We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding hotel in Tuscany”
Review of Villa Le Barone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Le Barone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
“Absolutely outstanding hotel in Tuscany”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Beautiful and quiet hotel in Tuscany. Excellent food and service very nice and clean rooms with a wounderful bed. Very nice setting, owners are very hands on and eager to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmiller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    59
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
311
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie in Holland
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The rooms, amenities and service are excellent, with a unique sense of tradition and history. Views over rolling hills, country walks, local historic attractions. Or laze around the beautiful gardens and swimming pool. Genuine hospitality, politeness and friendliness. Top quality food served in a homely style. Very quiet and peaceful, set in lovely countryside.
Not designed for young children or noisier teenagers. But quieter teenagers will enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzaAussieinHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We had a marvelous time at the Villa Barone. The owners are lovely, the staff is fantastic, the area is beautiful. We had a comfortable room in the main house, spacious and clean.
The food was delicious (spinach gniocchi, fiorentina).
There are lovely little tours to do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We just returned from a long Easter weekend in Tuscany. Our purpose was to find the perfect place for our September trip with our friends. And we did at Villa Le Barone. We had about 20 hotels that we wanted to check out, and stopped after 3 when we visited this hotel. We asked if we could see some rooms and were taken on a full tour of the hotel, we were shown all room options available to choose from, we met the owners who had many proud stories to share about the hotel and its evolution. By that evening, we canceled our previous bookings, moved in and enjoyed superb dinners, excursions based on the owner's recommendations, knew most of the staff after 3 days, and were given a travel home picnic for our trip back. We have our reservations for September, what more is there to say - we found our home away from home in Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoystraveling13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman islands
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2010

I have been a travel agent for over 40 years and have traveled extensively, the Villa Le Barone is one of the best stays ever. Great location for exploring Tuscany, great staff, and the owvers are real hands on and a joy to meet.
Took the cooking classes, never has so much fun, the two ladies who did the class didn't speak English and we don't speak Italian, it was hands on and we laughed and made the best food it was a blast.
Can't say enough nice things, would recommend to anyone, I have booked several clients there and they loved it also.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelitalynut1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I stayed at Villa Le Barone from Nov 28th thru December 3rd, 2009. I went alone. It was during the down season, which did not matter to me at all. I went for leisure and relaxation and to open a new world to myself. For the first few days of my stay..I was the only guest. I was treated like a princess and I will never forget the hospitality I received. Villa Le Barone is beautiful. I cannot wait to return. I highly recommend staying there.
This was a true adventure and I miss it so much!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerilovesItaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Blue skies, crystal clear sunshine beating down on vine-laden hills, medieval churches on two sides. Silence.

Great food served with outstanding wine from a vineyard a 10-minute walk away. The Count and Countess patrol the grounds like any old manager would do; they ask after your children, suggest restaurants in the area. The staff are friendly but unobtrusive. The rooms are not the prefab swish designer fare with the oddly-shaped toilets you get in the ludicrously expensive places; these are purely functional, comfortable and clean. The swimming pool and tennis court are great accessories but there's so much around to see you might not use them as much as you think you would.

I would caution that the restaurant is good, but this is not Michelin-star stuff - hearty Tuscan fare. And because it's all made on demand, with local stuff, meals may take a little longer than you're used to.

But what a place. We're heading there with the whole family next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvikingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panzano in Chianti
3.8 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
541 reviews
5.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
437 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Barone

Property: Villa Le Barone
Address: Via San Leolino 19, 50022 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Panzano in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Le Barone 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the timeless landscape of Chianti, in a protected environment, Villa Le Barone has been in the famous Della Robbia family since the 16th century. The old manor house has been renovated becoming an inviting and intimate home, maintaining the character of a private house with its cheerful bedrooms and sitting rooms, furniture, paintings, books and romantic objects of the family past. The heated infinity swimming pool filled with salt water, tennis court, fitness center,fitness trail and terraces are set amongst large rose gardens, with views on the surrounding countryside, olive groves and the vineyards of Chianti Classico. The restaurant serves typical Tuscan food and famous local Chianti wines. Villa Le Barone is ideal for those who love peace and relaxation as well as sight seeing in the Chianti region. Free parking lot, in-room Internet access, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, Fitness Trail, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Le Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Barone Hotel Panzano
Hotel Le Barone
Le Barone Hotel
Villa Le Barone Panzano In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing