We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful day!!!!!!”
Review of Herdade do Esporao

Herdade do Esporao
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
“A wonderful day!!!!!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My friend and I spent a superb day visiting this winery.
Having made our way there by bus and taxi we were greeted by Maria and her trainee who quickly arranged for us to join the Portuguese group as the English group was later and this would have caused transport problems on our return.
The wine was delicious and the guide extremely helpful explaining the various grapes and stages of the processes. The cellars were modern and organised!
We felt it only sensible to part take of the locally sourced food in the restaurant along with a special bottle of red. It was really excellent!
Maria informed a manager of our dilemma re transport and fortunately we were able to join the wonderful Antonio who was returning to Lisbon that afternoon.
Our thanks to all the staff who helped make this an unforgettable visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    95
    43
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The “Name" and “status" aren't everything ”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Herdade do Esporão, as renamed wine producer, should work much more his marketing policies, since the visit to cellar is really poor. The guide don't do any historical reference to how all has begun, who got the idea to start the wine production or why did it begun... She only talked about the littlest part of production and about the importance of U.S.A, Brasil and Angola as the most important exporting markets... I mean, Herdade do Esporão is really important for the economy in this region of Alentejo, but clients and curious are much more than that... For good marketing a better service is needed!

Helpful?
Thank Vasco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food poor visit”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Definitely the marketing is not their best. There were more wines in the menu of the restaurant than in the shop to sell. We had a wine in the lunch that we couldn't buy at the shop.
In the cellar visit we only saw the oak and the stainless barrels and was it. No history, no process.
Don't spend more than the 6€ visit and if you will have luch, pay the menu prices of what you will eat.
The cod fish at lunch was good, friendly staff and wonderful view.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank betocamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 stars Wine oriented lunch...”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It's something i'll recomend to everyone that visits Alentejo. You'll taste very good portuguese olive oil, Amazing red wine Bread, olive bread and the tradicional white bread, and olives. The food gives you the real Alentejo flavours with a more contemporary look, never loosing the essence though. And of course the wine... Riedel glasses to perfect the tasting... you can have botle or by glass so that you can taste a few! The wine is at shop price not restaurante price so you get top quality for your money. Very good meal be careful driving next...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre_Martinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
231 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Winery w Lunch Restaurant - Well worth the trip”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We on the way to Monsaraz, we stopped at this out of the way Winery which has a modern building housing an excellent restaurant. It is a unique setting in the country overlooking a lake with marvelous local dishes and wines. Be prepared to spend at least two hours. Wines by the glass so you could have white with fish and reds with meat were exceptional and reasonably priced.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 6sandy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herdade do Esporao also viewed

Evora, Evora District
Reguengos de Monsaraz, Evora District
 
Monsaraz, Evora District
 

Been to Herdade do Esporao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing