We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome!”
Review of Villa Armena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Armena
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Loved every bit of this hidden gem, the rooms, the food, the people...i regret staing only 2 days! I will come back for sure this winter! Thanks also to Elena for the fantastic help she gave us choosing the right wineries!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for 2 days in Villa Armena and were very pleased with how beautiful the rooms were and how lovely the property was. The rooms are large with beautiful antiques and very modern large bathrooms and wonderful amenities. The family who has renovated this amazing renaissance home are warm, friendly and very helpful. We especially like the mom who waited on all the tables and spoke to everyone and made them feel right at home. We decided to eat at their restaurant each night. The setting was lovely and the food was nice, although the menu was a bit limited as some things were not available. The only thing missing was a view of the rolling hills.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travel36461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent two nights last week at the Villa Armena and we really enjoyed our stay there. Everything is perfect!

- The villa is gorgeous, the owners made a great job there: they rebuilt the entire villa mixing tradition and modernity inside. The rooms are beautiful, very comfortable, with floor to ceiling marble bathrooms with top quality fixtures and fittings. The furnitures of the entire villa including the common areas are top quality, Elena the owner and architect of the place has such a great taste! The attention to every details is just amazing! This results in a great atmosphere, very relax and cosy that makes you feel at home.

- The hospitality was great, Elena, the architect, Edoardo the chef and Laura the sommelier are so nice and welcomed us very warmly. You can feel that they are committed to their family project with so much passion. We had a great wine tasting with Laura who told us many stories about the Tuscan wines and the dinner cooked by Edoardo the chef was wonderful with very creative and delicious food.

- The amenities of the villa are great, very nice terrace, great swimming pool and very good location next to the beautiful villages of Montalcino, Pienza and Montepulciano.

I can’t wait to go back. I truly recommend this superb hotel: everything is top quality there! Congrats to the owners who made a impressive job! They totally deserve their recent accreditation to the Small Luxury Hotels of the World.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay! Everything from the food to the people were perfect. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with lots of amenities. The staff recommended a winery near by where we had a private tasting. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I came across this absolute gem in Tuscany on an overnight trip from Rome to Venice last weekend (22 March 2014).

I was already impressed by its excellent reviews, but even they could not do it justice. From the moment of arrival, greeted by the genuinely welcoming and warm Elena, the Proprietess, it felt like one of those truly special places that you happen across all too rarely.

The review from 4 January 2014 pays Villa Armena many of the compliments that I would also make, but three are worth repeating:

1. The hospitality and genuine interest shown by Edoardo, Elena and Laura make you feel very special. Their personal warmth made it feel like having the run of a friend's house - or better still, as if some wealthy relative has left you their hilltop estate complete with the friendliest people he/she could find in Tuscany. All three speak perfect English and were incredibly attentive hosts.

2. The attention to detail in all aspects: the cooking and homemade foods, the lovely furnishings and architectural touches, the furnishings and layout, the absolutely top quality bathroom fittings and fixtures. All were remarkable. The common areas inside (restaurant and sitting rooms) were cleverly designed to provide warmth and cosiness in Winter, and coolness and escape in Summer, and the external terraces on many levels were intriguing.

3. The atmosphere: unsurprisingly given all of the above, the atmosphere of the place was again very special. Warm, relaxed, easy-going and natural.

My only regret was that I could only spend one night there, but I will find an opportunity to go back.

As I say, a real gem.

Jonathan

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Its taken me a while to write this review, we stayed there for 4 nights last year on honeymoon. Family run hotel where the food, wine & decor are truly impressive. It is definitely pricy & you need to be comfortable with driving but the experience did wow us. We were upgraded & the bathrooom was fab. Loved learning to make pasta in the kitchen with the chef. If you are looking for a real treat in tuscany book here

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0rk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great base for getting to know Tuscany. The staff was excellent:Edoardo, Elena and Laura thank you very much for your kindness!
The room was extremely comfortable, warm and very welcoming. The bathroom was simply to die for. It was really nice to be in such a beautiful hotel- super comfy bed, ETRO amenities, floor to cealing marble bathrooms, excellent Wi-Fi. Everything is quality. We are fans and we'll always choose Villa Armena over any other hotel in Tuscany!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buonconvento
11.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
723 reviews
13.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
447 reviews
7 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
307 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,209 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Armena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armena

Address: Localita San Domenico Armena SNC, 53022, Buonconvento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range: £111 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Armena 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic heart of Tuscany, only 20 minutes from Siena, only a stone’s throw from Montalcino and Val d’Orcia, in a fairytale world exuding magic and beauty, Villa Armena is a late Renaissance structure. Built of red brick, with original oak beams and roof, and having terracotta floors and a beautiful Italianate garden, Villa Armena today is an exclusive establishment with just 10 rooms, each one unique, where service, attention to detail and exclusivity are the cornerstones of our offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Armena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Armena Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing