We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great golfing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
Cadiz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great golfing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

A great hotel for us as we were playing golf every day, just a couple of minutes walk to the first tee. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast and evening meal was very good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    418
    138
    51
    31
See reviews for
518
371
6
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iceland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here before and I really like it :)
Highly reccommend :)
The food buffet is really good the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The golf course is very nice.
I will be back and I would love to come back during the summer time and spend the time with my family here :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steinihfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a review for the golf only. The excellent rating is given on the basis of 27 great golf holes as designed by JMOlazabal, 9 hole par 3 course and fantastic practice facilities. Yes, there are better courses out there and better locations to go if you just want to play golf but we go as part of a team each year and undertake pre season coaching in Mar and I have really struggled to find another location that has the same facilities with good weather (ie 20-25c) at that time of the year. We only use the hotel for eating and drinking and it is 100% fit for purpose but if you are just going for a hotel break then I would not go here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at other Barcelo hotels and this has been my worst experience. The rooms are dirty and full of ants. The dinning room is a mess and chaotic. Not enough silverware, food all over the place, kids shouting....
The Pool is good and the beach which is within a short walk is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Permart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is our third year at Barcelo's Costa Ballena. It is an excellent hotel for your family beach holidays. Kids just love it; kids activities are well organized and the entertainers are friendly and engaging. Parents feel totally safe and can relax at the pool or at the wonderful beach -- walk 800 meters or take the hotel bus. Staff is friendly and well-prepared.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmaFamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexilhoeira Grande, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We arrived at the hotel looking forward to the Spa - as advertised. Closed but could we stay extra nights as it was to be open for week-ends!!
Dinner in buffet style worse than appalling and with raw meat and fish open to bacteria on the counter for considerable time I would not recommend this hotel to eat in to anyone. That is unless Barceló management take a grip. We sent an Email following the dinner and it was left to a junior manager to try and sort out problems. He was responsible for golf reservations!! Directors or senior management seem not to care. This could be that with austerity taking control the accountants are directing management.
Within the dining area the windows were so dirty that my wife could not see out.
Barceló advertise an Andalucía gastronomic experience in their other restraint. The junior manager knew nothing about this and it turned out that this was the "snack-bar"!!
Sorry Barceló you have fallen far short of Spanish levels. Are there good Barceló hotels about?
To make up for the above the staff were good

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank roderick3250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
0.4 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Duque de Najera
13.4 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
11.5 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa

Property: Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa
Address: Urb Costa Ballena - Avda Reina Sofia s/n, 11520 Rota, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rota
#4 Family Hotel in Rota
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa**** hotel, built in typical Andalusian style architecture, is located on Costa Ballena, between Rota and Chipiona, in the province of Cadiz. It is located opposite a golf course with 27 holes and close to the white sand beaches of Costa de Cadiz, and offers a free shuttle service to the beach during the summer season. The rooms at this cosy hotel boast spaciousness and light; they are fully equipped and have lovely terraces with direct views of the swimming pool and golf course. Relaxation seekers will love the U-Spa which offers all the latest health and beauty treatments as well the super relaxing water therapy circuit. Sports enthusiasts can enjoy the privileged environment and enjoy the wonderful horse riding routes, bike rides, paddle tennis, football pitches.... During the holidays, the youngest members of the family can enjoy themselves with the fun-packed programme of water, sports and leisure activities that take place daily under the supervision of our entertainment team, both in the hotel gardens and in the miniclub. The hotel also has a buffet restaurant where you can savour the typical Andalusian cuisine and an exquisite selection of national and international dishes. Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa offers you the possibility to perfectly combine work and pleasure. The hotel offers 5 fully equipped meeting and convention rooms, the rooms also have a large outdoor area which is the ideal location for hosting cocktail receptions, sunset dinners, etc. Come and discover this paradise of beaches and dunes in Cadiz and enjoy an unforgettable holiday with your partner or family in a hotel that has recently been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Barcelo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf Hotel Rota
Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf And Spa
Barcelo Costa Ballena Hotel
Barcelo Costa Ballena Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing