We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing & peaceful week in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Terraza Amadores
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing & peaceful week in the sun”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We've just returned from a week here and what can I say? If you're looking for a place to chill out then you've just found it. The complex is small - only about 40 or 50 apartments. At check-in we were offered a glass of wine or water and this was a first at any place we've stayed before. Although I had requested a high floor, we were given a room on the ground floor which I actually preferred because we were close to the pool. The apartment is a great size & the kitchenette has all the things you need for a self-catering holiday. My only suggestion would be for the hotel to think about fitting air-conditioning in the bedrooms. It was roasting hot and we had no choice but to hire a fan from reception for the week or we wouldn't have slept at night because of the heat. We had a problem with our room key card one day and the reception was closed but there is an emergency number to call. We phoned it and within 5 minutes the receptionist had come down and sorted us out. Apparently having your room key beside a mobile phone can deactivate it. Lesson learned!
Mel & Tracy and the rest of the staff at the pool bar work hard to look after you and the food & drinks were v good!
This was our first time staying in Amadores but you're only 4 euros in a taxi round to Puerto Rico if you want a livelier time. The beach and the promenade at Amadores are gorgeous and there are some fab restaurants like Ciao Ciao if you like Italian food or Memsaab Fusion if you prefer Indian food! I would also recommend a trip to Mogan on the ferry from Puerto Rico. It's a lovely quaint town and has great shops for a wander round.
All in all, I would not hesitate to come back to the Terraza Amadores because we had a lovely relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    90
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
106
164
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have been back at work for just over a week now, and are missing the Terraza already! On arrival we were greeted at reception and offered a glass of wine or cool water, this has never been the case with other appartments we have stayed in. This was at 10.00 in the evening as we had a later flight, and had stopped off at the supermarket to get some essentials.

The appartments are spacious and very well finished, being fairly new. We had a good sized balcony, and views of the courtyard, and sea. The maid service was very good being visited most mornings for cleaning and fresh towels etc.

The pool bar, what can I say, very friendly, offered good basic fair, at very reasonable prices. A weekly BBQ, and Sunday roast. Both were eat as much as you like, and very well cooked. Mel and Tracey worked very hard, alongside Toni and Eric, and were busy most of the time. Happy hour was well liked, and the beer very cold. Nice to see the glasses stored in the freezer for an ice cold pint. Not every bar does this.

Amadores is a quiet place that suits us, the beach is lovely being a short 5 minute walk down the slope. No steps! There are plenty of beach bars and restaurants to, for variety.

All in all we give this 5 stars, because it is such good value for money, such a clean well maintained property, and a first class pool bar. We deffinitely want to return next year, and if you book it, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the courtyard/pool are probably best. Some rooms overlook the access road to app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KahlessNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Jeff, Carol and Rosie, Just got home from a fantastic two weeks holiday. On arrival the lovely Nieves greeted us with a cool glass of wine and water she was so helpful all the time. Then down to the pool bar and meeting Tracey and Mel. Tracey came over straight away and welcomed us and asked if we would like something to eat, even though it was after they stopped cooking. The weekly BBQ was great so much food and same goes with the Sunday Roast again sooooo much. Toni and Eric also are so lovely and fun. It was my birthday and Eric made this fantastic cake for me it was to die for, wished I had got the recipe will have to get it next time.
The room 205 was really nice every thing we needed and when we asked for a kettle and additional sun bed they were there by the time we got back to our room. Nothing was too much bother for anyone. There were so many people there who have been going back year after year and we can see why. We are defiantly going straight down to the travel agent to book for next year, as one of the guest same, another for the September club.
We walked into Puerto Rico that too around 25minutes but the views were breathtaking and you did not notice the time. There are so many Bars to visit, Piccadilly and Riders are ones not to miss.
So roll on next year and we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 205 onwards were great very large balcony and fantastic view of the beach and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East KIlbride
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just returned from 10 days at Terraza Amadores, although we had a good holiday it would have been much better if we hadn't been allocated Room 106. Rooms 101 - 106 are on the ground floor and directly across from the Pool Bar, which is open from 9am until around midnight, but holiday makers aren't encouraged to leave when the bar closes and can stay there talking until they feel like returning to their rooms - so it was rather noisy.

The family who run the Pool Bar are very welcoming and friendly and the food and drink is reasonably priced, but if you don't want to be the life and soul of the party, and engage in the weekly BBQ (Thursday) and daily happy hour (between 4pm and 5pm) then ask not to be given Room 106.


Also, Rooms 101 - 106 don't have any windows that can be left open to let the air circulate, so they can be rather warm and stuffy. As they are on the ground floor you don't get any privacy on your balcony or within your apartment - unless you keep the curtains drawn at all times. You can leave the bedroom patio door open a little, and it can be secured with a blot, but then you are subjected to the noise from the Pool Bar.

On the plus side the apartments are spacious and well equipped, they are cleaned 5 times per week, and towels changed regularly. The sheets were only changed once during our 10 days, but you come to expect that. The complex as a whole is nice and clean and if travelling with young children would be ideal, as there are only around 42 apartments so everyone gets to know or recognise one another.

The bathrooms were excellent, as they had a separate walk-in shower, so no bath to climb in and out of and no flooded bathroom.

The Spar shop on the complex is well stocked with day to day essentials and is reasonably priced.

The complex is within walking distance to both Amadores (5 mins) and Puerto Rico (20 mins), both of which have plenty of places to eat and drink. If out in Puerto Rice you must try Miami in the CC, the food is delicious and the staff really friendly. If staying closer to the complex then Grill Amadores is amazing, Santi the owner/waiter is really friendly and passionate about his food and pleasing his customers - and it's very reasonably prices.

We would definitely go back to Terraza Amadores on the condition that we were allocated another apartment - definitely not Room 101 to 106.

Room Tip: If you are looking for some privacy and peace and quiet don't let yourself be allocated Room 101...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAN24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I booked these apartments after looking at trip advisor reviews and i was not disappointed. These small and friendly apartments have all you need for a lovely relaxed holiday in the sun. Very helpful reception staff who waited until midnight to book us in. The bar staff Mel, Tracey, and their daughter Toni were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to please. Happy hour between 4-5pm was popular. These apartments are only a short walk to the beach and a taxi ride uphill to the commercial centre. The quiet relaxing pool area always had plenty of sunbeds. We had a spacious apartment beside the pool area with a terrace which was very nice. Would recommend these apartments for a relaxing quiet holiday, but if you want lively puerto rico is only a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethkillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend have just arrived home after a two week stay at the terraza amadores.
We arrived at around 9:45pm and had a very warm welcome from the receptionist Nieves. Nieves was extremely helpful all the way through our two week stay.
We had an apartment on the 3rd floor so we had a lovely view of the amadores beach.
The apartment was very clean an quite modern. It has everything you need. The only complaint was there is no air conditioning so we hired a fan from reception.

The pool bar was lovely. Viv looked after us most mornings and her cooking is to die for :)!
We went to the pool bar every evening to be greater by Tracey & Mel such a lovely friendly english couple who own the bar, we had a good laugh with them every day :) We met loads of friends there can't wait to go back again next year amazing place

Thanks Tracey / Mel / Viv
Love Clare & Mike

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so you can see the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at Terraza amadores apartments in August for 2 weeks. It was one of the best holidays we have had for relaxing. We arrived at 10.45pm and were greeted by Nieves on reception with a very warm welcome with a glass of wine and water in our room's. Thank you Nieves for your hospitality. We had requested a room on the 4th floor, which we were given, these were really good size. there is plenty of places to eat out within a 5 min walk which takes you straight on to the beach, you can also get a taxi from their or walk the sea view up to Puerto Rico, where the night life goes on later. we also used the local bus a few times and hired a car which Nieves sorted out another thank you.
Bar was lovely and friendly, thank you Eric for the meal you got ready for us before we left. and looking forward to our trip back in October 2013 this is all booked cannot wait for a nice cold Beer so get those glass on ice Mel.
The fact we booked to go back two days after returning say how good this place is as we have never gone to the same place twice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terraza Amadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terraza Amadores

Property: Hotel Terraza Amadores
Address: Calle Islas Afortunadas 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terraza de Amadores is 350 metres from Amadores Beach, in southern Gran Canaria. It offers an outdoor pool, and all apartments have a private balcony with superb Atlantic Ocean views.Each Amadores apartment has a living room with a TV and sofa bed. There is a safe, and a private bathroom with a shower. The well-equipped kitchenette comes with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The complex has a poolside bar and a snack bar. There is a supermarket on-site, and room service is available.Terraza de Amadores has a garden and a terrace. There is a billiard table and massage can be requested.You can hire a car at the complex, and free parking is available nearby. Anfi Tauro Golf Club is a 5-minute drive away. Internet connection, via modem, is offered in public areas for a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Terraza Amadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terraza Amadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing