We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay and great Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,065 helpful votes
“Good place to stay and great Spa”
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Stayed 1 night after Easter with my wife for the 2nd time and we really enjoyed it. Location is between Rota and San Lucar, 45 min from Cadiz and Jerez de la Frontera.

The beach is large and nice but the water was too cold.
Free parking outisde, good buffet breakfast and friendly staff.
The room was on the 3rd floor and with a pool view. Bed are hard and uncomfortable. TV is small but ok and there was free wi-fi internet in room and a minibar. A really good hotel and it was quiet in that period.
Spa is a must see for adults not for kids.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime S, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your comments.

At your entire disposal and waiting to greet you on your next stay.

Jaime Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    515
    137
    44
    27
See reviews for
801
417
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,577 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,138 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Our hotel was the Hotel Elba Costa Ballena, which is a new 4 star hotel that just opened last year. The grounds were beautifully designed with flowers, bushes, and trees, and there were small signs identifying the names of the plants, which was quite unique for Spain. We had a large room on the ground floor, with a big bathroom too. The hotel had modern stained glass windows in the public rooms and there were big lithographs of flowers in every corridor, which gave the hotel a garden motif. The breakfast buffet was stupendous, one of the most complete that I have seen in Spain. The restaurant was huge, with three parts. One was inside the building, another was in an adjacent covered patio, and the third was in an outdoor patio, so you could choose where you wanted to eat. We had a good experience staying in this hotel. The only drawback was that you had to use your car to get to any supermarket or restaurant outside the hotel because everything was so spread out.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime S, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your comments.

At your entire disposal and waiting to greet you on your next stay.

Jaime Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Elegant setting inside and very nice staff. My massage was great and the wife loved her massage/manicure/pedicure. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAC_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime S, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your comments.

At your entire disposal and waiting to greet you on your next stay.

Jaime Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,065 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Wanted to try and stay in this aera for 2 nights in late December 08, part of our Andalucian Trip.
Booked through hotel's Website.

Had a Standard room for 79 Euros a night with breakfast, which was good.
Non-smoking as requested, large and comfy King size bed. Room facing the pool on the 3rd floor, quite away from Lobby.

This hotel is more a Resort than a traditional one, but in December it was ok.
Spa is really nice and big and costs 22 Euros per person per session (cheaper if you buy more sessions).
Parking inside the hotel is not free but outside is free.

Located between Chipiona and Rota, when going out for dinner, we can recommend Rota and the Tapas bar El Nuestro and the good restaurant "El Pesebre". Very good food and quality for reasonable price both of them.

  • Liked — Spa is really nice, breakfast buffet, free parking, big bed
  • Disliked — Small TV
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime S, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your comments.

At your entire disposal and waiting to greet you on your next stay.

Jaime Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Modern, clean, good reception and helpfulness by staff and great location by the seaside. Our balcony although surrounded by a little wall so you had to stand up to look over, was overlooking the extensive golf course. Great buffet meals , something for everyone and great service.
The outdoor pool was heated (apparently!) but was too cold. Unfortunately the indoor spa comprising a pool, sauna, steam room was £20 to use it every time, not mentioned anywhere in the details or on websites!! What a shame!
The beach was simple and had lovely sand and shallow waves. Unfortuantely as we went in October it was sunny but too cold and windy to swim or sit for long on the beach,
To get about without a car, take the bus service to local town of Rota from the bus stop just round the corner from the hotel. It goes 10-15 minutes later than stated on the timetable because this time is actually for a road round the corner - so just wait! You can also get to Cadiz - take the same bus to Rota but get off at the bus station the get on another bus for 1 hour journey to Cadiz. Both seaside towns with little quaint streets, port and fascinating side streets.
Interesting place but don't expect much in the way of entertainment out of season - make your own arrangements and take a good book!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Spa too expensive and we didn't know until we got there
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank williawebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime S, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your comments.

At your entire disposal and waiting to greet you on your next stay.

Jaime Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
1.0 mi away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
1.2 mi away
ALEGRIA Costa Ballena
3.4 mi away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
#1 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
619 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hotel Duque de Najera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel

Property: Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Carla De Orleans | Urban Costa Ballena, 11520 Rota, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing