We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Armena Relais
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Hotel”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at Villa Armena for 4 nights and fell in love with Tuscany here. Villa Armena is the most welcoming and hospitable place we have ever stayed. Eduardo, Elena, and Laura went out of their way to make us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The food in the restaurant is superb, we ate here every night and were extremely well looked after by Laura who guided us through the wine list, teaching us about local wines in the process.

Elena organised a wine tour for us in Montelpuciano and recommended a great thermal spa for us in Bagno Vignoni. The wine tour was absolutely fascinating and I'd highly recommend it for seasoned wine drinkers and complete newbies like us!

I'd say a car was essential for getting the most out of the local area as all the small towns are 30mins-1 hour drive away, but the local roads are very good and it was easy to navigate around. We visited Montalcino, Pienza, Sienna, Montelpuciano, San Quirico Di Orca & Bagno Vignoni during our short stay and we don't feel like we scratch the surface of what the area had to offer.

As the other reviews point out, the hotel is impeccably well appointed. We were luckily upgraded to a suite (room number 1) and had lots of room in the huge room, the bathroom was magnificent with a stand alone bath and huge power shower.

We couldn't of wished for a nicer place to start our married life, or nicer people to deal with than Eduardo, Elena, and Laura. We wouldn't hesitate to recommended Villa Armena to anybody travelling to Tuscany.

Room Tip: We had room number 1 (Orlando Di Venusto Suite) which was spacious, beautiful and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjbuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Ciao tjbuchan!

Many thanks for the wonderful review we had a lot of fun with you guys, it's been truly a pleasure looking after you and we are just delighted that you enjoyed the experience with us so much.

Come back soon!

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    30
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
214
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and loved the hotel, the room and the very gracious and friendly owners, Eduardo and Elena and Laura. This was a perfect location for us as well to visit Montepulciano, Montalcino and Siena for winery visits and site seeing. The room was extremely nice and very modern and the customer service was on par with the top hotels in the US. Eduardo and Elena did suggest wineries to visit and were very helpful in scheduling appointments and with directions.

Definitely would recommend this hotel for a family stay, honeymoon,anniversary occasion or just to get away and relax and recharge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Ciao Mike!

Many thanks for posting this very nice review of your experience with us.
We really appreciate it.
I hope everything is well for you guys and hopefully to see you again sometime soon.

Ciao!

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Villa Armena is a perfectly appointed Tuscan getaway located right outside of Buonconvento and only 20-25 minutes from Montalcino. We truly had a lovely stay at the property and Eduardo, Elena, and Laura all went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They also picked out some wonderful vineyards in Montalcino and Montepulciano for us to visit during our stay. As the property is only a year or so old, all the rooms are new and the bathrooms were impressive for American (let alone European) standards.

Because we did have some difficulty finding Villa Armena, here are some directions for those driving to the property. Traveling south on the road from Siena to Rome, enter into the small town of Buonconvento. As you approach the town itself, the town will be on your right hand side (the walls and a small tower are easily visible). There are two gas stations on the same road within the city limits. After the first station, make the next left hand turn (if you see a soccer field on your left hand side after making the turn you are in the right spot!). Go over the train track and continue on the road for about 3 minutes. There is a fork in the road – take the left (there is a sign that says Armena) that is an unpaved road. Proceed with some caution as this is a thin, winding road that is used for both ingress and egress. Continue on the road until you hit two dumpsters, at the dumpsters veer left. Although you will feel like you’re almost there, you will be on this gravely road for another 5-7 minutes or so. Continue past the burgundy gate and several homes. Villa Armena is at the end of this road.
Visit our blog post to read more about our stay, http://chezcateylou.com/2013/08/18/villa-armena-tuscany/

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CateyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Ciao CateyLou,

sorry for answering only now to your wonderful review but anyway I really wanted to find the time to say thank you very much for visiting. it was a pleasure welcoming you both and we really hope to see you sometime soon. We have also seen your blog and the beautiful words you used to described your experience...thank you very much..really.

Ciao!

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Armena for four nights in early September. We had the best time. The Villa is beautifully restored with modern amenities (and fantastic housekeeping morning and evening) and makes the perfect base from which to explore the area (Montepulciano, Montalcino, Siena, San Gimignano, Pienza, etc.) The owners - Eduardo, Elena and Laura - are amazing and try so hard to make your stay perfect. Their care sets this villa apart from all others. A perfect example is the story of our first evening at the villa - after a mishap in Florence and arriving late to the Villa and finding out that the restaurant there would be closed during our stay due to a death in the chef's family, Eduardo offered to have his wife Elena cook us dinner along with two other guests in the restaurant while Laura (who acts as the sommelier) served us and hand picked an excellent bottle of white wine for us from the region to enjoy with dinner. It was truly like being cared for by a lovely family and fed in their home. We loved Tuscany and were so sad to leave. It was definitely the highlight of our trip and we visited some great cities - London, Amalfi Coast, Rome, etc. We wish we lived closer so we could return more often! We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clk1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear clk1483,

thank you for taking the time to share your expereince with us on Tripadvisor.

Looking after you, even if just for a couple of days, was a true pleasure.

We wish you guys all the best and we hope to see you again at some point in the near future.

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at villa Armena In June for 2 days after a friends wedding for some extra time on our own in this beautiful country. Villa Armena did not disappoint. On arrival we were greeted by the two owners and upgraded to a suite which we was over the moon with. The room was absolutely stunning our bed was turned down every evening and we was left a surprise of homemade biscuits. The restaurant is very expensive but totally worth it. Yes there isn't views from the restaurant area but you dont need this as there is a large window where you can see the chefs cooking which we loved. The food was amazing cooked perfectly and the owners mother was our waitress and she is just the nicest lady ever and knows her wine!! We are normally Rioja drinkers but she introduced us to some beautiful red wines during our stay which really complemented the food.

The pool we had practically to ourselves. Yes the owners are not there constantly asking if you want drinks but they do pop down now again during the day. Remember they are trying to let you enjoy your holiday on your own rather than keep pestering. We was more than happy with the service.

The lunch menu isn't as great as the evening food this maybe as the chef is not in till the evening which is not a problem. Most of the other guests were out in the day so it was only us about at lunch however on our second day the owners mother offered us a pasta that wasn't on the menu and that was gorgeous.

Our overall experience was Villa Armena was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We are now looking for a hotel for our honeymoon next year in Bali and its going to be so hard to find anywhere as good as Villa Armena we should of left it till the honeymoon.

We Both wish the owners all the best and good luck with there new addition to the family who is due soon. We will be back one day again and will recommend your hotel to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear becca1406,

thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted.
There is nothing better for us than a very happy guest, believe me.

Best of luck for your wedding and indeed we do take your word for granted: we fully expect to see you guys very soon :-)

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

When staying in Tuscany for the first time it can feel a little tricky to pick the right spot. Such is the romantic image the region conjures up that you perhaps want those long views that graduate at sunset, to stay in a proper villa and be close enough to some interesting places to visit. You want to get it right.

Your first step should be to book a room at Villa Armena. A labour of love for Edoardo and Elena, a four year renovation of an old ruin has resulted in a villa of sumptuous grandeur that would have made a perfect episode of Grand Designs. Each of the ten rooms has a breathtaking attention to detail, with bespoke furniture and beautiful carpets - a masterpiece of interior design skill that means it doesn't matter which room you stay in; simply book the best room you can afford because they are all wonderful. The bathrooms - so often a let-down - are a triumph. Modern, yet in harmony with their 700 year old surroundings thanks to stones handpicked from local quarries and fitments that are both functional and magical. We don't recall staying in a bedroom or bathroom we preferred.

The villa - a listed building of local importance - is augmented by a swimming pool constructed from natural materials that is a peaceful place to relax for the day. When you want to venture out the nearby City of Siena and wine region of Montalcino provide all you need to see during your Tuscan holiday. The team are only too happy to provide recommendations, maps and encouragement - though do note that no matter where you stay in Tuscany a hire car is almost essential.

When you do emerge from your room, breakfast is served until 11am which is seriously civilised and gives you an excuse to visit the restaurant restrooms which are filled with yet more covetable design flourishes.

But it wasn't just the furniture we wanted to sneak in to our suitcases when we left. Franco, the British Bulldog (Edoardo and Elena studied in London) would have made a lovely souvenir, and Laura, Edoardo's mother (and accomplished sommelier), was delightful in every way and therefore officially adopted as our Italian Godmother. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrFredBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
MrFredBrown....what can we say ?!
THANK YOU of course !

You were such wonderful guests..we would clone you if we could :-)
The question here is obvoius: when are you guys coming back ?!?!?!.

Big hugs from everyone here (Franco included)

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I just returned from a five (5) night stay at the Villa Armena. We found the hotel through Trip Advisor and the positive reviews that so many of you have taken the time to write. We want to thank Trip Advisor reviewers for your wonderful comments about this incredible property. Your review definitely contributed to our chosing this property for our stay in Tuscany.

When we first arrived a the Villa Armena property, my wife and I both said that we had arrived in heaven!! The property is set in the most incredible setting.... high on a hill, with views over incredible Tuscany. Our first impression stayed with us the entire stay!! The property is manicured, and taken care of daily by a maintenance man, and it showed. The pool and the surrounding area of the pool was just beautiful As a matter of fact, an outside group had booked dinner in the dining room one evening, but insisted on cocktails adjoining the pool area as it is such a wonderful spot on the property.

We were met at the hotel by Edouardo and his wife. They made us immediately comfortable with their welcome and made arrangements to have our luggage taken care of. This is one very hard working couple who have devoted themselves these past four years, we learned, in acquiring this property and completing a major renovation ... I mean major.... from top to bottom. This property is definitely a labour of love to this couple and it showed.

We learned that Elena is an architect who devoted her time and skills to detailing and supervising the renovation and creation of this absolutely luxury property in the heart of a wonderful area of Tuscany. No detail in the renovation was overlooked and it showed, from the bedrooms, dining room, outside patios and open window kitchen, and the common sitting areas of the villa both on the main floor and on the second floor of the villa. Our room was beautiful simply said and our quiet sanctuary after a busy day. We didn't hear a sound from any other room on the floor, felt totally private and when we slept, we had the most incredible sleeps.... wish I could duplicate this peace and serenity of our Tuscany room back home in our busy lives... oh well, that's why God created holidays. The room was furnished and detailed to the 9's, the bed was wonderfully comfortable, and the large washroom had everything including a shower with incredible water pressure in which I could have stayed for hours. Absolutely nothing was lacking and we have nothing negative to say about the room, or in fact the villa.

Not only are Edouardo and Elena supervising every aspect of the operation of the property, but they have Laura (Edouardo's mother) ever present in the restaurant, both in the morning and in the evening. She is a lovely woman and is a fully trained sommelier and always chose our wines each and every evening perfectly. Add to the mix a chef, Fabrizio, of great skill and accomplishment who prepared all the food at the villa. We chose to have all our dinners at the Villa, and ventured out during the day to the surrounding areas, restaurants and wineries. We got back to the Villa about 5 each day, in time to relax before dinner each evening and just take in the full experience of the Villa. There is a set menu each day, with some specials, but Fabrizio will, more or less, cook anything that we wanted. He helped make our stay wonderful. Everything was well prepared, and artistically presented, and always delicious. We enjoyed each and every meal at the Villa!! The breakfast table had everything and more that one could expect, or imagine and always carefully presented ... there were a number of chef prepared specialties available as well for breakfast if we wanted to add to the over abundant breakfast table.

Each day, I would discuss with Eduoardo where I could drive to and visit, and have a portable gps I install in the window of my rental car wherever we go in the world which helped immeasurably. We chose to not go to any large cities, but concentrated on all the towns within a 45 to 60 minute drive from the Villa, and let me tell you, there are so many towns, that we didn't see everything we wanted but enjoyed each and every town and each suggestion of Eduoardo's was right on.

At one time, my wife and I were contemplating buying an apartment somewhere in Tuscany, but after staying at Villa Armena, we have decided we have our "own" villa to return to over and over again, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again at Villa Armena. One last point, with Eduoardo, Elena and Laura, we felt so comfortable, in some ways we felt we had found relatives in Tuscany.... and believe me, nothing feels better than a great Italian family life to us. They made us feel part of their family... so comfortably that we would go back over and over again when we are Tuscany.

We most definitely recommend Villa Armena to anyone looking for the best that Tuscany has to offer!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianCouple747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Ciao CanadianCouple747!!

thank you so much for your amazing review!

What can we say...first of all we have to say thank you I guess:. this is a thank you that comes from the bottom of our hearts.
Secondly I'd like to say that Villa Armena is not just your "own" home in Tuscany..but it REALLY IS your home now.. Don't bother buying a flat over here, just come back with your family anytime and we'll have a big party all together everyday! Franco and "il piccolo Leonardo" included of course :-)

Grazie mille

Edoardo, Elena, Laura, Fabrizio, Franco, Cessen and il piccolo Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buonconvento
11.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
642 reviews
13.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
406 reviews
7.0 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
278 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Armena Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armena Relais

Property: Villa Armena Relais
Address: Localita San Domenico Armena SNC, 53022, Buonconvento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Armena Relais 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic heart of Tuscany, only 20 minutes from Siena, only a stone’s throw from Montalcino and Val d’Orcia, in a fairytale world exuding magic and beauty, Villa Armena is a late Renaissance structure. Built of red brick, with original oak beams and roof, and having terracotta floors and a beautiful Italianate garden, Villa Armena today is an exclusive establishment with just 10 rooms, each one unique, where service, attention to detail and exclusivity are the cornerstones of our offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Armena Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Armena Relais Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing