We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tuscan Gem - the best of Italian hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Armena Relais
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Tuscan Gem - the best of Italian hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I came across this absolute gem in Tuscany on an overnight trip from Rome to Venice last weekend (22 March 2014).

I was already impressed by its excellent reviews, but even they could not do it justice. From the moment of arrival, greeted by the genuinely welcoming and warm Elena, the Proprietess, it felt like one of those truly special places that you happen across all too rarely.

The review from 4 January 2014 pays Villa Armena many of the compliments that I would also make, but three are worth repeating:

1. The hospitality and genuine interest shown by Edoardo, Elena and Laura make you feel very special. Their personal warmth made it feel like having the run of a friend's house - or better still, as if some wealthy relative has left you their hilltop estate complete with the friendliest people he/she could find in Tuscany. All three speak perfect English and were incredibly attentive hosts.

2. The attention to detail in all aspects: the cooking and homemade foods, the lovely furnishings and architectural touches, the furnishings and layout, the absolutely top quality bathroom fittings and fixtures. All were remarkable. The common areas inside (restaurant and sitting rooms) were cleverly designed to provide warmth and cosiness in Winter, and coolness and escape in Summer, and the external terraces on many levels were intriguing.

3. The atmosphere: unsurprisingly given all of the above, the atmosphere of the place was again very special. Warm, relaxed, easy-going and natural.

My only regret was that I could only spend one night there, but I will find an opportunity to go back.

As I say, a real gem.

Jonathan

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    28
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
200
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Its taken me a while to write this review, we stayed there for 4 nights last year on honeymoon. Family run hotel where the food, wine & decor are truly impressive. It is definitely pricy & you need to be comfortable with driving but the experience did wow us. We were upgraded & the bathrooom was fab. Loved learning to make pasta in the kitchen with the chef. If you are looking for a real treat in tuscany book here

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0rk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great base for getting to know Tuscany. The staff was excellent:Edoardo, Elena and Laura thank you very much for your kindness!
The room was extremely comfortable, warm and very welcoming. The bathroom was simply to die for. It was really nice to be in such a beautiful hotel- super comfy bed, ETRO amenities, floor to cealing marble bathrooms, excellent Wi-Fi. Everything is quality. We are fans and we'll always choose Villa Armena over any other hotel in Tuscany!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed for two nights just after the new year and the experience was outstanding. Great staff, Great food and a great property in a perfect location. We will definitely stay there again! The restoration of this Villa was very impressive. The glass in the bathroom was so clean my girlfriend ran into it. Which was hilarious!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Couf214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Couf214

thank you for your review of Villa Armena.
We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciated the good work of our maids. They are priceless and to a sterling job at all times. Because of course hygiene and cleanliness are crucial and of top importance to us.

See you some time soon hopefully

Kind regards

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This Hotel is one of those places you just wish to stay inside and spend many days. The room we stayed in was a big suite and the bathroom was done in a really modern way, with great taste, the bathtub and the shower were worth spending hours just relaxing. We had a little terrace and they were very kind not to charge us for the roomservice when we ordered breakfast in the bedroom. The restaurant is great, the food is delicious and the somelier was a really lovely lady who helped us choose a great bottle of wine and taught us a lot about Tuscan Wines. We had a short but amazing experience there, and would definetly go back.

Room Tip: be carefull with the GPS, follow the hotel instructions of how to get there, the Tom Tom's send...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Wow Mimi C!
What a great review!

It was a pleasure for us to welcome you guys and we are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay.

See you soon!

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The location is truly romantic and well placed for those wanting to visit Tuscany. The rooms are more than comfortable and original. The decor keeps with the tuscan tradition yet with very modern bathrooms.The huge renovation is trully succesful. We spent three nights including NYE and had an excellent stay. The NYE meal and wine were refined and of excellent quality. The owners are very welcoming and always available to give advice on things to do and discover.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alienore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you very much for your beautiful review of Villa Armena Alienore.
We hope to see you guys again very soon!

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Villa Armena Relais and Beauty Farm (hotel) - It isn’t possible to convey what a delight it was to stay at Villa Armena. We were treated like family by Edoardo, his wife Elena, and Edward’s mother, the incomparable Laura! We arrived early one afternoon after a drive from Roma. The drive to the villa from the main road is absolutely stunning. You’re surrounded by Tuscany, literally and figuratively. The drive was a joy and one we would do a few times each day as we went about exploring the fabulous countryside. We were met by Edoardo and led to our room, which was spectacular - comfortable, warm, and large with a bathroom fit for a king. It was so lovely I was concerned they had showed us to the wrong room! Our stay there was the high point of our two-week trip to Italia in early June 2013. The villa is on a hilltop that is so peaceful, tranquil, and beautiful that you lose track of time. You can sit at some tables and look out over the hills and valleys. We could see the Abbazzi de Monte Oliveto Maggiore - we had the pleasure of attending Sunday Mass there, during our visit. We spent hours driving around the hills of Buonconvento, getting lost here and there and discovering sights and sounds that will be with us forever! The villa itself is a stunning place with grounds to match. But what was most enjoyable about our stay was the villa’s staff. So warm and friendly, always willing to help. In fact, Edoardo set up a lunch for us in Montalcino that was just spectacular. He gave us driving directions and finished with his usual flourish of “… it couldn’t be easier…” and he was right, as usual! We’ve had the good fortune to stay in some spectacular hotels around the world, but none compares to our experience at Villa Armena Relais, not even a Four Seasons hotel. This is a truly special place run by truly special, warm, inviting, fabulous people. It goes without saying, but let me state if for the record, we highly recommend staying at the Villa Armena Relais. Forgo your thoughts of staying anywhere else in the region. The Villa is the place to go; you will be delighted you did! However, I’ll warn you there is one significant downside to staying at the Villa Armena Relais...leaving. Although our departure was handled as smoothly as our arrival, we left with the same pain one has when leaving family after a wonderful visit. In fact, my husband wanted to forgo our visit to Venice in order to stay at Villa Armena longer! We recovered from our sad goodbye, but only well after Firenze on our drive to Padua. We miss Edoardo, Elena, and Laura. We look forward to returning to Villa Armena Relais again, again, and again.

Villa Armena (dinner & wine tasting) - Since we had just driven from Roma the day we arrived we thought it wise to just eat at the Villa’s restaurant to make things easier on us. We had experienced some spectacular meals during our stay in Roma and at our lunch in Orvieto. We could not imagine how any meal could top those. In fact, we said to ourselves, "Let’s just eat here tonight and then we can explore other restaurants in the region the other nights of our stay." The restaurant, like the rest of the villa is just beautiful and creates a soft, warm, inviting atmosphere for you to enjoy some of the most wonderful meals you will eat while in Italia. At our first meal we were treated to some of the best food we had during our visit to Italia. Nadia, the chef, puts out dishes that bested the two Michelin-starred restaurants we ate in during our trip. Villa Armena offers truly amazing cuisine! We also had the great fortune to meet Federica and Laura. Federica was the most warm and attentive server. It seemed like she knew just when we were ready for the next course. She was extremely knowledgeable about the menu, which allowed her to make some wonderful recommendations. Her English was impeccable and she and Laura were both more than willing to teach me and my husband more Italian, which was a joy. Laura, the sommelier of the villa, was a real treat. We benefited from her incredible knowledge of Italian wines and felt her passion for serving her guests at each and every meal, to include breakfast. Laura provided us a recommendation of a Brunello di Montalcino with our meal and that began our new life-long passion for Italian wines. She took great care to listen to what we wanted in a wine and then explain the various wines she recommended for us. We went to bed that night deliriously happy being at Villa Armena, and that experience was replicated each and every day of our stay.

The next morning we had our first experience with breakfast at the villa. We were not expecting much, and again we were stunned with the service, the selection, and the food. The villa put out a lovely buffet spread across several tables in the dining room for breakfast. We were led to “our table” and had a slow, relaxing time eating a nice breakfast of fresh cured meat, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, breads, freshly squeezed fruit juice, assorted fruits, and coffee. There was also a breakfast menu of foods made-to-order, but we were more than content with the buffet.

We also had the distinct pleasure of having a wine tasting with Laura; what a treat. She is wonderful, so full of passion for what she does. We learned some lessons about local wines, Montalcino in particular, and of course, the wines of her beloved Piemonte - the Barolo! Laura, we miss you and think of you often as we drink our Brunello di Montalcino, our Super Tuscan, and our Barolo!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbpc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello kbpc2013!
We should really say WOW reading your fantastic review!!

Thank you SO much for all your kind words and for your kindness.
We are delighted you have enjoyed your visit so much and of the fact that you have great memories of your time at Villa Armena.
Come back soon!!

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buonconvento
7.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
22.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
12.9 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
11.5 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Armena Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armena Relais

Property: Villa Armena Relais
Address: Localita San Domenico Armena SNC, 53022, Buonconvento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Armena Relais 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic heart of Tuscany, only 20 minutes from Siena, only a stone’s throw from Montalcino and Val d’Orcia, in a fairytale world exuding magic and beauty, Villa Armena is a late Renaissance structure. Built of red brick, with original oak beams and roof, and having terracotta floors and a beautiful Italianate garden, Villa Armena today is an exclusive establishment with just 10 rooms, each one unique, where service, attention to detail and exclusivity are the cornerstones of our offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Villa Armena Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Armena Relais Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing