We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap And Cheerful Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porlamar Apartments
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed in These apartments end July for 12 days. Had to phone the number provided on the gate within 5 minutes the "wee man" arrived. He took our luggage down to our apartment for us (we stayed in 122) and had no problem chatting to us in english. Told us we could pay next day for our safe key when he would bring us our missing kettle. 6pm next day he brought us a kettle. The maids were in every day cleaning and providing clean towels except for Sunday. The maid with the red hair is called Margarita, she is always smiling and is very helpful if you need anything doing even although she doesnt speak english she knew what you were asking for. The apartments are small but the balcony was very spacious with table, chairs and two sunloungers. We had a side view of the sea and marina.
For the first few days it was very quiet around the pool and the bar wasnt opened but as the apartments became busier with more people arriving the bar opened during the day. Juan the barman was a character and had many stories to tell. He held a BBQ one night, with the help of his wife and two kids, Kimberly and Kevin 33 guest sat down to eat...@ 11.50 euros each it was a bit of a rip of.
There was a mixture of British, Irish and Spanish guests and everyone got on very well and spoke to each other.
There is a few small issues that do need sorting out with these apartments but overall the location, the cleanliness (even the toilets at the pool were spotless), the friendly atmosphere and the price well outweighs these small issues.
My husband and I had a fantastic holiday and met some really good people, we would definately go back to these apartments.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoltonSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We arrived there and there was noone at the reception desk, 10minutes later a guy turns up after we call them! There is no air con or even a fan. We stayed there for 7 days and they only change the sheets after 7 days?! At the end of the day you can't expect luxury with the low prices. You get what you pay for. I went in a group of 6 students and we still managed to have a good time! The sofa bed is a couch with a sheet and pillow lol

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

As three students we were looking for a holiday on a budget, and when we arrived at Porlamar we were impressed by the value for the amount we paid (£200 including flights from travelrepublic for a week in July). We arrived on the 8th July and although there was no-one there we rang the number provided on the gate and a man arrived very shortly after. The apartments were very clean; I read reviews saying they were a little dated but to be honest it really didn't matter to us! Clean towels, sheets etc provided every couple of days. Balcony had a beautiful view and was really spacious yet private. We were very lucky in that we went a few days before the school holidays began, and so the first two days we had the whole pool area to ourselves! The bar only opened towards the end of the holiday when more people arrived, but the food and drinks were good and the barman a real character. Brilliant location too, tucked away around the hillside from the main town centre so quieter, but only a ten minute walk to the beach, which is lovely. Also very near to a cheap supermarket, only 5 minutes walk. The only thing was that the room got very hot at night and we were reluctant to open the windows, since on the first night we found that if left open some unwanted visitors may get in! Cockroaches are not signs of uncleanliness in Gran Canaria, you will see them in the evening on the paths and in the parks - there was a can of spray in our apartment which dealt with them fine, but if you leave the balcony door or any windows open when you go out for the evening you may find a cockroach has snuck in upon your return! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Porlamar and thought it was great value for money, along with beautiful weather and a gorgeous sea view. There are some lovely restaurants around the beach area - the Beach Club restaurant on the right hand side of the harbour wall does lovely food for excellent value. The area can be a little touristy, but we tended to avoid these areas anyway. Would definitely recommend Porlamar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Got back from here yesturday and it was an amazing holiday the resort has such a freindly welcoming atmosphere and all the people at the apartments were so friendly the day we got there the bar opened and the guy organised a barbecue for us around the pool. the rooms were cleans we had a clean come most days with new towel they were also very friendly towards us if your looking for a cheap budget holiday with a nice atmosphere this is the place for you. the resort itself was really nice with plenty of restaurant to eat out and even a Mc Donald at the main shopping centre they was also a small area with bars and club were the people that worked there were very welcoming. ignore bad reviews what would you expect if you pay so little its not going to compare to a 5 star hotel. but if your on holiday and more bothered about going out and exploring the island then sitting in hotel then its fine ~ negatives.
-no air-conditioning but we brought a fan at the beach shop for 15euro
-also no WiFi based at hotel but you can buy one online for about 20 euro for 7 days because a WiFi covers the hotel area
also most bars a restaurants had free WiFi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just arrived back from 7 nights at this complex. 15 - 22 July 2012.

You get what you pay for. The complex is clean and tidy could do with updating a bit definately needs Air-con.

When we arrived there was no reception open, there was a phone number we had to call and a man turned up about 10 - 15 mins later. He booked us in and gave us our key to room 124 and told us where to go. He kept my boyfriends passport and got it back 2 days later when we were on our way out and the reception was actually open.

The apartment was basic, the bedroom was small stuffy with one window, 2 single beds, double mirrored wardrobe and no aircon through out the apartment. So through out our holiday the apartment was like a suna.

It had patio doors which opened up on to a descent size balcony with table 3 chairs and 2 sunbeds. The patio doors stayed open every night as it was so hot. There was a nice view of the harbor over to the right.

The kitchen had a fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster 2 rings to cook food on. We had NO kettle so heated water in a sauce pan all holiday. There was enough cutlery, plates, cups, glasses for 3 people. We had a frying pan, chopping board and 3 different size pans.

The bathroom was pokey with toilet, bath/shower and sink with a window.

The apartment was cleaned every other day with clean towels and bed sheets changed once. The cleaners were friendly and they also did the washing up that was left.

The pool was lovely and cleaned daily. On our first day the pool bar wasn't open and was covered in dust. However on the second day the pool bar was open and stayed open every day of our stay. There were plenty of sunbeds which we didn't have to fight for.

The beach was about a ten minute walk down 42 steps. The beach was clean and sea was great to cool off in. The beach does get very busy. If you do get chance try Amadorers Beach about 10 - 15 min drive in taxi cost of 3.60 Euros each way. The sand there is white Californian so doesn't burn your feet like the other beach does.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay we made some new friends and had a great time. The weather was very hot and got a great tan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tazabeth1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

got dropped off here and found it locked and abandoned. rang the number and a man came to let us in, took our passport and said he would return it tomorrow got it 3 days later the only other time we say him. he directed us to the apartment on a map upsidedown so i asked him to show it to us. we were informed that the shop in the complex wouldnt be opened or the bar either. we were the only ones in the whole of the complex for the seven days in middle of june. the apartment was nice and of good size with kettle, cooker, fridge and microwave. no air conditioning. television didnt work, asked about it on the the third day when finally got passport back and was told he would make a phone call and come back to me, that was the last time we saw him. also spent lot of the time in the apartment killing cockroches. only good thing was we did have the pool to ourselves. overall comment, KIP wont be back. oh ya forgot cranes and building work going on all around us so prob not the best time to go here (June).

Room Tip: room in a different appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keithb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

When you are dropped at this location you will probably find it locked and abandoned like we did. We rang the phone number on the gate (hope you have a mobile or change for the public phone) and a man and woman arrived by car in about 5 mins. They took us to a one bed apartment and left after taking my passport. I was told that I could have it back tomorrow.
The notice on the locked reception said it would be manned 9am to 1pm and 5pm to 9pm. Wrong it never opened. The apartment wasn't bad but was very tired and in need of updating. Our apartment didn't have a kettle so we boiled water on one of the electric rings. It did have a microwave oven and a coffee making machine. The bedroom was small with no aircon but did have a small window. The two twin beds were a basic wooden frames with a thick piece of hardboard over it and a mattress. My bed was very noisy and made my wife complain when I turned over in the night. The bathroom has a sink, shower and toilet. It is a small bathroom, that small that you can sit on the loo and wash you hands at the same time.
We discovered that there were two other couples in the complex. One couple left after 4 days and the other couple after 5 days leaving my wife and I alone in the complex which was a little strange.
There was a bar there but that didn't open and judging by the layer of dust hadn't been open for some weeks.
The good thing was that we had the pool to ourselves nearly every day and dived in and practiced bombing despite the notices as there was nobody to stop us (life on the edge!).
After 3 days and seeing no staff and the reception never open I wondered if I would see my passport again so I rang the number left in-case you needed anything but never got an answer.
However I happened to see the man who let us in attending to the garden and got my passport back. I also after much sign language etc. got a kettle that looked like it had been bought from a second hand shop but worked.
The best part about these apartments is their location, close to the harbour with shops, bars and restaurants. Also the large balconies with a view of the harbour if you look to your right.
The negative side is the lack of any reception bar etc. which didn't worry my wife and I but could worry someone on their own or of a nervous disposition.

Room Tip: Unless you speak Spanish you will get one of the rooms close to reception staring at 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisoMCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
#5 of 67 in Puerto Rico
579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#11 of 67 in Puerto Rico
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#24 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,966 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#30 of 67 in Puerto Rico
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leticia Del Mar Apartments
Leticia Del Mar Apartments
#42 of 52 in Puerto Rico
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porlamar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porlamar Apartments

Address: Avenida El Gavilan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range: £36 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porlamar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porlamar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porlamar Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Porlamar Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing