We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Different From the Surrounding Area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Grady's Irish Bar

O'Grady's Irish Bar
Ranked #15 of 145 Restaurants in Rota
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: O'Grady's has been in business for over 20 years. It is the only Irish owned Irish bar within 100 miles of Rota. We have 3 beers on tap and 16 in bottle (many of which are Irish, American & Spanish craft beers). Great reputation for serving the best bar food in the local area. Dishes include great burgers, shepherds pie, delicious chicken wings, spicy chicken fajitas, etc.. Big mix of clients including Spanish, American, Irish, German, etc...English & Spanish spoken. TV coverage of all major sports, e.G. Rugby, soccer, NFL, gaelic football, hurling, etc...
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Different From the Surrounding Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My fiance and I visited this bar once evening during our trip to Spain. We met the owner that night who seemed very nice and was nice to chat with. The bartender was very sweet and suggested a few things to try.

There were only a few people sitting inside at the time so we had much of the place to ourselves. We played a little pool and got to sit back and relax for a while.

Hopefully we'll go in closer to a meal time and try some of their meals next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann_B1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“one of the best nights I will never remember.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My title says it all. A great party place and wow, if have the stuff I see in pictures from my last visit there are real, I had a great time. Seriously, take a few friends and visit this place. They speak English, German, Spanish and probably a couple of more languages. The place is a good mix of locals, American service members, British and German tourist and probably everyone else. The drinks are strong so be prepared. Only down side is like most of Europe, there is no AC and when the place gets crowed, it gets hot.... But that aside, I highly recommend this place. Will I be back, as soon as the wife lets me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilmcmullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That hot little English blonde... whoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

#1 American hangout in this toilet of a country. You get some spanish riff-raff but they generally know to behave. The staff are great, the food is good and the atmosphere can't be matched. Tell Patrick you're a loyalist protestant and get 10% off your tab!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DixonButtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's a neat little bar, but average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A decent selection of spirits, nothing fancy. Although the food was good, Shamrock's burger is much better but it is a bit of a drive from Rota, so O'gradys has the location. The music was really good! And yes, it was mostly Americans. If your willing to drive to Chipiona, The Trinity Bar is the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
193 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Small Friendly Bar - Typical Bar Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stopped in here a couple of weeks ago whil staying in hotel across the street. Was by myself so I sat at the bar had a couple of pints and then ordered some food. Very good Bacon Cheeseburger and filling. Bacon Cheeseburger was not on the small menu but I overheard another patron ask for it so I knew it was there.

Patrick was a very friendly bar keep and it is a nice small pub close to hotel for something other than the typical spanish food at the other places...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sdf1kks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Grady's Irish Bar also viewed

Rota, Province of Cadiz
Rota, Province of Cadiz
 
Rota, Province of Cadiz
Rota, Province of Cadiz
 
Rota, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to O'Grady's Irish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing