Stay for a Week, read on trip advisor at the Time, was a "great Place". We Paid a lot of $$$ for this hotel that was really in Need of Updates! No Excuses! If you want to charge Top Dollar then u have to keep up with Updates!! The Room was Small and bed was "Not Great" we had no view from Our Room. No Internet service unless u were in there Loby. Staff was helpful and Usually very Pleasant. I think for the Money probably could of Stayed some where "nicer". We loved Bari, lots of History and Great places to see and Dine! The Hotel has to do Updates! Have Fun!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank vegman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This stunning restaurants location is like something from a James Bond set, we were blown away, the food although a bit pricey is worth it though you are paying for the setting, It is a perfect venue for a special occasion and we were only sorry that we couldn't return in the evening as we were staying an hour away. If this restaurant was on the Amalfi cost you would be paying an arm and a leg, so we recommend a visit before the secrets of Puglia become known to the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jlo_shore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgique
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Staying one night in this hotel is like experimenting a cruise while staying down to earth .
On top of that we've enjoy a unforgettable view on the cavern crafted by the sea on the cliff
The price of the restaurant are exaggerated but this is definitely the place to be if you've something very special to celebrate, we only life once after all.

Room Tip: asl for a room with a cliff view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luigiBelgique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We dined at Restorante Grotta Palazzese last Saturday evening and arrived promptly at 7.30 when the restaurant opened, which I would advise you to do so as not to miss the spectacular sunset. I was a little worried prior to arriving as there were many bad reviews about service and food , but, everything was fantastic - food delicious, service attentive and atmosphere superb. Five stars. Thank you for a memorable evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Flavia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polignano a Mare hotels
2.9 mi away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
#3 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.8 mi away
Borgobianco Resort & Spa
Borgobianco Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
San Tommaso
San Tommaso
#1 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Abbate Hotel
L'Abbate Hotel
#5 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tra le Mura
Tra le Mura
#11 of 66 in Polignano a Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese

Property: Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese
Address: Via Narciso 59, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Polignano a Mare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Polignano a Mare
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Grotta Palazzese Hotel
Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese Polignano a Mare, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing