We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The One Eating Place in Panzano Not To Be Missed”
Review of Il Vescovino

Il Vescovino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Italian food restaurant specialized in local Tuscan products with the best view in the Chianti region.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“The One Eating Place in Panzano Not To Be Missed”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have been going to Il Vescovino for longer than I often care to admit (since 1991). Over the years the place surely has changed but the past few years, under Mario and his team, the food has generally improved. This establishment, in the upper part of Panzano, is housed in a building that is said to date back to the 13th century. The interior is in the Chianti style, with an arched ceiling, wooden beams and terracotta tiled floor. However, the real gem is Il Vescovino’s terrazza panaramica which faces the Conca d’Oro and provides a truly marvelous view and dinning experience on a warm evening as the sun goes down. If you reserve, ask for the table in the TripAdvisor picture, and get ready to be mesmerized.

My wife and I particularly enjoy the fish main which is prepared in what I believe is a Neapolitan style, simple and carefully cooked. One needs to go a long way from Panzano to get better fish in Tuscany (i.e. Florence). The pasta dishes (particularly the lasagna, the eggplant and the fresh pasta with boar sauce) are top drawer, as are the beef carpaccio and steak Florentina. The wine list is good and fairly priced however, we have found the house wines to be quite satisfactory and super value for money.

In the past three years, we have spent in the order of 40 days in Panzano and eaten at Il Vescovino 7 times. It is the one place we look forward to eating at as the service, food and view are all but impossible to match in Panzano. We believe it to be the one eating establishment that should not be missed. Thank you Mario and staff for making our evening on 30 August so memorable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank YYZGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    73
    15
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding views with great Italian cuisine”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A whole family event, felt like being n an Italian courtyard n Saunday afternoon, great service and even better food.
Mosquitos do come out to play here so be prepared. But it will be worth it for the food and great views across the whole of the Tuscany it seems.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NSS225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistently great over the years”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

As I strolled the Sunday market in Panzano I was greated and kissed by the owner Mario who recognised me from my previous visits. We had already planned on going to Il Vescovino again and so we did, twice. Once with English friends and once with Dutch friends (both times including kids). We wanted to share the experience of Il Vescovino with them. The menu, the food and the views are still the same and great. Mario will always have a good advice on an accompanying local affordable wine. If we ask our 8 year old son about his favourite food he always refers to the tagliatelle al cinghiale at Il Vescovino. Both sets of friends now share our enthousiasm and are also keen to return. We too are looking forward to our next visit and the hospitality of the owners.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctg004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Magnificent Food and View”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The sunset from this location is absolutely spectacular....pair that with outstanding food....everything from the burrata ... Through to the tagliatelle with truffles....then on to osso buco or wild boar stew....and finishing 3 hours later with pear tart and tirrimisu was the perfect night

Don't go if you are rushing and make sure to reserve a table with a view

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bichonronni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Went here on our last night of our holiday as it was recommended to us for great food and spectacular views. The latter was correct, however the food wasn't brilliant and the service was terrible! it took ages for our drinks and food order to be taken (20 mins) and then we had to wait another 20/30 mins for our food to arrive, all at separate times so we couldn't eat together! the starters were tasty but the main course wasn't great! I had ordered a seafood dish with pasta, the pasta was under cooked and the seafood didn't taste fresh. This was confirmed by me being up all that night vomiting!! not a great end to the holiday! not once did we have our waiter coming to ask us if we were OK or if the food was good, or thanking us for our custom, we just felt very unwelcome! very disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheeksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata R, Proprietário at Il Vescovino, responded to this review, 11 June 2015
Google Translation
La gestione del ristorante è cambiato due mesi fa. Vorremmo invitarvi a una nuova esperienza nel ristorante Il Vescovino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Vescovino also viewed

Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Vescovino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing