We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terraza Amadores
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had read all the reviews on this hotel so roughly knew what we were getting.

The hotel and the bar are separate, the hotel has no restaurant facilities so all food is cooked in the outside poolside bar. It's pretty much everything and "chips" with cooked English breakfast as you would expect.

There are various food nights, BBQ, Fish, Chips and beer, Spag Bol and beer, Curry and beer etc etc etc

The facilities are pretty basic but, as above, you get what you pay for and as long as you know what you are getting this place is perfect.

Everything is clean, the rooms are big (a bit old fashioned and in need of a facelift but perfectly adequate) and the balcony is huge (biggest and best I've ever been on) with sun beds, table and 4 chairs. There were no bugs or other creepy crawlies, no mould or mildew and there was actually soap in the bathroom, washing up liquid and cleaning cloths in the kitchen. Have been in other self catering apartments that had a tea towel but no washing cloths or liquid!

It also has a laundry area where you can use the machine for €5, then either dry on an airer or in a drier and reception has an iron that you can use free of charge.

The pool area is clean and very rarely crowded and there was NEVER a time when we didn't get a sunbed. The only downside to the pool is that it is open to the public, so at about 5pm it starts to fill up with very noisy locals who scream and shout so loud that you can hear them in your room even though it is as far from the pool as can be!!

This is the second time we have been to Amadores and would recommend the area to anyone, there are plenty of bars and restaurants on the beach or it's a 5 min cab ride to Europa centre or 10 mins to Puerto Rico where there are dozens more. Only thing is that you are very badly badgered to enter every eating/drinking place you pass.

I would recommend the Terraza and as long as you are aware of what you are getting and don't expect entertainment and restaurant quality food then you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Not above Spar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    91
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
108
168
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned this morning from a Fantastic holiday at Terraza Amadores. We arrived at 12.30am after a small delay. We were in room 413 at the end on the top floor. On entering the apartments we were very impressed the living area was a lovely size has was the bedroom. The balcony was a very good size with a table & 4 chairs & 2 sun loungers. Our view was especially good we could see the pool & the stunning beach at Amadores including the inflatables. The pool & surrounding area was kept well & clean & there was never a problem getting a sunbed no matter what time you went down. The pool bar is run separate from the hotel & is very reasonably priced. €1.50 for a large beer. My kids especially liked the bacon/sausage sandwhiches(English). The staff who run the bar was always friendly & welcoming. During our stay my children were lucky & made some great friends which added to the experience. Overall I would recommend these apartments & I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4th floor room. Great view & you can keep the doors open at night. Our room 413 was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Willkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just spent two weeks at the Terraza with husband, daughters and the parents and enjoyed every bit of it yet again. Theres not much to say thats not been said in all the other reviews it really is a lovely place to stay and all the staff are so warm and friendly. The rooms are lovely and big though just like last year we spent a very small amount of time in room due to being in the pool all day up until gone 7pm and then out for food on the beach by 9pm. We had breakfast every morning at the bar and a few meals there also which we all enjoyed and the quesalida was very yummy. Alvairro was a lovely young man who went out of his way to cook my daughter pancakes though they were no longer on the menu anymore and Julie well when you meet her, you'll just love her beaming personality and friendly smile. We plan on coming back again with our girls but we would even love to come if it was just the two of us. We met people who also stayed at the Terraza last summer and returned like us. We too have not been brain washed, we just came for the sun, pool and some great food and I doubt anyone cares if the shower was a little dark, i managed to wash myself and my two daughters in the shower I just loved that the shower was so big and warm and powerful nothing like the dribble of water you get in our country in some B&B. Looking forward to next year if we can get it after all it's ranked in the top ten places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask to face the court as balconies more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Myself, wife and two daughters have just returned from a two week stay at the Terraza Amadores (first time in Gran Canaria’ so have not been brain washed!).
We would recommend these apartments without hesitation. We have stayed in a number of Self Catering Apartments over recent years at various resorts and these were by far the quietest, cleanest, well managed, with the most friendly staff we have experienced to date.

Our apartment (No. 307) was very clean and spacious and being on the higher floors you have a good size balcony with table, 4 chairs and 2 sun-beds. Unless on the 4th floor all balconies will be partially overlooked from above due to the building design (not a significant problem unless you plan to do something you should not!). The facilities in the kitchens are basic and no different from any other Spanish self catering apartment we have had. There was sufficient cutlery for the number of people staying in the apartment, four in our case, two cooking rings and a microwave. A coffee maker and toaster were also present. The pool area and pool were very clean and sun beds plentiful (Achtung – some individuals did like specific areas, so did put the towels out, but not many).

The pool bar appears to be run independently of the apartments. Alvairro and Julie are particularly friendly and always have a smile. The bar happy hour runs from 3pm to 6pm with two for one on cocktails, soft drinks and spirits. The beer is already reasonably priced so not included.

The maids came in at least every other day, removing rubbish, cleaning etc. The sheets were changed at least twice during our 14 night stay (One sheet out of twenty four we had did have a small hole but after carrying out a full risk assessment I decided the risk to Health and Safety was minimal so did not mention it!). However, I have no doubt that if It had been mentioned to Neives the Manager/Receptionist that it would have been replaced immediately. I know this because no where is perfect and we did have a few issues during our stay i.e.

• Electronic Safe malfunctioned – New safe fitted by maintenance man that afternoon.
• Toaster malfunctioned – Replaced with a brand new one within the hour.
• Requested additional pillows – Further pillows provided later that day.
• Tea towel missing after maids removed old one – Clean towel provided immediately.

In an Ideal world everything would be perfect from the start, but this is rarely the case. The sign of a good business is how well it responds to problems and from my experience this establishment responded well every time when they were given the opportunity to do so.

In conclusion these apartments are clean, quiet and well managed and all the staff from both the apartments and pool bar we came into contact with were pleasant and helpful. We do intend to return next year given the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just come back from a two week stay at the Terraza Amadores, with our three children and parents, what can I say.... had a fantastic time couldn't have picked a better location, close to the beach and restaurants and ideally located for getting out seeing the island. The hotel was lovely, rooms very spacious and had everything we needed for our stay. Staff were friendly and were more than accommodating when we asked to keep our room on, they even let us keep it until our pick up at midnight with a small fee of 20 euros. Although there is no air con you can hire a fan which is more than adequate. The pool is spotlessly clean with plenty of sun beds and parasols. The pool bar is great and the staff are fab, they were all very welcoming especially Julie, Tony and Alvairro who nothing was too much trouble, they served lovely meals at competitive prices both snacks and main meals. There is also a spar right outside which is really handy. This hotel is ideal for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in the sun, great for families. Hoping to return either this September or same time next year.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones at the front above the spar - rooms 301 - 306 (there is minimal noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What I cannot understand is how the Terraza is still ranked in the top 10 places to stay. All I can think is that the same people who come year in year out are brainwashed or that I got a particularly bad experience. We arrived at midnight and check in was lovely and quick, got up to the room and found that the spare beds for our children had not been made up. Not the best starts to our holiday. Was actually pleasantly surprised by the apartment size although there are a few alterations that could be made to make it perfect - a light in the shower so you can see what you are washing, a light above the cooker so you see what you are cooking are two of these. Everything around was shut for the night so it was pretty much straight to bed.
On closer inspection of the apartment although it was lovely and clean the utilities just weren't there. 1 wine glass in the cupboard? only 4 of each cutlery although there was 5 of us in total? The balcony was not at all private and this was something I had been worried about. People from all angles can quite clearly see you even if they are not trying to! We tried out the pool and you couldn't even see the bottom of the childrens pool it was so dirty although this did improve once the Spanish holidaymakers had gone home so make of that what you want.
There was never any need to reserve a sun bed as there was always more than enough to go around but you still get the same old crowd going down early morning, sticking their towels down and not returning until lunch time. Pool bar is hit and miss depending on who is serving, I have nick named Tracy as 'revel' you don't know what you are getting till you open your mouth. Alvarro is a cheeky chappy and always smiling and 'no problems' Julie is just the best I could listen to her stories all night long whilst drinking cocktails - my son enjoyed the kids meals so much he asked for a Julie special!! By the way, pay no attention to the main menu posted on the board by the pool, half of it they no longer offer such as the mixed grill and happy hour isn't really because if you don't mention that its after 3pm you don't get offered your free drink.The bed linen was changed mid stay to sheets with rather large holes in and the longer we stayed the worse the towels were. By the end of the holiday they looked like they had been in a fight with a dog.The main complaint I have is the noise level, I can't really hold the hotel at fault for it as it was other guests slamming doors and shouting at 2am that ruined it for me. Amadores used to be such a quiet place to stay but is now no better than Puerto Rico without the touts.

Room Tip: go for the 4th floor as there is nobody above you to drag furniture around. avoid ground floor as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummybee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here rooms were lovely and clean and very spacious and maid service every other day and such friendly staff. My husband and i arrived a few days before my cousin who came from America and we were are delighted with these apartments. Would definitely recommend these apartments look forward to our next visit x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pauline i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terraza Amadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terraza Amadores

Property: Hotel Terraza Amadores
Address: Calle Islas Afortunadas 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terraza de Amadores is 350 metres from Amadores Beach, in southern Gran Canaria. It offers an outdoor pool, and all apartments have a private balcony with superb Atlantic Ocean views.Each Amadores apartment has a living room with a TV and sofa bed. There is a safe, and a private bathroom with a shower. The well-equipped kitchenette comes with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The complex has a poolside bar and a snack bar. There is a supermarket on-site, and room service is available.Terraza de Amadores has a garden and a terrace. There is a billiard table and massage can be requested.You can hire a car at the complex, and free parking is available nearby. Anfi Tauro Golf Club is a 5-minute drive away. Internet connection, via modem, is offered in public areas for a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Terraza Amadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terraza Amadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing