We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well established Hotel in the middle of Southern Spain's best resort area.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Playa de la Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Playa de la Luz
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A well established Hotel in the middle of Southern Spain's best resort area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you have the opportunity to visit Spain try your best to make down south to the small one time fishing village turned resort town of Rota and make sure you stay at the Hotel Play De La Luz. Its a classic spanish hotel right on the beach with everything one could want including a couple of pools, a beautiful beach, horse back riding, nature trails and yes the most friendly hotel staff you will find in Europe. The cost is a little more than most Americans are used to paying but it is Europe and everything is more expensive then we are used to paying. I cant wait to go again and yes, I will be back.

Room Tip: No matter what room you get you will enjoy it. BUT, stay away from the pool area, it stays busy int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilmcmullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your very nice words about our Hotel Playa de la Luz.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, that you had a wonderfull stay and we hope to see you back soon,

Best regards and thank you,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    198
    51
    10
    11
See reviews for
153
213
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cologne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

tention to Detail is evident right down to the lovely embossed slippers and extra fluffy, bathrobes. The hotel has a very high standard for clean! The first time I stayed I was in a large suite with separate living and sleeping areas.
I love this place and the people!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnukman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your very nice words about our Hotel and of course about our Staff.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and holidays and we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Superb hotel with very attentive staff, clean rooms, impeccable facilities and lots of activities for visitors. I would definitely stay here again if looking for a true beach side resort in Andalucia. Only tip to travelers is that, due to the location you'll need to use a car or cab to get into town--not a lot of restaurants or bars within walking distance, although Cafe Almadraba was a hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our hotel Playa de la Luz.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and of course our very nice and large beach.
We have a lot of facilities to have a nice beach holiday, also our beach club, looking on the see, is a very nice place to be.

Hoping to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent about a week here the end of March. Hotel rooms are very nice and surround a beautiful large pool area. Hotel is right on the beach though don't recommend swimming as very rough. While the breakfast buffet is okay, don't eat dinner there, not good at all. Service at front desk is very helpful.

Room Tip: The junior suites actually have the bedroom window opening on the ocean; very attractive. Suggest g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments.
It help us to improve ourselves every day.
We hope to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Attention to Detail is evident right down to the lovely embossed slippers and extra fluffy, bathrobes. The hotel has a very high standard for clean! The first time I stayed I was in a large suite with separate living and sleeping areas. The bedroom windows had decorative safety bars and double windows so I felt very safe leaving my windows open and listening to the ocean waves all night long. The second time I stayed I had a large standard room that over looked the beautiful courtyard. That room was also large but the living and sitting areas were together. Both rooms had a lanai with chairs to enjoy the beautiful courtyard. I highly recommend the Sangria which is one of the best in town (I can say that with confidence since I actually live here too) Don't miss Happy Hour in the Hotel's Restaurant. I believe the hours were from 5-7. Both rooms had two twin beds which were pushed together which I suppose is a European King? Either way, I was very comfortable and there were plenty of extra blankets and pillows stored within the room. Breakfast was delicious! This was more like a hot American Buffet complete with scrambled eggs and bacon. I've had the privilege to stay at the Playa de la Luz twice even though my house is only a mile away. Both times were for retreats and I am looking forward to the next time that I can "get away from it all". There are several restaurants within walking distance but I would recommend taking a taxi to go further into town which will cost about 3 euros each way.

Room Tip: Suites with an ocean view also have a lanai where you can sit and enjoy the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlebombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel Playa de la Luz.
We are glad that you come to our Hotel, having your house so near, that says a lot of your staff and our facilities.

We hope to welcome you back soon and I hope I can say hello personally to you.

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a nine day stay.

We enjoyed ourselves and have returned suitably relaxed.

On the plus side, the hotel is high quality and it shows wherever you go. The grounds are well kept, pool area clean and the staff are pleasant and helpful.

The buffet style dinner at €20 is not cheap and the quality of food is not reflected in the price.

If booking, the standard double is in fact a twin room with two single beds. This issue resulted in a heated discussion at check-in but was eventually resolved.

WiFi has been mentioned before and the hotel have promised upgrades. It would seem that the upgrades have not taken place as the speed is still painfully slow (taking a minute to load the BBC home page).



Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments, it always help ut to improve ourselves.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
About the room, we have all kind of types of rooms, with twin beds, king side beds, Junior Suites..., last week-end we were fuly booked, so maybe for the reception it was not easy to find just what you wanted.
And for the Wifi, we have already improved it, we have now 2 systems, a normal one, that if the hotel is fully booked it is maybe not so quickly and a high speed, that is not free, but is not expensive either.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night and had a relaxing and enjoyable break. The large room had a separate sitting room and impressive bathroom. The bedroom looked directly on to the beach. The hotel is nicely laid out with a good variety of eating and drinking options. The staff, without exception, we're courteous and helpful. There are some good walks next to the hotel and there is always something going on at the beach. The only complaint is the rather restrictive hours (1000 - 1500) that the pool is open. Apart from this I can think of no better place to have a break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time.

We hope to see you back soon,

Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
3.4 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Duque de Najera
4.6 mi away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
23.9 mi away
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri
#2 of 12 in Novo Sancti Petri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#6 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa de la Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa de la Luz

Property: Hotel Playa de la Luz
Address: Avenida Diputacion s/n, 11520 Rota, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rota
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rota
#2 Business Hotel in Rota
#5 Family Hotel in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa de la Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the beach, surrounded by dunes and pine forests, the hotel faces the Atlantic Ocean. With traditional Andalusian architecture of only two floor, the 210 guest rooms are placed around two large garden patio areas, with all the whitewashed charm of an Andalusian Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Playa de la Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa De La Luz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing