We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Resort Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We found Vılla rosa on trıpadvısor the Vılla ıs great wıth a beatufull panoramıc pool on the vıneyards. Gıancarl prepared for us a specıal dınner: the best food ever ın ıtaly! Fresh pasta prepared by Nerı (the son) was great! The wıne selectıon was great and wıth affortable prıces.
Hope to see you soon !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alceitalylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2011

This hotel is very romantic, and charming. The staff bend over backwards to help you and will even drive you to the nearest towns if you are like us and don't hire a car. The views from the rooms are magnificent and the food in the restaurant is amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OZTravelers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My sister and I (she from Chicago and I from northern California) have just returned from a mid-October, three-night stay at the Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo, and we’re already dreaming of, and plotting, our return. Our stay was absolutely perfect. Another reviewer, TurtleBayNY, summed it up best, “the place has real charm – the cozy reading room overlooking the rolling hills . . . wonderful outdoor spaces, great food and marvelous hosts. If you are looking for five star American comforts, this is not the place for you. But, if you, like me, prefer places with personality and charm, then this is a real treat.”

Like her, I can’t wait to go back, yet again.

I last visited the Villa Rosa nine years ago with my husband – and although we only stayed one night, it was the most memorable of our entire trip. The genuine warmth of our hosts, the outstanding four-course dinner, the lovely villa and the beauty of the Chianti region had quite an impact on us. Nine years later, my sister and I had the opportunity to fulfill our dream of a girls-only getaway, and the choice was easy – Tuscany and the Villa Rosa.

Thankfully, the villa was just as I remembered it. From the lovely front courtyard, with it’s soothing fountain, roses and geraniums still in bloom, scarlet hued climbing vines and potted dwarf lemon trees to the sun drenched reception room, we immediately felt at home. Nothing here is fussy, but rather, a simple and welcoming oasis of good taste and understated elegance.

Sabine and Giancarlo Avuri, the owners of the Villa Rosa, respectfully and simply restored this large country house without sacrificing the beautiful patina that develops over time. The lovely arched interior doors, thick stone and plaster walls, and original wood beam and brick ceilings have all been carefully restored so as to respect the age and history of the structure. On the main floor, the beautiful Impruneta terracotta floor tiles, laid in a herringbone pattern, blend seamlessly with the rest of the house and highlight the arched brick ceilings, large stone fireplaces and original artwork. Natural light streams in through tall French doors and arched windows while velvet couches, wicker chairs, and Italian table and bed linens lend texture – making the house feel warm and cozy. I love that the owners kept the villa authentic. I love the simplicity as well as the peace and quiet. I love that there is no exercise room, but rather a lovely walk through the vineyards to the church of San Leolino. I forgot how much I love the way a cast iron radiator can chase the chill from a room and how glorious it is to wake up to watch the sunrise from your own private terrace.

We loved returning “home” after a day of exploring to find Sabine or Giancarlo at their desk, with their dog, the playful and beautiful BaBa, curled up on a cushion at their feet. Even better was watching BaBa chase butterflies in the yard. Sabine graciously explained the history of the house and told us the story of how their housekeeper, who was actually born in the house many years ago, approached the Avuris for work upon seeing the house once again inhabited, citing that she wanted to come home.

The bathrooms here are simple, well designed for the space at hand, clean and very functional. We never lacked hot water and the wall-mounted towel warmer was a welcome touch. Bath and hand towels (both, extra large) were changed daily. Very good soap and shampoo were provided. What more could one ask for?

The comfortable bed and wonderfully fluffy pillows (not the awful flat pancake variety) were the best we experienced on our entire ten-day vacation in Italy. One previous reviewer complained of road noise but we experience none at all. Our room, with a private terrace, faced the road, yet there was little to no traffic and no noise whatsoever (perhaps due to it being October?). We slept soundly each night and awoke each morning feeling refreshed.

Breakfast was excellent – again, the best we encountered on our trip. Each morning we were greeted with a variety of fresh rolls and sweet croissants, a basket of packaged crackers, jams and nutella, a variety of yogurts, a generous platter of thinly sliced ham and cheese, a pitcher of fresh orange juice, a steaming pot of marvelous Italian coffee (“moka”) as well as a separate pitcher of frothy warm milk (lovely!) and finally, the thing that I truly appreciated - a basket brimming with fresh fruit. Honestly, why don’t more hotels offer fresh fruit to their guests? The apples, bananas and pears were all at the peak of ripeness; after enjoying several days worth of hearty Italian lunches and dinners, nothing tasted better in the morning. Again, what more could one ask for?

Regarding the home cooked dinners that are available: they are as wonderful as I remembered and still a very good value (25 Euros per person, not including wine). On this trip, my sister and I enjoyed two delicious dinners at the Villa Rosa. On our first evening we started with a platter of appetizers that included three types of crostini: lardo & herbs (a very traditional Tuscan spread), liver pate, and chopped fresh tomatoes with olive oil and fresh herbs. Also on the platter were small wedges of aged pecorino cheese paired with homemade pepper jelly (delicious!) and thinly sliced salami made from cinghiale. The serving was perfectly portioned for the two of us and allowed us to sample items we might not have otherwise tasted. The salami, lardo, and pepper jelly came from renowned butcher Dario of Panzano.

The second course consisted of homemade wide noodle pasta (I can’t remember the name, but it was much wider than pappardelle), perfectly cooked and tossed with leeks, cauliflower and tomatoes sautéed in local olive oil and dressed simply with salt, pepper and grated pecorino cheese. It was incredibly simple yet wonderfully flavorful. We mopped up every last bit.

Our third course consisted of peposo, or slow cooked Italian beef stew seasoned with black pepper (very similar to my grandmother’s slow cooked beef pot roast – browned and slowly braised, and also seasoned with lots of freshly cracked black peppercorns) and sautéed bietola or swiss chard. This was seasonal comfort food at it’s finest. The peposo was fork tender and mouth wateringly delicious. The sautéed swiss chard perfectly complemented the beef and unlike chicory, was not bitter at all. We cleaned our plates yet again.

We also ordered a bottle of Chianti Classico from the Villa Rosa wine list – produced by the winery just up the hill. The wine paired wonderfully with our dinner and was very reasonably priced. The next day, we saw the exact same vintage on the wine list of a local restaurant with a much higher mark up.

Last but not least, we were presented with a basket of delicious cantucci and two glasses of Vin Santo - the perfect way to end a meal. Unlike another reviewer, we loved the cantucci, so much so that we made the effort to bring three bags home. On our ten-day trip, we sampled at least eight different types of these crisp almond cookies and thought that those served at the Villa Rosa were the best. Sabine explained that they were baked by the finest baker in Panzano and told us where we could purchase them in town.

On our second night, we chose to have dinner at the nearby Osteria le Panzanelle – just down the road in Lucarelli. The food was excellent there too, and also a good value. They too had peposo on the menu. I highly recommend the Spaghetti di Pesticcia (with mushrooms and pork sausage).

On our last night at the Villa Rosa, we once again enjoyed dinner in the dining room. This time, Sabine’s son Neri was our host. Despite the fact that we were their only guests and as such, were dining alone yet again, we rather enjoyed ourselves. Neri was an incredibly enthusiastic and charming host. Both he and his parents are fonts of knowledge regarding the region, the history of the house and the food and wine we enjoyed. The conversations we had with them virtually made our trip. But back to the meal . . .

On this, our last night, Neri presented us with a platter of appetizers that consisted of crostini topped with a warm mixture of pork sausage and pecorino cheese (perfecto!), grilled tomatoes topped with herbs, thinly sliced rigatino – a type of Italian “bacon” or salt cured pork belly, Tonno del Chianti – a labor intensive method of marinating and slowly cooking pork that results in a product that is similar to high quality tuna fish in both texture and taste (remarkable and delicious, made by none other than Dario Cecchini), and finally, a small salad of tomato and yellow bell pepper served with fresh watercress and dressed with olive oil. Again, portions were perfectly sized for the two of us and the variety and quality of ingredients were excellent. The “tuna of Chianti” was an especially rare treat.

Our second course – the pasta – consisted of fusilli, perfectly cooked and tossed with a light but luscious meat sauce cooked with the last of the local fresh tomatoes. The dish was garnished with a little torn fresh basil and grated aged pecorino cheese. We practically licked our plates clean.

The third course was a welcome change from all of the red meat we’d been having on our trip. We were served a generous helping of skewered grilled meat – a combination of chicken and pork. Each morsel was perfectly cooked and expertly grilled so as to have a perfect level of charring, yet not be burnt. I cannot stress how succulent the meat was, not a single piece was dry or overcooked. In between the chunks of juicy chicken and pork were cubes of caramelized pork belly fat – absolutely to die for! With this came a bowl of fresh peas, cooked with more Italian bacon, salt, pepper and olive oil, as well as a simple green salad of bib lettuce and fresh tomatoes, and a platter of sinful focaccia brushed with local olive oil. It was outstanding.

Afterwards, Neri offered us ice cream, but we were too full; we opted instead for two glasses of Vin Santo. Neri still brought out the delicious cantucci – which we of course could not resist. We sat for nearly another two hours chatting, drinking our Vin Santo (and later, some Grappa) and enjoying our last night at the wonderful Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo. It was an evening we’ll never forget.

To be fair, one reading this needs to understand that dinner at the villa is not an order off the menu type of affair. It is, instead, the best sort of home cooked meal in which you are a guest at someone’s home. They prepare a wonderful meal using the highest quality seasonal ingredients – all locally sourced, and you are fortunate to be included. The atmosphere is relaxed but elegant. Everyone dresses for dinner. The plates are bone china and the napkins are cloth. There is soft music playing and a candle on your table. If you are looking for preparations that use twenty plus ingredients and molecular gastronomy olive oil foam on your plate, please look elsewhere. The food served here is of the highest quality; best described as Tuscan comfort food. It is a wonderful experience and an excellent value. Please don’t expect to be served the exact items described here. The menu changes with the seasons. Wine is not included in the price, but their wine list (while not as extensive as at many restaurants) is reasonably priced.

For comparison, our meal nine years ago consisted of the following: a platter of appetizers that included baby artichokes, small wedges of an onion omelet, cured green olives, crostini with a type of pork spread and crostini with salted olive oil. The second course consisted of homemade spinach ravioli filled with a type of butternut squash and served with a brown butter sage sauce. This was followed by a green salad with tomato and cucumber, simply dressed with oil and vinegar. Our meat course consisted of pork tenderloin medallions cooked with caramelized onions and pine nuts; it was served with a bit of the wonderful pan sauce from the cooking process. Lastly, we enjoyed a small scoop of banana ice cream with some fresh pear slices for dessert. It was an evening I’ll never forget; the meal was superb and the service excellent, despite the room being filled to capacity. From this, one can see that the menu changes, but the result is always heavenly.
If however, you are not adventurous, but are rather picky eaters, I do not recommend the dinner option.

Finally, I cannot stress enough just how relaxing it was to spend the day exploring the region only to come home in the afternoon knowing that we’d be able to enjoy a lovely dinner, along with a bottle of wine, and not have to drive home in the dark, on unfamiliar roads. By having dinner at the Villa Rosa, you can enjoy the full experience, then simply walk up a flight of stairs and retire to your cozy room to fall asleep, without any guilt or worry whatsoever.

In closing, I only have one suggestion as to how the owners might improve the Villa Rosa: perhaps they might consider offering an honor bar in one of the public spaces, perhaps in one of the main sitting rooms, so that guests might enjoy a nightcap before bed. A tray with various liqueurs, as well as a supply of small aperitif glasses (along with a price list and a note pad), would provide guests with a pleasant way to unwind in the evening. Otherwise, please don’t change a thing.

You can be sure we won't wait another nine years to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedHairedGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This was a very pleasant place to stay...clean, quiet, in a beautiful area. Others have commented on the very gracious "hosts" who we barely saw, but maybe that was because we (my sister and I) visited late in September and were only there three days mid week. The 'authentic Tuscan" dinner left alot to be desired. 25 euro per person without wine for a decent appetizer, bland rotini pasta, horribly dry and overcooked pork, and store bought biscotti!!!! Stay there for a nice quiet room, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This hotel was extremely quiet and although that is what we wanted, it would have been nice to have been able to go down and have a drink but there wasnt any facilities for this or anywhere local to walk to. the nearest town is a ten minute drive away but there are some small towns locally with some nice restaurants. it was a great base to see Sienna, Florence and surrounding towns. the bedroom was small and dark but quite nice however the shower was terrible. there is a pool which i thought could have been tidied up a bit as there are quite a few weeds! breakfast was very basic, just bread, croissant, ham, cheese and tea and coffee. the owner offers a 4 course set meal for 25 euros a head which is just amazing--you have to eat there the food really was the best that we had had throughout our stay and i know other reviewers have said this aswell-but it is true, this hotel is very basic but has lots of character and if it is just a base that you need then it is fine. if anyone wants any further information on things to do locally or transport to the cities and where to go -just ask as we travelled to most of the cities and towns over 7 days by car, bus and trains,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Villa Rosa. It was perfectly central for all the places that we wanted to visit in the region. Villa Rosa is a beautifully renovated Tuscan villa. Our room was large with an equally large terrace. Each morning we opened the doors and shutters to a view that you would see in a travel brochure. The room was furnished in traditional Italian style with very comfortable beds and a nice clean bathroom. The swimming pool was a welcome place each day when we returned from a vist to Florence, Siena, Lucca etc. feeling hot and in need of cooling down.

Breakfast and dinner was served outside on a lovely terrace with a feeling that each individual was being personally looked after by the owners and the staff. Dinner was very good, cooked with the freshest ingredients and at a resonable cost. We liked the food so much that we ate at the villa most nights.

My son (17 yrs) and I took part in the cookery class that is offered. This was low key, fun and a great way to learn the fundamentals of Italian cuisine.

In all, we had a super, relaxing holiday and would not hesitate to recommend Villa Rosa to others.

Grazia !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelBelSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This hotel is almost too good to be true. Beautiful villa smack in the middle of Tuscany at a very reasonable price. What more could you ask for! Ummm....a huge balcony, helpful and friendly owners and a fantastic meal. If you stay, I highly recommend staying for dinner. I cannot say enough about how much I enjoyed my time here. Oh and there's a pool!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SchafG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panzano in Chianti
2 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
140 reviews
6.2 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#6 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
273 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
576 reviews
8.1 mi away
Locanda Il Gallo
Locanda Il Gallo
#5 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo

Address: Via S. Leolino 59 | Chianti, 50020 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Panzano in Chianti
Price Range: £79 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resort Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Resort Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Villa Rosa Di Boscorotondo Hotel Panzano
Hotel Rosa Di Boscorotondo
Resort Villa Rosa Di Boscorotondo Panzano In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing