We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nido del Aguila
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad all inclusive”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed at this hotel last week, when we arrived we were allocated a room facing amadores beach, but we had to ask to change this as the room smelt really bad, window and doors were open when we arrived so I take it they were trying to make it smell better. We asked at reception if we could move and they changed us no problem. The room we were given had recently been done up so was nice,but only had maids 3 days out of 7. we went all inclusive and found this terrible. No choice in food only vegetables we had at lunch and dinner for the 7 nights were tinned carrots and green beans, food was always cold and you had to wait ages on them bringing fresh stuff out when trays were finished. Been to loads of all inclusive hotels and never had such a poor choice in food, no snacks between meals only breakfast, lunch and dinner and bar shuts at 10.30. If we had went to this hotel self catering it would have been fine, but I would'nt advise all inclusive

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jckbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    95
    79
    28
    39
See reviews for
67
125
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Stayed at these apartments for a few days in December 2009, we had stayed in them before but this time we had the All Inclusive offer, which we thought was quite good. The complex is only a 2 star and we didnt expect too much, but the food was very good................lovely bacon in the mornings and lunch and evening meal all served at specific times. The money you pay it was worth it for the drinks alone to be honest. Would have this deal again. (£25. a night this includes your apartment, Food & Drinks!) Puerto Rico always seems to be sunny, we have never had a bad day in all the 8 visits we have made to the resort. A short walk takes you to Amadores beach, this has always been lovely, but on this occasion the water was not very clean. The bars and restaurants around it are popular and there is a lovely walk around the coast into the centre of Puert Rico itself. We always aim for Tiffany's bar, cheapest by far. We will probably end up in puerto rico again next December as well!

Helpful?
3 Thank ReesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We had a really good time at these apartments. Everything was spot on. We were greeted at Reception with a smile and the receptionist carried one of the suitcases for us. The food was basic but adequate with plenty of choice and the chef was prevalent daily, always well turned out and with a big smile. All staff were friendly and helpful and the Manager appeared daily in the restaurant to check on the temperature of the food as well as the amount and display. The apartments were cleaned daily, with fresh towels and again cheery staff. We were located at the Lara Apartments which had a heated pool but there was a choice of 3 pools. Some of the sunbeds need replacing but most were new. The apartments are located at the top of the canyon opposite the Europa Centre so the local bus to the foot of the hill was welcome, costing 90 cents. This bus also travels to Playa Amadores next door. Taxis are in abundance. I had seen some pretty abrasive reports on the Internet so took note of how other holidaymakers found the apartments and got a good response. We have stayed in very upmarket hotels on our travels so don't give these comments lightly. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helens939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

me and my boyfeind stayed here all inclusive start of january for a nice chilled out holiday to start the year off................wish we hadnt botherd.. this hotel is horrid....im not usually one to complain but really this place is beyond a joke.. we were first put into a room which looked into and i mean a stone throw away from the "resturant" more like old smelly greasy spoon cafe ....we then got moved to a room on the main road with a horrible squeeky door banging every 5 minutes.oh by the way the door wouldnt lock correctly,.....so not much security there.... so after the bad room we thought ach well lets just get on with it went up to "resturant" to get our all inclusive dinner ......to find lettuce a tray of gravy and 1 single onion ring ......bearing in mind it wasnt late only about 7 pm dinner was untill 9.30. ended up out for pizza that night .in the morning we went to reception to enquire about what the deal was with food...fat load of good that was she was so rude told me i was lying there was food there and was not willing to help one bit .Next morning we tried again for food not much better . we only stayed there 3 nights in which time we had 1 towel between two of us and did not see a cleaner once anywhere near our room . the hotel was so bad we left after the 3 nights n payed for other accomodation . Holiday totally ruined because of this hotel . I would really advise anyone not to book this hotel it is a total waste of money ..

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We had a lovely holiday - the rooms were always clean and the staff nice. The area is good for partying and seeing culture as well. The beach was good (althoguh down ALOT of steps). We ate breakfast there - definaely recoment that!
A good place, and good value I think. I'm glad we didn't read any revews first

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jed127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Just back from staying 1 week in the Nido, and we got what we paid for,basic clean accomodation (cleaners cleaned 3 times in 7 days). My husband found the bed uncomfortable but i slept fine,we ate out everyday so can not comment on food,but others told us it was fine.
The Nido is at the very top of the hill, the europa Centre 5 mins walk away,full of many shops and restaurants,you will need taxis up and down(unless you are very fit) taxis cost about 3 euros each time,.
Beware of timeshare reps,they are everywhere and constantly hassle you especially around Puerto Rico beach,its one big con just keep walking,I preferred Puerto Rico beach to Amadores as the sand was not as gritty.
Overall can not wait to go back but we probably stay at the bottom of the hill next time.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demontartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2010

On arrival at the Nido we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, Working for a hotel myself your face is the first they will see so you like to make that good impression. Our rooms were on the ground floor right next to the pool - Spot on place!! Our rooms were clean, Beds a little uncomfy but after a few drinks down the pub you wouldnt notice, Bathrooms were clean and Kitchen did what it had to. We felt safe knowing there was a secuirty guard walking round the building over night who was very friendly, Also our travel rep was fantastic we had many laughs with him and we always knew where we could find him if we needed anything! We did the 746 steps which was a very nice walk down (Not suggested walking back up them though haha) to the beach which was where we ate breakfast most mornings - Which you couldnt fault it was out of this world, the service was impecible to. To those of you who had a poor holiday or didnt like the Nido im glad i didnt let your reviews put me off, as our group really enjoyed themselves and had no faults with any of the holiday. So WE will be returning maybe for another new year with you!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopylou_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#35 of 68 in Puerto Rico
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mozart Apartments
Mozart Apartments
#36 of 68 in Puerto Rico
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#31 of 68 in Puerto Rico
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nido del Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nido del Aguila

Property: Hotel Nido del Aguila
Address: Calle Roque de los Muchachos s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nido del Aguila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Superbreak UK and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nido del Aguila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nido Del Aguila Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing