We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In middle of nowhere”
Review of Sojka resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sojka resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malatiny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Hotel Sojka is located in a small village Malatiny in the heart of Slovakia which is unlikely very difficult to reach without having a car. Since the village is not well connected with the towns and villages around, you cannot reach all places of interests you would like to visit. But if you like long-distance hiking, then there is no problem! Unlikely they don't offer any shuttle bus services but you can rent a bike. The hotel is built in old wooden style and I must tell it is very beautiful. Unlikely our room "Dumbier" didn't fit into the wooden style at all and it was also cold and humid. We could hear perfectly what our neighbours were speaking about in the room next to. Since our room was a corner room (2 windows) at the ground floor facing the main restaurant and reception, sometimes we were feeling like in Big Brother reality show - always watched. Our bed and mattress weren't straight so we were rolling on one site and generally it was very uncomfortable to sleep there. But don't worry, you can book massage there! The wellness spa is amazing, you can choose from many different saunas and tropical showers where to relax but unlikely it opens in the late afternoon only. The pool is open all day long and it is pleasantly warm. We have booked a 3-course dinner (you can choose is from 3 options 1 day in advance) but at the end we had a 4-course dinner for the same price plus a welcome drink. We loved their starters, soups as well as desserts, but the second plates were nothing special. The bottled Belgian beer costs there less than in Belgium! They also brew they own Sojka beer (blond and brune - both very good) and if you stay during weekdays, you will get 2 bottles as a present. They have also built cool wooden swing, slide and climbing frames for your children.

Room Tip: Not 1st and 2nd room on the right site of ground-floor corridor in the first building as everyone is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsLynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2009

Just got back from two nights in Hotel Sojka and couldn't recommend it enough. We found the hotel via a review on here and had no real expectations other than it was near where we wanted to be in the Tatra mountains and would be a good base for a couple of days. We arrived after quite a long drive from Bratislava and despite our car fatigue were immediately impressed with the place. The staff were very friendly, the room was small but very cute and the hotel was lovely - picture perfect wooden buildings covered in snow. The best bit though was when we discovered that we were 'all inclusive'. We had thought the 49 euros per person was quite a lot for a small attic room but it all made sense when we found out that this price included a lovely buffet breakfast, lunch (or packed if you were out for the day), all drinks and a three course meal in the evening! Amazing and totally took the hassle out of staying up near the mountains. They also had a large selection of DVDs which you could watch in your room in the evenings which was a nice way to relax after a day sightseeing and a sauna which was all free. The owners, a Belgian guy and Slovakian woman, were very approachable and came and introduced themselves to us at dinner on our first night which we thought was a lovely personal touch. The hotel is indeed well placed for a lot of the main attractions in this region including the mountains and the thermal spas.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to others for a very personal stay in this beautiful region in Slovakia.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Robabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

We were looking forward to stay in Sojka as we are also married couple managing 4* hotel in Bratislava, so except from relaxing in neighboring valleys and attractions our second interest was to compare and see the way how Gerdi and Gabriela do it in their property.
We enjoyed our weekend stay very much! Hotel is very well reachable from the highway exit and also easy to find onwards.
Double-room that we stayed in was small but comfortable and clean. Room amenities include all that you need from a tree star hotel, from safe, TV, radio, shampoos to hairdryer, although we would recommend for a minibar upgrade as there was no fridge in the room and if you are thirsty or up to something small to eat, you have to go down to the restaurant.
Restaurant is very nicely decorated in traditional Slovak style, menu is neither large nor small and you can pretty much find all that you like together with local specialties. We recommend to try some wines from their wine list as they offer one of the best Slovak wines /will not name the brand/.
Breakfast is wide buffet and will suit everyone. Eggs are served upon order. We met the owners every morning in the restaurant and were kindly greeted before seated to the table.
Staff working in Sojka is very polite and helpful.
We loved our stay and will definitely come back again!
Gerdi, Gabriela - thank you for very pleasant weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TNMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

First this is a nice, clean, family oriented hotel run by a friendly and helpful couple. The food is decent, but nothing special. The hotel website takes liberties with description of its amenities however. It states it is hidden in the village of Malatiny. Historically, there may have been a village there at one time, now there are at most two or three houses.
What it there is a pig or chicken farm that lets of a terrible foul oder in the evening as the air cools. The upstairs rooms are hot and you need to open the windows, but the smell is so bad you want to close them. The childrens playground is a sandbox and swing set, The pool is tiny and maybe three feet deep, and heated is an overstatement. They do have books, videos, etc available.
What really torqued me though was the way we treated our reservation. We booked the family room (two bedrooms and a sitting room.) Check in time was 2:00. We called to let them know we were on the road but running late and that we would definately be there by 7. (Our room was reserved with a credit card.) When we arrived they tried to give us two doubles saying that our family room was not availale. It took some intensive complaining - but suddenly, lo and behold, our family suite suddenly became available. No explanation or anything - we were just shown to the suite we had reserved.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mssheilaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank leonroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Rena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malatiny
6.5 mi away
Holiday Village Tatralandia
Holiday Village Tatralandia
#2 of 5 in Liptovsky Mikulas
95 reviews
4.7 mi away
Chalupkovo
Chalupkovo
#1 of 4 in Ruzomberok
123 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Chopok
Wellness Hotel Chopok
#1 of 15 in Demanovska Dolina
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Liptovsky Dvor
Hotel Liptovsky Dvor
#1 of 5 in Liptovsky Jan
252 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Tri Studnicky
Hotel Tri Studnicky
#8 of 15 in Demanovska Dolina
159 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#6 of 15 in Demanovska Dolina
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojka resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojka resort

Address: Nizne Malatiny 104, Malatiny 032 15, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Malatiny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malatiny
Price Range: £55 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sojka resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located in the middle of the Liptov region, hidden in the silence of the village of Malatiny. Sojka resort is not a kind of hotel, that you would expect. The buildings are built in a typical Slovakian style, surrounded by a pleasant garden. It is a place where you really come to rest, where you feel right away at home. Apart from perfect hotel services we offer you the best of the Slovakian cuisine, swimmingpool and wellness and a lot of tourist information and practical tips. Sojka resort also offers 11 wooden houses with three bedrooms, two bathrooms, fitted kitchen, dining and sitting room, balcony and terrace. In the houses, there is an outdoor pool (summer season) and children's playground. After your stay in Malatiny, you will know what Slovakia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Sojka resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing