We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Pecille (Azienda Agricola Fontodi S.S.)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panzano in Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Pecille (Azienda Agricola Fontodi S.S.)
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from our third visit to Villa Pecille. Each time we have traveled with a large group. Most recently we had family and friends from Denmark join us for a wonderful week of pure bliss. Everything about the Panzano experience is world class. My family has stayed at three different apartments within the villa during our visits. They are all unique and gorgeous. Besides the first class accomodations it should be noted that the on-site staff is second to none. Gabrielle was gracious and helpful at every turn. Anila, as always, was the best. Her attention to detail is second to none. It's always nice when you haven't seen someone in 4 years and they immediately recognize you and your family. All in all another wonderful trip. By the way, we're already planning our return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkwelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the second time that we have booked a villa in Panzano. This was our first time at Villa Pecille and we would go back in a heart beat. There was 8 of us for a week at the villa - 4 couples. The villa was gorgeous overlooking the vineyards and the valleys surrounding Panzano. It held us all very well, with enough size and space for all us to be together or to have our own privacy. The flowering jasmine outside of our unit was heavenly. The villa was also close enough to be able to walk into town as well. Gabrielle and the staff and Villa Pecille could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a marvelous visit to Panzano with family for my Mother's Birthday (I shan't mention which one!). We were lucky enough to stay in the beautiful Villa Pecille with glorious views over the Conca D'Oro and Fontodi vineyard. The building itself is wonderfully Tuscan and remains cool no matter how hot it gets outside....with high ceilings and large rooms and many different options for large groups or couples. The rooms are spotless and the linens and towels are laundered on site down in the basement. The housekeeper Anila is on hand most days and couldn't be more helpful. You can stock up your cupboards at the weekly local market and then use the nearby supermarket/local produce shops to top up...or of course go out to one of the many lovely restaurants and enotecas. The kitchen is well equipped for simple lunches or full on dinner parties! If you are lucky enough to get to Panzano this is a truly perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraVaverages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently stayed at Villa Pecille with 11 other couples, all college friends. The villa accommodations provided a wonderful experience and setting for a group reunion. We filled the entire villa which was divided into different sections. Our section which had 3 bedroom and private baths, with a large stocked Kitchen, living room and lawn area. Easy walking access to the town of Panzano in 10 min and a local grocery store was great!

We hired a chef for two group dinners held in a large separate room. The Villa cleaning staff, we're hired to set up & clean the table setting. They were so friendly & helpful. The villa & rooms were clean, with linens and towels changed mid-week. Easy short 20-30 min drives to nearby Chianti towns.

The villa is beautifully situated with some of thee most beautiful views I have ever seen. I highly recommend staying at Villa Pecille either as a large or small group and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent a week at Villa Pecille with 10 couples, all friends from college. Sometimes we cookied in the well stocked kitchens, sometimes we walked 5 minutes to Panzano up on the hill to eat in one of the many great restaurants. There were lots of areas in the Villa to get together in small or larger groups. We did a cooking class in one of the kitchens. We had cocktails out by the pool. We ate breakfast outside overlooking the beautiful expanse of the vineyards of the Fontodi Winery surrounding the property. Some of us hiked to nearby towns and wineries. Some of us drove to Siena, Volterra, Montepulciano and other hill towns for the day. There is bus service in the main square of Panzano. There is a well stocked market within walking distance of the villa. There is a laundry room on the premises which guests can use. The staff were extremely helpful to us.

Room Tip: We were in the apartment with four bedrooms and all had views of the vineyards. I think only the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DadAndMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Gabrielle was wonderful. Villa very nice could use a fly swatter since no screens. Visited several wineries in area. Nice k unchanged at Risk or Di La mole and Villa Barone. Lots of curvy roads.3 bus and baths great for small group or family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had the great fortune to stay at Villa Pecille for 7 weeks in August and September 2013 with our 3 small children (ages 4, 2, 1) and absolutely loved it!

Given the length of our stay (I am taking a sabbatical from work), we had initially planned on renting a villa. When we started looking online we were overwhelmed by the number of options, but also wary of horror stories we had read about renting villas sight unseen (things not working, not looking like the pictures, etc.). We read about Villa Pecille in an old Conde Nast article from someone who had rented a villa and later visited Villa Pecille and wished she had stayed there. The more we read about it and corresponded with Gabriele, the more we thought it might actually work better for us, kind of a cross between a hotel and a standalone villa. It couldn't have worked out better. Here are some of the things that make Villa Pecille the perfect vacation spot in Tuscany:

The People: Gabriele (whose title is "receptionist" but would probably be better termed "property manager"), is wonderful. His English is excellent, and he was extremely helpful both before and during our stay. He is at the villa every morning (on his one day off a colleague is there), and can arrange everything from tours to cooking lessons to restaurant reservations. He acts very promptly if there were any issues with anything in the apartments, and even helped us arrange to ship a bag home as we were leaving. He also helped arrange childcare.

The housekeeper Anila, and her sister Rudina, are amazing. The standard housekeeping is less than a hotel - twice a week - but they are willing to do extra cleaning for very reasonable hourly rates. It is impossible to overstate how great an attitude they both had. They were always looking for ways to help, from moving clothes from the washer to the dryer without needing to ask, folding laundry, helping with children, etc. They are really treasures. Anila has been at Villa Pecille for 13 years, and we look forward to seeing her on our next visit back.

Most importantly, we were never, ever made to feel unwelcome. With three very small children, there was often a lot of noise coming out of our apartment. And we had our share of broken dishes, spills, etc. But Gabriele, Anila and Rudina always treated us with so much kindness and understanding. We couldn't imagine a more family-friendly place to stay. And that made all the difference in the world.

The Location: We really wanted to be able to walk to a town, and it was fairly hard to find a villa that was walking distance to a town. Villa Pecille is very well situated in that respect. The walk up into town is a bit uphill, but even with our little kids we managed it fine. Panzano is a great little Italian village, with a little town square where people gather at night for drinks, a handful of restaurants, 2 bakeries, 2 gelaterias, a supermarket, a hilarious world-famous butcher, and more wine shops per capita than just about anywhere you'll ever go. At the same time, the villa is right on the Fontodi vineyard (if their Chianti Classico production is down this year it will be because our kids ate so many grapes) and has absolutely stunning views of the "Conca D'Oro" valley covered in vineyards and olive groves. If you walk to the bottom of the hill, you'll find the white Chianina cows that Dario serves in his famous butcher shop. We sat at our table every morning and marveled about how it looked like we were living in a postcard. Panzano is also very centrally located for sightseeing in Tuscany- more or less an hour from everywhere (Florence, Siena, Arrezzo, Pisa), though the roads are extremely windy so you have to be prepared for that. There is good bus service to Florence (1hr 10min, buses every hour or so). If your main goal was city sightseeing (museums, churches, etc.), you'd be better off staying in the cities, but if you are looking for a relaxed vacation in Chianti with great food, wine, vineyards, and a smattering of sightseeing then it is perfect.

The Villa: The villa is very comfortable and well appointed, and the grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained with flowers and fruit trees throughout. The manager of the other villa in town, Sammy, is an American expat who worked with the architects to set up the villas in a way that would work well for foreign visitors, especially Americans. We stayed in La Colonna, which is one of the two 4 bedroom apartments (the other, La Loggia, is unquestionably quite a bit nicer and would have worked better for us with small children, but was already fairly booked up by the time we made our reservations). The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of plates, glasses, pots, pans, etc. even when we had guests. The bedrooms are all air conditioned, not as powerfully as the central air we are used to in the US, but we only found it lacking on the hottest days in August. There are some oddities of the layout in La Colonna- for example, while every bedroom had a bathroom but there are no bathrooms in the common area which I think is the case in all the apartments and was sometimes inconvenient (though apparently common in Italy). La Colonna has a nice outdoor area to eat, but it is a bit of a trek from the kitchen and is adjacent to the shared pool area (one of the nice things in La Loggia is a covered outdoor porch right off the kitchen). The internet connection was quite good by Italian standards, and thankfully free of all the nonsense vouchers and passwords and constantly logging back in that we found in nearly every Italian hotel we stayed in, but only so-so by US standards (particularly slow at uploading photos, and sometimes went through a few hours of being super slow downloading). However, most of the time it was fast enough for streaming a movie or doing Skype, which is saying something in Italy.

Our chief complaint was probably the swimming pool, which looks beautiful and inviting but is unheated and was shockingly cold, even when the weather was very hot. If you forced yourself in, you got used to the water after a bit, but we had imagined swimming every day with the kids and really teaching them to swim but the water was always too cold to convince our 4 year old to get in. Heated pools are rare in Italy, but in our opinion it would be well worth the investment to add a heater. That would be our one hesitation about coming back- particularly if we were looking for a relaxing holiday around the pool.

Overall, we had a great time and would highly recommend it. We expect to be back (they have some frequent repeat customers who leave luggage at the villa so they don't have to bring everything back, which is a testimony in itself). We were inspired by the group who rented the whole villa (24 people) and found ourselves imagining doing the same thing for a family reunion or special occasion down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panzano in Chianti
0.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
5.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pecille (Azienda Agricola Fontodi S.S.)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pecille (Azienda Agricola Fontodi S.S.)

Property: Villa Pecille (Azienda Agricola Fontodi S.S.)
Address: Via di Pescille 110 | Azienda Agricola Fontodi S.S., 50022 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Panzano in Chianti
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Pecille is located near Panzano, a town of medieval origin in the heart of Chianti, halfway between Florence and Siena. The Villa is an elegant 17th Century building restored to respect the original rchitectural style. From the Villa, which faces the famous Conca d’Oro (Golden Shell) valley, you can enjoy one of the most delightful landscapes in Tuscany, while the town of Panzano with its typical shops and restaurants is only a short walk away. Villa Pecille is composed of five independent apartments, from one to four bedrooms with bath, each with its own garden. Communal facilities include a very large panoramic terrace, two large meeting and eception halls, a large swimming pool located in the garden of the Villa and verlooking the valley, as well as a laundry room for guests with washing machines and dryers. There is also a tennis court available to guests nearby. Each apartment includes a fully-equipped kitchen with dishwasher, a fireplace, an outdoors dining area with barbecue, heating and air-conditioning, stereo, satellite TV, telephone and free high-speed broadband (WI-FI) internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Pecille (Azienda Agricola Fontodi S.S.) Panzano In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing